We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Braemar Guest House
Ranked #15 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the Braemar at the end of August. Marie and Roger were extremely welcoming and knowledgeable of the local area. The room was decorated and furnished to a very high standard (The room was also very clean!). The breakfast, a choice of hot and cold was lovely and the hospitality was second to none! I would highly recommend this guest house to everyone, as its extremely well priced, set in the beautiful town of Buxton and I can guarantee that you would extremely satisfied with your stay

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    16
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
63
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My partner and I stayed at the start of August and travelled from cornwall. Being from a beautiful part of the country and both working in the hospitality trade we can be hard to please. Braemar surpassed our expectations.

We were attending a family wedding but had a bit of time to see the area as well. Although we didnt meet Marie, Roger was very welcoming and knowledgable of the local area. The young girl who served our breakfast was also lovely and showed an interest in our daily plans.

Our room was clean and serviced everyday. Nothing was too much trouble which was proved when I asked for an iron during breakfast. An iron and ironing board was waiting outside our door when we returned to it.

We have both fallen in love with the peak district and are hoping to return to Braemar when we venture north again. There is so much to see but we didnt have the time to do it all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyButler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were very impressed with Braemar from it's lovely breakfasts, both hot and cold, to it's beautiful rooms that are very clean, with an en suite and good quality showers (very important to me!)
A very relaxing and quiet place, with a pretty dining room.
Both Marie and Roger were very welcoming and warm towards us, and were very knowledgable about the interesting little town of Buxton.
Lovely weekend, and will be visiting again!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Myself and six friends and family have just spent a long weekend at this Guest House,It is by far the best B&B experience we have ever had, quiet and relaxing rooms and peacefull dining room , all complimented by great breakfasts either hot or cold choices to choose from .
We were all very impressed and got the feeling we were well looked after . Will certainly be back .
Many Thanks Caroline and Maria for your courteous attention in the dining room, and of course Roger for his knowledge of the many walks and locations in this delightful area of the Peak Park.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dereck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I stayed in the Braemar guest house mid July for both my birthday and to visit friends who were visiting the area. Being new to Buxton I was a little unsure of the attractions in the local area, however Roger and Marie made me feel incredibly welcome in their home. The room I had was exceptional; very clean and comfortable, ensuring I had a great nights sleep, and was treated to a hearty breakfast each morning (the breakfasts here are to die for). Roger's knowledge of the local area was second to none and gave me lots of tips regarding places to see, things to do and restaurants to eat at. They had wi-fi and honestly, nothing seemed too much trouble for them. If I ever find myself back in the area, I would not hesitate to see if there is room available at the Braemar!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denissellars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We were very impressed with this guest house and we enjoyed our 6 night stay.
The room was very comfortable with a king size bed.
All necessary toiletries etc were provided as well as adequate supplies of tea and coffee. The breakfast was excellent.
This guest house is close to the bus terminus and there are excellent bus services to many places
I am sure that we will be visiting again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My son and I have stayed at Braemar on many occasions over the past few years and have always received a very warm welcome from Roger and Marie. Our most recent stay in June was no exception. Apart from the convenience of Braemar's locality to the centre of Buxton, Roger always provides in depth knowledge of sights we can visit and activities he has tried and can recommend; we have never been disappointed yet! The room is always very clean and comfortable and Jack always looks forward to eating his complimentary chocolate biscuit at the end of the each day! Similarly, our breakfasts are always well prepared and provide ample sustenance for our busy days. We love the personal touch with the photographs of the local area and Marie's skillful drawings...neither of us can wait to return!

Room Tip: Jack and I have always appreciated Room 2 with its quiet ambience and excellent en suite facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,662 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#6 of 39 in Buxton
168 reviews
0.0 mi away
9 Green Lane
9 Green Lane
#10 of 39 in Buxton
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braemar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braemar Guest House

Property: Braemar Guest House
Address: 10 Compton Road, Buxton SK17 9DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Braemar Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Braemar is a long established, central, attractive, and quietly situated Detatched Victorian residence. Cosy, and comfortably furnished offering all facilities. Our location is also very convieniently close to all this historic towns many interesting and varied sights and amenities. Braemar is also ideally placed to offer a great touring base from which to explore the stunning scenery and take in the many delights of the Peak District National Park. Relaxed Atmosphere and traditional food to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Braemar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemar Guest House Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing