We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chateau & Wye House Suites
Ranked #36 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 July 2012

It is true this accomodation is no longer 5 star, there are several minor repairs which need attention but this doesn't detract from a very pleasant and comfortable stay. The apartment we stayed in (number 12) was large, very well furnished, lovely kitchen and bathroom. We only stayed for a night but it was preferrable to any of the other family rooms that were available in Buxton on the internet. The apartment was quiet, apart from the squeeky floor boards but they didn't wake a 2 year old, the TV remotes didn't work despite new batteries but the apartment was clean. The patio doors took a while to close, but from outside with a little bit of encouragement at the bottom and then climbing in the bedroom window worked!!! We would stay here again and recommend to a friend, you just need to gloss over the imperfections.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

We have visited the Chateau & Wye four times now and have had a lovely stay every time, in different apartments. The apartments are very smart though could do with some minor work - little bits here & there are in need of fixing. But if you can look past this, the apartments are clean, with big rooms, comfy sofas & large tvs. Dale who works at Wye House always does a great job of looking after us, recommending places to visit and assisting whenever we have any questions, making sure we are comfortable and have a pleasant stay.

I don't believe it is possible to stay in the Chateau itself, but the views from some of the apartments are wonderful - the grounds and particularly the fountain are lovely, especially in the good weather when you can sit outside & enjoy the surroundings. Even on cooler days it is nice to open the balcony doors and look out over everything. Definitely one of the nicest spots in Buxton to stay! In fact, I'm not sure we would consider staying anywhere else in this area!

The location is just fantastic - very easy to walk into town (it takes about 10 minutes) where there are lots of nice bars and restaurants. The Opera House is very close too as are the gorgeous Pavilion Gardens. There are also lots of fantastic attractions just a short car journey away - we would definitely recommend the Chestnut Centre where you can see deer, otters, owls, and have a lovely walk. Also the caves are spectacular, as is Chatsworth.

If you are looking for a relaxed holiday, in a lovely area with lots of exciting places to visit right on your doorstep, we would certainly recommend Wye House!

We are looking forward to visiting again soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a penthouse apartment looking over the gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseAltonofYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Myself and husband just stayed in the 3 bedroom penthouse apartment for two nights, sadly we were disappointed. Although upon arrival we were told that the company has gone into administration but we still expected to stay in adequate facilities that you would expect for the price. The apartment's kitchen wasn't clean with dirty glasses, coffee spilt on the floor and cobwebs left hanging. The dishwasher wasn't in use but no washing up liquid provided. The patio doors didn't shut fully so had to be left unsecure all night. The carpet in the lounge was dirty. No hand wash provided in bathrooms. Much to my disgust - a huge box of empty used beer bottles left in kitchen cupboards! There is no Wi Fi at the apartments and the bar is boarded up. Overall the property seemed neglected and much needed a lick of paint and a good clean. It is a shame as these apartments could be lovely if they were just maintained properly by management!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ritarabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Having booked what we thought sounded a great apartment, the first sign of trouble was the agent's email cancelling our booking with less than a week's notice. After an angry phone call and email we were reinstated. (The owner wanted his flat back, apparently!)
Having later checked trip advisor we found on arrival that comments about it's downturn were true. An 8-year old apartment block (not the Victorian mansion in the website photo) quickly falling into disrepair: with excessive rainfall gutters leaked forming a waterfall over our entrance which had caused the door to rot and the hallway to be wet and mouldy. The apartment itself was modern and well furnished decorated and appointed, however we discovered the dishwasher broken, the shower tray blocked, the wifi non-functional despite agent's promises to sort, various bulbs blown, doors and windows sticking, very little supplied in kitchen beyond basics and every floorboard creaking. There was however an enormous TV and a whirlpool bath! A working shower would have been more use.
Basically with the place in hands of administrators no-one was looking after it properly and with a little care it could be splendid.
Like I said, a nice apartment spoilt by neglect. Very near town and station, pleasant area. Shame it rained most of the time but that's Buxton, no spring water without rain.
We also opted to pay cash on arrival in case it was awful rather than google checkout, but the promised receipt was not emailed, so am hoping no further charges are taken by credit card given to secure initial booking.
It was about a 3rd of the cost of a hotel but with above problems so trade off had to be accepted.
Could not recommend until managed properly

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WayneIngpowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We first visited Chateau and Wye House in 2010 and really enjoyed our stay. The apartment was lovely, well furnished and clean. Fast forward two years and it is hard to believe this is the same place. We stayed in apartment 15, a 3-bed penthouse, and whilst it is easy to see how nice the place once was it is now badly in need of some care and modest investment which would make a huge difference.

The kitchen was disgusting, with filthy, greasy frying pans not having been cleaned by the previous occupants or the cleaner. The overn was greasy and dirty, same goes for the grill pan. Two of the grand total of five mugs provided for a 3 bed apartment were dirty, clearly not having been cleaned. the dishwasher required rinse aid and salt (obviously not provided either). Just two dishwasher tablets were provided. In terms of other cleaning apparel, there was a used and dirty scouring pad and one eighth of a bottle of washing up liquid. No tea towel provided.

Continuing with kitchen problems... Four cutlery knives provided. How this could be considered adequate for a three bedroom apartment I am really not sure. The other knives provided were a huge chopping knife and a bread knife. No vegetable knife and the vegetable peeler was blunt.

Complimentary coffee, tea and biscuits: There were eight individual sachets of coffee and one loose tea bag all sat in an appallingly dirty plastic tray. I would disgusted at this even in a one star hotel. If you like to make your own fresh coffee there was no cafetiere and no coffee maker of any sort. Not what you expect in allegedly five star apartment these days.

There were cheap and tatty placemats; and only four of them. Chipped plates, chipped mugs, a miss match of cheap wine glasses of various designs.

the kitchen floor is littered with loose tiles, with regrouting badly requried (If the owner is reading, I would suggest flexible grout this time so it doesn't break out due to the underfloor heating in the room).

The shower had mould growing in it and is generally tatty.

The hot water system clearly has a problem. You could get scalding water from some of the taps, whilst the shower would give you hot water for one or wo minutes then go completely cold. Consequently the five adults staying in the place resorted to giving up on showers by the third day. Whilst I had to use about ten kettles of water to get the bath up to an acceptable temperature to give my twin babies a bath.

Of six spotlights in the kitchen, two did not work and two of the others had dim LED bulbs, insufficient as the main source of lighting in what is quite a dark room.

The lounge had similar lighting problems with 4 of 9 lights having not functioning light bulbs. On the same theme, one of the two lamps in the top floor bedroom also did not work.

The wifi does not work either, clearly something they used to offer, which the information folder in the apartment erroneously claims that they still do.

The exterior to the apartment block requires some maintenance as well. The gardens are weed infested and the steps to the apartments are broken and loose in places.

Clearly, what was once a well run operation, with well kitted out and cared for apartments is falling apart. On my first visit I would have recommended to anyone. I would now not recommend to anyone until some money is invested in bringing things up to standard.

Not much investment is needed to make a huge difference. Firstly a cleaner who does a proper job of actually cleaning. Then carry out basic maintenance tasks and restock the kitchen with a decent array of cutlery, crockery and standard kitchen implements. These small changes would make a world of difference.

Also, please note, that whilst the website shows the Chateau, which is an attractive, old building, it does not show the 2004 building off to the side, where it appears all the apartments available for rental are. Previously you could stay in the Chateau. I don't believe this is now the case. So the website is a little misleading in this respect as well.

Room Tip: Room 15. Attractive inside. when new, would be lovely. But dirty and also in need of TLC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We have stayed in Wye House plenty of times the past years and had some lovely memories attached to it. Not least because it is close to some fantastic climbing and walking areas and based in the lovely Buxton but also because we think it is a fabulous place to stay with families and friends.

The rooms are spacious, beautifully designed and the self catering concept suited many families and couples alike. The rates are also very reasonable for an accommodation of such high standard.

I was actually looking at booking the whole place out for my forthcoming birthday and am very sad to hear that it is under administration and wishing it wasn't so. Anyways just wanted to say thank you to Dale for keeping this place running under difficult circumstances and all the best for the future.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Our stay at the Chateau in 2010 was wonderful, so when we were looking for a comfortable place to spend a lazy week this place immediately sprung to mind. Knowing that the check-in procedure is rather weird (there is no reception; you have to phone) we got our apartment number in advance. Apartment Wye 15 was huge, but a little smelly. There was mould in the shower. The kitchen floor was rather grubby, the sofa sagged and the curtain was just a piece of cloth. We could not get the tv to work properly, many Sky channels were not available and we could not get the wifi to work. It turned out they were "switching providers". After a lot of complaints we got another apartment (13) which was better. It turned out that service is no longer on a daily basis, which is OK with us, as long as we have sufficient towels, toilet paper and bin liners. But we could not help worrying over towels and stuff, since everything was rather of less quality than promised and expected.
In this apartment the DVD-player had a very persistent feedback noise, making it unusable. No proper TV, wifi with a dongle (So I could not use my iPad) and with credit running out before the end of our stay, and no proper DVDplayer. This was not what we had expected, and certainly much less than we paid for! This is a premium-priced property, which in our last visit was worth every penny, but not this time.
This is a pity, because Buxton is a great place to stay, also in winter, and this place was high on our list of great experiences.
Nonetheless, compliments for Dale who, despite our complaints, remained helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalmonEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,206 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hargate Hall
Hargate Hall
#1 of 1 in Wormhill
98 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#34 of 39 in Buxton
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chateau & Wye House Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chateau & Wye House Suites

Address: Wye House Corbar Road, Buxton SK17 6RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: £100 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chateau & Wye House Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau is a Bespoke & Truly Unique Peak District Hotel.The Peak Districts leading accommodation, based in Buxton. 1,2 & 3 Bedroom serviced apartments which are chic and stylish, innovative and obliging with 5 star facilities. The ultimate in luxurious accommodation which you will find almost impossible to rival. Available for Individual and group bookings for the ultimate party, wedding or special celebration. Stunning Private Country Estates Location in 5.5 acres of private woodland.Free ParkingFree Wifi ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Chateau & Wye House Hotel Buxton
The Chateau And Wye House Suites
The Chateau Wye Hotel
Chateau Wye Buxton
The Chateau & Wye House Suites Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing