We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpine Lodge Guest House
Ranked #9 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

There was a conference in town and therefore accommodation was limited in Buxton. I was a single traveller but got a lovely Super King Size room. The room is large, overlooking the front of the property. It is on quite a steep hill behind Spring Gardens. There was parking to be found and the owner said I could park behind her car on the drive if necessary. The room was clean. The bathroom small with just a walk in shower, toilet and corner wash basin but adequate for my use. Loads of space for clothes. TV on the wall. Modern decor (would describe a bit as French chic) Beverage making facilities, loan of an iron if required. Proper Hairdryer! Good choice of items for Breakfast, including vegetarian. Recommended.

Room Tip: My room was Room 1. Very comfortable. Small bathroom for two of you. Huge bed. On the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caprio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here last weekend and we were hugely impressed with everything. Rooms and house itself was spotless, beautifully decorated and very homely. Breakfast was delicious, we had a full English but there was many other options including cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt. The owner (Jean) was so friendly and chatty, would do anything to help and make the stay as pleasant as possible. It is in a great location, only a few minutes walk from the town centre and the opera house. All this for a great price. All in all a lovely stay and we'll definitely stay there again! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmW91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great location, spotlessly clean, huge comfortable bed & nice breakfast.
Now for the down side! The owner is a little on the prickly side which made us feel uncomfortable & on edge, as we thought at any time she might knock our door & give us a ticking off for something trivial like..... we didn`t close the doors quietly enough, we were using too much hot water or we didn`t take our shoes off before climbing the stairs etc. Our top floor room was very small with a sloped ceiling & a small TV. One of the bedside lights worked intermittently, you have to stand on the bed to open & close the blind & if you lift the bin up, the inner casing falls though! The bathroom is a good size with a big double shower & a bath but the door rattles constantly when there is a slight breeze outside, even when the windows are all closed. The cold tap on the bath is very loose & if like me, you put too much water in the bath & have to take a little out, be prepared for the vile smell that hits you like a train!!! The vile drain stench seemed to be coming from the shower plug hole as you hear it gurgling & then the smell hits you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fieldhead4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed here for one night after going to the theatre. The location was really good. Short walk to theatre, shops and restaurants. The room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was excellent. Overall a lovely stay and would go there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJP542013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here over Easter Weekend and had a fabulous time. The room was gorgeous, light and airy, with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful and delicious. Jean could not do enough to help and answered any questions in the best places to visit during our stay. I would HIGHLY recommend and should I visit Buxton again, will be definitely staying here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank gilbertsarahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Very impressed by this Guest House. The room was lovely and there were lots of little touches that made it special. Jean was very welcoming and I had a most enjoyable night`s stay. Alpine lodge is well-situated for everything, just a short walk from Buxton. The breakfast deserves aspecial mention - I prefer not to have a cooked breakfast and the alternative - pastries served with cheese was delightful. Something to suit everyone. This is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed for one night on the 21st of March.

Fantastic guest house owned/run by the lovely Jean,a delightful person and always
ready to help and be there for all guests,nothing is too much trouble.
The room was immaculate,plenty of character and spotlessly clean,well stocked
with everything,the bathroom was the same,very comfortable.
The breakfast was outstanding plenty of everything and a cooked English if
you want it,all excellent quality.
The property is central for all local establishments and the town,everything
is only a short walk.
I will be back to this Gem,a full recommendation and you are looked after by Jean,
what more could you ask for,Excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rondo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,962 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Old Manse Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge Guest House

Address: 1 Thornsett Hardwick Mount | Hardwick Mount, Buxton SK17 6PS, England (Formerly Hardwick Mount)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: £66 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Lodge Guest House Buxton is an AA 4 Star Gold accredited elegant Victorian house. We offer stylishly furnished and very comfortable bed and breakfast (B&B) accommodation. Conveniently situated in a quiet, tree-lined residential road within close proximity of the town centre. Buxton Opera House and Pavilion Gardens a mere 10 minutes stroll away. The gateway to the Peak District National Park and Derbyshire Dales is right on our doorstep, with numerous visitor attractions - Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall, Bakewell, Dovedale, Lyme Park - to name but a few. All rooms have en-suite shower facilities or private bathrooms with large baths and separate shower units. Hospitality trays with fresh milk, speciality teas, coffee and a biscuit treat for your return from a good day's walking and sight-seeing. Flat-screen TV and hairdryer are provided in each room. Non-allergenic bed linen is readily available on request. For the comfort and safety of all guests, Alpine Lodge is a strictly non-smoking establishment. Free Wifi access throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Alpine Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Lodge Guest House Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing