We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Smithy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Smithy
Ranked #21 of 40 Buxton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best B&B ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

The initial welcome was so wonderfully warm, friendly and helpful that one immediately felt 'at home with friends'. The room was very well furnished and the facilities superb. The breakfast was absolutely perfect both in the wide choice and in the composition and quality of the cooked food.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahinStalbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambs
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We've stayed at the Smithy several times over the last eight years. The welcome from Lynn and Gary is friendly and helpful, the rooms are beautifully decorated and equipped and the breakfasts are superb, using excellent ingredients, beautifully cooked/prepared and well presented. The Smithy is situated in the middle of the White Peak just off the A515 (though we have never noticed any road noise) it is an excellent base for a weekend/few days away.
When we stay at other b & bs, we always compare them with the Smithy. We've not yet found one that is better!

Room Tip: They are all excellent - though only one room has a bath (rest have showers).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UrsaMinora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We spent 3 nights at this quality accomodation.The style is very friendly and personable
and the comfort,quality furnishings and hosting by Lynn and Gary is excellent.
The beds are very comfortable and the breakfasts are more like feasts!A great deal of
thought and effort has gone into developing "The Smithy" and it is no wonder that it gets
great reviews.We shall almost certainly stay again!

Room Tip: Book early and leave it to lynn and Gary!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tone848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here over a weekend last Spring.
I believe the story is: A few years ago Lynne and Gary, the owners, bought a house to live in. Next to the house was a run down old barn. They've done it up and made a perfect little guesthouse with 4 rooms.

We just wanted to get away from London for the weekend and see some greenery. So we spent 3 days just going on very scenic walks. Lynne and Gary were very helpful and cooked up a fantastic breakfast (and packed lunches for the walks). Lynne kindly let me inspect all the rooms so we could choose our favourite - Bellows won. The room and bathroom were superb and decorated in complete harmony with the surroundings.

if you want to get away from the town and like walks - just book the Smithy.

Room Tip: Bellows is the best room. But they are all very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chigwell, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We spent two very comfortable nights at The Smithy. The room was lovely with a comfortable bed. The place was very clean and had everything we needed. The breakfast was fabulous and set us up for two great days out. The owners are on hand for useful advice and the room was stacked with local information and walking guides. A perfect getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

The Smithy is a beautifully converted property in the quiet rural location of Biggin. We stayed in the Bellows room, which was well appointed with ample space. The little touches made it feel like a home from home (I wish our home was as nice!).
The breakfast room is truly amazing, a wonderful place to start the day. The English breakfasts just the right size and very tasty!

We didn't have a car for our stay and although perhaps this is not a suitable place if you walking difficulties, we found it no problem at all. The Waterloo pub, a contender for strangest pub in Britain, is only a 10minute stroll away along some lovely meadows and houses. The Carriages restaurant is 10min the other way and a 'must' if staying in the area.

Finally, The Smithy is only a 5min walk from Tissington Trail and the start of many lovely walks or cycle rides. We particularly recommend doing the High Peak Trail.

Overall, The Smithy is a huge credit to its owners, Lynn and Gary. Thank you for a wonderful stay and for the lift to Parsley Hay!!!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are a little more quirky i think. Bellows has a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickymLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We have returned home today after a weekend stay at The Smithy. We had decided to go to Derbyshire fro
Lancashire to visit the Darley Dale steM and vintage weekend. We arrived on Saturday afternoon to a very warm welcome from the owners and their lovely dog. Our room was very nicely laid out and spotlessly clean with lots of extra's. Various teas and coffee plus tasty snacks which was much appreciated. The breakfast was very well cooked and nicely presented. Plus there was an assortment of cereals, fruit, fruit juices, etc, etc. Our hosts recommended Carriages an Italian restaurant for Saturday night (closed on a Sunday and Monday) which has been cleverly designed inside like train carriages. We went there for meal which The owner pre -booked for us when we said we would like to go there. All in all a very enjoyable stay. Thankyou to Gary and Lynn and of course the dog.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ribbleclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
11.1 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
11.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
2.4 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
10.9 mi away
Alpine Lodge Guest House
10.7 mi away
9 Green Lane
9 Green Lane
#10 of 40 in Buxton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smithy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smithy

Property: The Smithy
Address: The Smithy Biggin Lane | Biggen by Hartington, Buxton SK17 0SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Hotel Class:5 star — The Smithy 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Smithy Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing