We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just love this jewel nestled in the Staffordshire...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Jackie E
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just love this jewel nestled in the Staffordshire country side”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is our second stay at Fernyford Farm and we just love it. So relaxing - the children play on the farm for hours, whilst we enjoy the 5 star comforts of the barn. Barney, Neil and Dorota are the most welcoming hosts and nothing is ever to much trouble. The barn is pristine with a wonderful large chess set, books and dvd's plus we had the added excitement of one of the sheep wanting to come though the window...I cant recommend this place highly enough. If you are ever planning a visit to this area, make sure you stop by here as you most definitely will not be disappointed. Looking forward to visiting again next year as my daughter is desperate to be there for lambing.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 5 star accomodation and location
Liked least: nothing love it all
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C S
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous hosts, barn and farm”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Our children were asking to come back again before we had even got in the car to come home. Neil, Dorota, Barney and Shimon were the perfect hosts. We loved seeing the lambs being born and having the chance to help (or hinder!) on the farm. The barn itself is spacious, warm and well equipped. It was also beautifully decorated for Easter, which was a lovely touch.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the hosts combined with the experience of staying on a farm
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmeli...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Escape to the Country”
Reviewed 1 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a fantastic long weekend on the farm! Neil, Dorota and family were very welcoming and friendly and the cottage was very well equipped, warm and comfortable. We would most certainly recommend this hidden gem to others and hope to visit again soon!

Date of stay: October 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stirltrip
stirling
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super, relaxing, peaceful Break”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a super stay at Big fernyford Barn.
Coming from a farm it was a home from home break.. But really it was fabulous, the barn is amazingly renovated to a wonderful high standard. It is equiped with everything you can imagine, and lovely and cosy. The huge tv was fab and caught up on a few box set dvds. Shower was great and plenty pressure.

The situ was ideal for travelling to all the sights just a half hour car journey to most places, buxton, bakewell, leek. Highly recommend Go Ape at Buxton. Super day out!

Highly recommend the accommodation to anyone!

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosiness of the property
Liked least: Genuine farm road into the property!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew W
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect accommodation , perfects hosts, perfect location, just faultless”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The accommodation is of the highest standard with every need catered for.
Neil and Dorota were very friendly and welcoming and gave us a tour of their farm which was a highlight for our young son. The farm produce they had on offer was very high quality.
The location was very quiet and rural perfect for a relaxing holiday. It was a perfect base to see the rest of the peak district.
We would highly recommend this as a place to stay, we couldn't fault anything about it. We hope to return again soon for another family holiday.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie E
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a haven, peaceful and relaxing in stunning converted barn”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week at Fernyford. From the moment we arrived we felt at home. A very warm welcome from Dorota, Neil and Barney. Our children 11 & 12 had a wonderful time - feeding the animals with Barney in the morning and playing in the fields for hours on end. Happy children - happy parents. The barn is ideally located for wonderful walks and Leek is only a short drive away with lots of lovely shops to explore. There are some wonderful eating places around that can be easily driven to. The barn is decorated to a very high spec. with all the mod cons and very homely additions, its just lovely....we will be back..

Date of stay: August 2015
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon C
1 review
“Excellent - just what we were looking for.”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Neil and Dorota made us very welcome, the cottage was very cosy and had all we needed. Sparkle the cat was a regular visitor ! The Belted Galloway steaks were top notch,very tasty.Thank you very much.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just a cosy and welcoming place to stay.
Liked least: Having to leave...
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.