We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure spring water” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Ann's Well

St Ann's Well
Ranked #8 of 29 things to do in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Pure spring water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Pure spring water from the well. Nice and refreshing. Many people were filling bottles to take away.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank poochiie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    68
    39
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Free water!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Not a lot more to say. Keep your water bottles filled for no cost! Some restaurants have an unlimited coffee option, Buxton likes to keep visitors hydrated!

Helpful?
Thank Amazing_badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“opinion”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I do think that the well is a little overated, although obviously it is interesting because of the nature of it. The waters come from deep underground and is a constant temperature. As a child I can remember swimming in the local thermal pool where the waters were drawn from this spring to fill it. I can remember how good my body felt from being in this spring water so there are definitely benefits to be had from it. Whether drinking the water is beneficial - does anyone know? The well constantly issues water day and night and I know that many people go to it to fill up bottles. Whether this is a safe procedure is to be considered because of the bacteria present in the water.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank novadra f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stowmarket
Level Contributor
148 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“St Ann's Well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

A very pretty well opposite the Crescent with warm water gushing out, lots of the locals filling up containers, so I did the same, free Buxton water!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank carol r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morecambe
Level Contributor
168 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Fill up..it's free.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We watched an old boy filling up two 10 gallon containers from the well. What made this really special was when a little girl when passed-who was obviously local- said: " look Gran, they're stealing our water".

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Ann's Well also viewed

 

Been to St Ann's Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing