We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B with very friendly and hospitable hosts.”
Review of The Smithy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Smithy
Ranked #23 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We have returned home today after a weekend stay at The Smithy. We had decided to go to Derbyshire fro
Lancashire to visit the Darley Dale steM and vintage weekend. We arrived on Saturday afternoon to a very warm welcome from the owners and their lovely dog. Our room was very nicely laid out and spotlessly clean with lots of extra's. Various teas and coffee plus tasty snacks which was much appreciated. The breakfast was very well cooked and nicely presented. Plus there was an assortment of cereals, fruit, fruit juices, etc, etc. Our hosts recommended Carriages an Italian restaurant for Saturday night (closed on a Sunday and Monday) which has been cleverly designed inside like train carriages. We went there for meal which The owner pre -booked for us when we said we would like to go there. All in all a very enjoyable stay. Thankyou to Gary and Lynn and of course the dog.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ribbleclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

We chose the Smithy on a whim for a last minute trip to the Derbyshire Dales, and we weren't disappointed.

Our room was large and very comfortable, and the rest of the B&B, set in an old blacksmiths' building, was charming and atmospheric.

There is a pub (The Waterloo) about 15 minutes pleasant walk away, in the village of Biggin, and also a very interesting Italian restaurant (Carriages) about 10 minutes walk in the other direction. We visited both and it was great fun!

Our hosts were very friendly, and cooked up a truly delicious breakfast, with great sausages. A great base for visiting Matlock, Buxton, Bakewell and surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zippymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This was our granddaughter's first trip to the UK and she (and we) loved our visit at with Lynn and Gary. The breakfasts were outstanding. Their knowledge of the Peak District was very helpful as well. The view of the sheep and cows right outside our windows really made it special for our granddaughter.

Room Tip: Basicaly a choice between upstairs and downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We have visited 'The Smithy' on several occasions, and have always loved every minute of being there. Lynn and Gary are excellent hosts, and their breakfasts are the best in the world. They will do everything they can to help with any queries you have and have an excellent knowledge of the Peak District. We would highly recommend a visit, the only downside is that Gary is a Birmingham supporter, come on you Hammers!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Wonderful B&B! We stayed here last winter, in the depths of a snow storm. The rooms were beautiful, comfortable and welcoming, I could have stayed in that bed all day long but was drawn out by the beautiful surrounding countryside. There are some lovely pubs nearby and the owners even have a selection of wine and DVDs if you do decide on a night in. All topped off by possibly the best breakfast I've ever had! A perfect trip.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maryfairybeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Stayed with friends to celebrate my birthday. We asked Gary to book a local restaurant for us and when we arrived our table was specially decorated for us which was a nice surprise and very thoughtful. We really enjoyed our stay at the Smithy, which really is an old Smithy that has been beautifully converted. The breakfast was just delicious! the best ever and we were really well looked after.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whygothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We stayed at The Smithy for 2 nights in May 2010 and really enjoyed ourselves. The hosts, Lynn and Gary, are really great people and have thought of every little detail to ensure a great stay. Their breakfast is one of the best we have had and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HertfordshireSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
11.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,934 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hargate Hall
Hargate Hall
#1 of 1 in Wormhill
98 reviews
11.4 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,203 reviews
10.5 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
11.2 mi away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#34 of 39 in Buxton
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smithy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smithy

Address: The Smithy Biggin Lane | Biggen by Hartington, Buxton SK17 0SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Smithy Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing