We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very sad to leave buxton's Little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ash Corner Guest House
Ranked #12 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Again I had everything that I want in a Guest House.
Very Clean Room, Great Breakfast and Sue who makes you feel Very Welcome.
This year because of Work, I could only Spend One Night instead of my usual 10 nights and I was Very sad to Leave Buxton's Little Gem.
I will be back Next Year

Room Tip: Go to Ash Corner Guest House
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesBradley575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

Sue really does a super job .Room had modern shower flat screen tv good wi fi .Bright modern decor.Due to weather heating was on.Easy walk to Opera House.Near Nats kitchen great food and her own breakfast is great .Great value for money for singles .

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oreganoItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

One of the nicest landladies I have ever met. The place is spotless, the rooms are a reasonable size, the breakfasts are good and plentiful, and the room rate was the cheapest I have encountered in a long time. We stayed with her for four nights, changing rooms for one night. The twin on the first floor was light and airy. There was even an ironing board and iron in the room. The beds were fairly comfortable, but if you must have a soft bed the twin on the top floor has memory foam mattresses, although it's relatively dark and not en suite (bathroom just a few paces opposite). There's also a collection of DVDs on the top floor, which guests are welcome to borrow during their stay. Sue is a very friendly and helpful host and will make you very welcome. As b&bs go this is terrific value and we will definitely stay with her again. We cannot recommend her highly enough.

Ash Corner is close to the market place in upper Buxton and about a 10 minute walk max to the Opera House, Pavilion (Tourist Information, food, drink and exhibitions) and Spring Gardens - about 5 mins on level ground and about 5 mins steep downhill, assuming medium walking pace. There are plenty of restaurants and pubs nearby in upper Buxton. The market place is also where you catch buses to other places. Some routes are incredibly scenic and there are plenty of interesting places to visit. It took us about 15-20 minutes to walk to and from the train station, but Buxton is a fairly small town and nowhere is far away.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are brighter. Twin on the top floor has memory foam mattresses but isn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Epicurious01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Paul B

I have been on a number of training courses in Buxton and each time I have had the pleasure of staying at Ash Corner guest house. Sue the owner always greets you with a warm friendly smile, and makes you feel welcome the moment you walk in through the door. The rooms are spot less the breakfasts are brilliant. With out hesitation I would thoroughly recommend a stay at Ash corner you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed over Easter weekend for first time
Sue is probably the most obliging host you could find, nothing too much trouble. Let us have a late breakfast which was great also.
Very nice comfy room and good breakfast plus good value.
Will definitely return if Sue will have us and have no hesitation in recommending.
Buxton great for good old fashioned pubs also so what more could you want!

Eddie n Christine

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddie846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

When I stayed at the Ash Corner Guest House in Fall 2010 the actors who were playing Laurel and Hardy in a play about the comedy duo showing that weekend at the Buxton Playhouse were also staying at the B&B. Thanks to Sue's hospitality, the quiet room, the great location and great breakfasts, and the reasonable rates, I would have enjoyed my stay in Buxton under any circumstances, but the actors were such nice guys (and looked so much like Laurel and Hardy), that the joy of talking to them about what it's like to be a touring actor, and how they prepared for playing the Laural and Hardy roles, combined with actually seeing them perform, made the stay an absolutely unforgettable experience. P.S. If you are in Buxton for a few days, and like me, didn't want to drive on the wrong side of the road, there's very good bus service to other charming towns in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aismyfirstname W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

we were made to feel very welcome the minute we knocked on the door! we hadn't booked in advance but sue invited us straight in with a friendly smile. what a lovely lady, i would definatley recommend a stay at ash corner, our room was spotlessly clean the bed was possibly the most comfortable i have ever slept in and her attention to detail and customer service is superb! nothing was too much trouble, small personal extras like dvds and hair straightners to borrow at no extra cost made us feel very much at home and the full english in the beautiful dining room was top notch! we will absolutley be returning for another stay :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,998 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alison Park Hotel
Alison Park Hotel
#5 of 9 in Buxton
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Corner Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Corner Guest House

Address: 10 Ash Street, Buxton SK17 6LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: £72 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run Bed and Breakfast within a 10 minute walk of all the attractions in Buxton. All ensuite bedrooms with breakfast included. Room only rates available. Best prices by phoning direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ash Corner Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Corner Guest House Hotel Buxton
Ash Corner Hotel
Ash Corner Guest House Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing