We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time”
Review of The Smithy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Smithy
Ranked #25 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The room was beautifully decorated and it had everything I could have wanted including lots of tourist information. The bed was very comfortable, I slept very well and there was lots of hot water. The breakfast every morning was delicious and Gary and Lynn were very welcoming and had good advice on touring in the Peak District.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank RobinMeisterburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here last weekend and we were very impressed. Lovely people who were running the show. Perfect breakfast.

We walked the Tissington Trail and ventured into Buxton. Ate out at the Carriages Italian restaurant at Newhaven - good food and wonderful service. Also ate at the Waterloo Inn but didn't feel the same level of welcome (tables reserved for local darts teams so felt rather pressurised to choose foods quickly and eat). Otherwise lively pub.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JessieBow1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Absolutely stunning buildings in stunning surroundings. There are only 4 rooms in the barn itself. We stayed in "Bellows" on the first floor and it felt like a home away from home, with lovely little touches dotted all around it which gave the place real character. Communal facilities such as the breakfast room (a sight to behold in itself, being the old blacksmith's forge) and TV lounge are across the yard in the hosts' own house. Lynn and Gary are charming and welcoming hosts who are attentive without being interfering, who also knock out a superb Full English!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Twohootsderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is such an amazing place to relax. Lynn and Gary are very friendly and helpful, and made us very welcome. There are so many little touches... sweets, variety of teas, local biscuits, maps and guide books, games, reading books, toiletries, breakfast fit for a king, wine/beer for sale, gorgeous rooms, lovely location.... shall I go on!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahs360746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The initial welcome was so wonderfully warm, friendly and helpful that one immediately felt 'at home with friends'. The room was very well furnished and the facilities superb. The breakfast was absolutely perfect both in the wide choice and in the composition and quality of the cooked food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahinStalbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We've stayed at the Smithy several times over the last eight years. The welcome from Lynn and Gary is friendly and helpful, the rooms are beautifully decorated and equipped and the breakfasts are superb, using excellent ingredients, beautifully cooked/prepared and well presented. The Smithy is situated in the middle of the White Peak just off the A515 (though we have never noticed any road noise) it is an excellent base for a weekend/few days away.
When we stay at other b & bs, we always compare them with the Smithy. We've not yet found one that is better!

Room Tip: They are all excellent - though only one room has a bath (rest have showers).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrsaMinora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We spent 3 nights at this quality accomodation.The style is very friendly and personable
and the comfort,quality furnishings and hosting by Lynn and Gary is excellent.
The beds are very comfortable and the breakfasts are more like feasts!A great deal of
thought and effort has gone into developing "The Smithy" and it is no wonder that it gets
great reviews.We shall almost certainly stay again!

Room Tip: Book early and leave it to lynn and Gary!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tone848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
10.9 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3,055 reviews
11.1 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
10.2 mi away
Hargate Hall
Hargate Hall
#1 of 1 in Wormhill
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
10.8 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,310 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smithy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smithy

Address: The Smithy Biggin Lane | Biggen by Hartington, Buxton SK17 0SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Smithy Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing