We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Smithy
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
46
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This was our granddaughter's first trip to the UK and she (and we) loved our visit at with Lynn and Gary. The breakfasts were outstanding. Their knowledge of the Peak District was very helpful as well. The view of the sheep and cows right outside our windows really made it special for our granddaughter.

Room Tip: Basicaly a choice between upstairs and downstairs.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We have visited 'The Smithy' on several occasions, and have always loved every minute of being there. Lynn and Gary are excellent hosts, and their breakfasts are the best in the world. They will do everything they can to help with any queries you have and have an excellent knowledge of the Peak District. We would highly recommend a visit, the only downside is that Gary is a Birmingham supporter, come on you Hammers!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Wonderful B&B! We stayed here last winter, in the depths of a snow storm. The rooms were beautiful, comfortable and welcoming, I could have stayed in that bed all day long but was drawn out by the beautiful surrounding countryside. There are some lovely pubs nearby and the owners even have a selection of wine and DVDs if you do decide on a night in. All topped off by possibly the best breakfast I've ever had! A perfect trip.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maryfairybeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Stayed with friends to celebrate my birthday. We asked Gary to book a local restaurant for us and when we arrived our table was specially decorated for us which was a nice surprise and very thoughtful. We really enjoyed our stay at the Smithy, which really is an old Smithy that has been beautifully converted. The breakfast was just delicious! the best ever and we were really well looked after.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whygothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We stayed at The Smithy for 2 nights in May 2010 and really enjoyed ourselves. The hosts, Lynn and Gary, are really great people and have thought of every little detail to ensure a great stay. Their breakfast is one of the best we have had and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HertfordshireSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews