We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Manse Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Having performed at the International Gilbert and Sullivan Festival, we wanted a hotel that was close by, comfortable and reasonably priced. As it turned out, The Old Manse exceeded expectations. The room was large, the bed was comfortable and packed with creature comforts. The welcome was warm and informative, and we would definitely stay there again if we return to Buxton. Can't say anything about the breakfast because we never made it downstairs!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrewNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    27
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
78
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, location quiet part of town, is excellent for exploring the surrounding countryside, central to Buxton many lovely pubs and restaurants. The Old Manse itself is immaculate, the rooms tastefully decorated , with very large beds, excellent tea coffee biscuits in room including a teapot ? Ironing board & hair dryer. The breakfast menu is vast, all sourced locally, cooked to order and served by owners Tim & Elizabeth, who's friendly professional experience made the stay very relaxed. We will be going back.

Room Tip: Room 4 excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parisjuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I am really fussy about where I stay and recommend The Old Manse. The guest house offered everything that you could need, it was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Excellent choice for breakfast and the owners made my stay relaxed.
Short walk to restaurants and shops. Definitely recommend staying here, I'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My partner and I stayed at The Old Manse Guesthouse for 2 nights. We booked here having read reviews on trip advisor and were not disappointed. We were welcomed very warmly and were shown to our double room with an enormous bed! The room itself wasn't huge but very cosy and immaculate. The ensuite had a fantastic shower and was absolutely spotless. We had two wonderful nights sleep and were never disturbed. The choice for breakfast was incredible for a small guesthouse and always beautifully cooked, I loved the home-made marmalade! We thought it was great value for money and will definitely stay here again when we visit Buxton. We have previously stayed at the Palace Hotel in Buxton and the Old Manse Guesthouse wins hands down!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twiglet21scarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We spent one night here and were pleased we did. The house is in a quiet part of the town with plenty of on road parking.
The owners were very welcoming and helpful. Rooms and en-suite were spotless and the beds comfortable. Only thing I could fault is that the bed (two 3' singles clipped together) was too large for the room. As I was on my own it didn't matter, but I think a couple would find they were under each others feet.
The breakfast was plentiful, beautifully cooked and nicely served. There are plenty of places nearby to have an evening meal, even a Morrisons!
At £50 per night it is very good value for money for a couple, unless like us we had to pay for two rooms. But this is a common problem for people wishing to have their own room!

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems ask for not too many stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Stayed at the Old Manse a couple of times whilst on Business. Usually company book hotels, but sometimes it's a Guest House. This one was a pleasant surprise. Friendly owners, really comfortable beds, clean rooms. Good breakfast. I can really recommend the poached eggs on toast, best I have ever had. Five mins walk to market place where there are pubs and restaurants, another 5 mins downhill to town centre and theatre. I would be more than happy to have a return visit to the Old Manse.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The guest house, is in a great location near the town centre, was spotless and had a nice warm welcome from the owner, with plenty of parking on the road outside the guesthouse.
Bedrooms were a bit small but very adequate, for a short break, and the breakfast was great with a lot of choice.
Overall, definitely value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,043 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.6 mi away
Alison Park Hotel
Alison Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Buxton
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#7 of 39 in Buxton
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Manse Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manse Guesthouse

Property: The Old Manse Guesthouse
Address: 6 Clifton Road | Silverlands, Buxton SK17 6QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our elegant Victorian stone built property is ideally situated in a leafy residential area. The quiet location ensures our guests a delightfully warm and peaceful stay. It is just a short walk from the historical town centre of Buxton, its Opera House & Pavilion Gardens. Ideal for exploring the Peak District National Park. Conference facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Old Manse Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Manse Guesthouse Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing