We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpine Lodge Guest House
Ranked #7 of 40 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Clean, comfortable and nice rooms with lots to do in the lounge ( TV, DVDs, books, games, music)
The landlady was very helpful and friendly. The scamble eggs and smoked salmon breakfast were to die for.
5 mins from the town centre.

Room Tip: we was on the top floor, so the windows were high up with no view. but the surrounding area more tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
84
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This is a small guest house in a quiet backstreet in Buxton, convenient for the town centre and the Opera House. The place is kept spotlessly clean, breakfast was exceptional, and the owner was keen to ensure everything about our stay was perfect. The only downside for us was parking - there isn't enough space on the drive if all 4 bedrooms are occupied by car-drivers, and on returning from our day out in driving rain on the second afternoon, there were no spaces either off-road or on-street anywhere in the vicinity - and by that I mean several streets in any direction. We ended up going off again and returning later, when we were fortunate in getting a road-side space just opposite on our second circuit of the area. As we were "off season", albeit over the New Year, this might be an even bigger problem in the high season.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Stayed here with a friend for my graduation weekend. The guesthouse is stylish, clean and welcoming, as is the owner. She was very accommodating and her breakfast was beautiful. Would highly recommend :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadineS1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

This is a cosy, friendly place to stay with high quality fixtures and fittings, an excellent breakfast with lots of choice all excellently cooked and presented. Lovely warm house very convenient for town centre shops, restaurants and facilities. A relaxing and comfortable place to stay. We'll go there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revdavidforster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
128 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We don,t normally do guest houses for the simple reason that we enjoy a drink in the hotel bar at the end of the day. However this was an excellent experience! We just could not find any fault. The owner could not have been more helpful, the room was lovely with a large window and great view. Super king bed could not have been more comfy, lovely bedding and towels. Breakfast was really good and put most hotels to shame. We were on a theatre break and the location is perfect for a town visit. Full marks!

Room Tip: Room 1 was first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SheffieldBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Great rooms, we booked 3! all well furnished and really clean. Close to town centre and facilities. Fantastic breakfast, fresh fruit and ceral plus cooked choices.We really enjoyed our stay and full marks to the owner,for the quality upkeep of the building which date back to 1864! .

Room Tip: Room 1 great views. But other rooms have better bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We picked this B&B based on previous reviews and were certainly not disappointed. we stayed in room 1 on the first floor. Huge king sized double, tasteful decs , huge bay window overlooking the hills. The ensuite was new consisting of power shower, small basin and wc. If one has to be critical at all it is that the ensuite was on the small size, but totally adequate for us. Luxury bath & hand towels were also provided and changed as required.

Jean was a perfect hostess, nice touches - fresh milk each day - bottled water and a choc biscuit met us on our return from our daily trips. Breakfast was plentiful, freshly cooked and had a great choice -the smoked salmon was the nicest we had tasted.

Rooms were warm, as was water, clean and comfy. The B&B is centrally based in Buxton - walking distance to a number of fine restaurants - The Brasserie was amazing (see report posted). A great 3 day stay and very good VFM at £80 per room per night.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian_Gill_EN8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,000 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.5 mi away
Alison Park Hotel
Alison Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Buxton
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge Guest House

Property: Alpine Lodge Guest House
Address: 1 Thornsett Hardwick Mount | Hardwick Mount, Buxton SK17 6PS, England (Formerly Hardwick Mount)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Lodge Guest House Buxton is an AA 4 Star Gold accredited elegant Victorian house. We offer stylishly furnished and very comfortable bed and breakfast (B&B) accommodation. Conveniently situated in a quiet, tree-lined residential road within close proximity of the town centre. Buxton Opera House and Pavilion Gardens a mere 10 minutes stroll away. The gateway to the Peak District National Park and Derbyshire Dales is right on our doorstep, with numerous visitor attractions - Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall, Bakewell, Dovedale, Lyme Park - to name but a few. All rooms have en-suite shower facilities or private bathrooms with large baths and separate shower units. Hospitality trays with fresh milk, speciality teas, coffee and a biscuit treat for your return from a good day's walking and sight-seeing. Flat-screen TV and hairdryer are provided in each room. Non-allergenic bed linen is readily available on request. For the comfort and safety of all guests, Alpine Lodge is a strictly non-smoking establishment. Free Wifi access throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpine Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Lodge Guest House Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing