We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Well Organised and Friendly Campsite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lime Tree Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean, Well Organised and Friendly Campsite”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

On arrival we were met by two very friendly and competent staff who booked us in and gave us a very comprehensive breakdown of things to do in the immediate area, as well as some money off coupons for a couple of bars in the area.

The camping area is a very well maintained and mowed field, although it is on quite a slope which is something you have to account for when getting your tent pitched, and I generally found myself sliding down the tent in the night. There are barbecue support bricks provided, as well as plenty of bins and drinking water.

The one issue I had is the distance from the camping area to the toilet block, it is not an insurmountable problem, but it's not so much fun first thing in the morning. Having said that, the toilets are clean and the showers pretty good.

All in all, I would recommend this campsite, if you are looking for somewhere pretty big, reasonably priced and convenient for Buxton.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    16
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
30
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend with a 3.5 year old. Apart from the weather when packing up had a great time. The toilets and showers are very clean a couple of hooks around the sinks would make it excellent. The field was kept well we had a tent and pitched in the top field near the tree I would recommend the other side of the field we were in the shade as the sun went down. The owners met me with a detailed map of Buxton and vouchers for certain pubs and lots of other leaflets were available. It's a little pricey but we would return

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cqdutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The staff at the site were very unhelpful. Having set off for a two night stay within plenty of time, unfortunately the weather was torrential rain and due to unforeseen circumstances our arrival would have been delayed by 4 hours due to traffic.
This meant that we would have arrived after the 7pm arrival deadline. The staff were unwilling to make any exceptions for or arrival, they didn't know where we were coming from, how far we had travelled and what our social circumstances were.
We had to turn back home as they advised us they would not let us in to the site had we continued our journey, so after a 5 hour journey was sent home.

On arrival there next day (thankfully a much smoother journey) the site was accepting, we pitched and had a lovely day on the site.
Being fully aware of the rule to be quiet after 10pm, myself and my friends were sat in the tent talking and one of the staff (very abruptly and rather rudely) came to tell us that it was 10 to 10 and we should be quiet.
This was outside the curfew and we did not appreciate being spoken to like a bunch of silly children (we are all professional 25 year olds enjoying each others company.
This made us feel very self conscious and it was just easier to go to bed.
This continued as we went to the bathroom just after 10pm and another group were making noise, which the owners just assumed was us and again rudely confronted us.

I would not recommend this site to groups of young people . The owners were un accepting of us despite being a group of professional people who were well aware of the rules and willing to follow them.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLM1788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have just returned from a camping trip to Lime Tree Park. We have 3 small children, and we camped with friends who have 2 small children.
We were very impressed with the site. On arrival we were given a very detailed explanation of the area and of the camp, including a map and discount vouchers for many pubs.
We used a tent with out hook up and we were lucky enough to be near the childrens play are and toilet/shower block. All 5 children had a fabulous time on the playground and also in the top field where balls are allowed.
The camp itself is picturesque and has a strict no noise after 10pm policy which is great with children as they don't keep getting disturbed late at night. The shower block was one of the best we have been to, plenty of toilets and showers, we never had to queue.
The area around the camp is also lovely, there is lots to see and do. We even went to see a circus. there is plenty of lovely pubs in the area and with the discount vouchers from the park, they make for a reasonable family meal.
We will defiantly return here in future .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyM16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived 5th August for 2 day touring stop off.

The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful.

The pitch we received was on the hill with lovely view to Sheep. Hard standing pitch with slope but manageable.

The walk into town is a bit hairy as cars/vans go too fast along Dukes drive. Plenty of places in Buxton to see and beautiful architecture.

I had a couple of showers but the water was a little cooler than I personally like.

The price was £28 for motorhome and 2 people which is at top end but due to location I think.


Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChrisDorey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed in a tourer for a few days. The site is in a lovely location just a 15min brisk walk from Buxton and with a view of the viaduct from the site.
A good welcome and escorted to our pitch. Very friendly.
There is a shop on site and free WIFI in the games room next to the shop and reception.
The site is on 2 tiers with the shower block on the upper tier and the shop / reception on the lower tier. It is a steep walk to reach the showers if your are sited on the lower tier and it is also next to the road but there isn't a great deal of traffic so not much of a problem with noise.
There is a dog walking area.
We had a lovely stay and would go again though the price was £28 per night!

Room Tip: The higher tier pitches are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mactech77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

As we drove through the entrance to this site we were delighted to see how well maintained the grounds were. The staff here, apart from being very friendly and informative, clearly take pride in looking after their site. We were welcomed at reception with a warm greeting and within a short time space had been told all about the site, where the facilities were, where we could get discounts for eating and attractions in the area and how to get into Buxton (20-25 minute walk or £3.80 fare for a taxi specially negotiated by the owner with a local firm) The shower and toilet block were clean with ample volumes of hot water. The site shop is welcome for when you run out of essentials (or you unpack to find you left the washing up liquid at home!) and they will refreeze your freezer packs whilst loaning you replacements from their own supply. If you need it there is free WiFi in the information room. Having camped at many sites around the UK, Lime Tree is up there with the best.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank geordie9Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
1.4 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,662 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,054 reviews
0.5 mi away
Staden Grange
Staden Grange
#4 of 19 in Buxton
168 reviews
5.3 mi away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Tree Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Tree Holiday Park

Property: Lime Tree Holiday Park
Address: Duke's Drive, Buxton SK17 9RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, PitchUp and Priceline so you can book your Lime Tree Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lime Tree Holiday Park Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing