We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Braemar Guest House
Ranked #18 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Braemar at the end of July and we really enjoyed our stay. The room was very comfortable, and the breakfasts were good hot and filling. "Full English" doesn't do them justice. Roger and Maria were very friendly and helpful.
It is just a short walk from restaurants and shops. We would certainly return there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mr-harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2009

We spent 4 nights in August 2009 at Braemar. Mrs Hyde was friendly, welcoming and helpful. The accomodation was very comfortable and the breakfasts were well cooked and nicely presented. Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Peezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

The welcome from Maria and Roger is like a family member arriving home.They show you to your room which has everything that you would expect in a top class hotel.With it being situated in a quiet area sleep is guarrenteed. Breakfast is first class with choice of time you would like it.I had the full english which kept me going all day.The Dinning room is well laid out and roomy so you are not sitting on top of one another. The room was made fresh everyday the bed turned back so i always came back to it being clean and tidy.This guest house is first class easily within walking distance of the town.The hosts have an excellent knowledge of the area and are more than happy to give suggestions of what to do and where to go.They also have lots of up to date leaflets i would go there again and i have recommended it to my friends and anybody who wanted to go away for a break.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spocky1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We had a hearty breakfast in pleasant surroundings with good company.The room was clean and functional as expected. This B and B provides an easy walk into Buxton but is not in a busy street.All in all we were made very welcome and at ease as this was a spot booking on the doorstep.
Mrs & Mrs D P Allen

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derekStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

The Braemar is a lovely place to stay and Maria and Roger were full of ideas and information about the town and surrounding area. What they didn't know they would have a leaflet or book with the information you wanted. We had a marvelous four day ( 3 ) night stay with them and I would definately recomend the Braemar to friends. The breakfasts were great. Full english with orange juice and cereals, poished off with toast, we were always asked if we needed any more. This was our first vist and we are planning more for next year. A "must stay"!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiltonKeynesWalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We stayed here during our Honeymoon period and regretted booking this B&B. The welcome wasnt friendly; felt like we are entering an exam hall surrounded by strict examiners !! The hosts behaved like stern strangers which was unbelievable.

The most upsetting thing was the breakfast. On the first morning we were offered cereals, toast (4 slices) and coffee. We had only 3 pieces of toast and didnt finish all of the coffee as we were in a hurry to start the day of exploring Buxton. And guess what, the next morning they offered 3 slices of toast and 50% the amount of coffee compared to the previous day !!!

Our stay was really uncomfortable and I would not recommend it to anyone. Ever since this stay we try and book hotels rather than B&B.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SSBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suprasz, Owner at Braemar Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2009

Many thanks reviewer/s for your kind words,
If you did stay at Braemar, in Dec 2006? you must have gone unoticed, Braemar was closed from Oct 2006 to March 2007 for implementing the new Health and Safety rules and upgrading the new fire Regs etc , the interior at that time for most part resembled a building site !
This reviewer/s must certainly have kept a `low profile` because we did not `spot` any other human forms within the building during this renovation period? other than builders and electricians etc.??
Was the Breakfast covered in `brick dust ` we ask ourselves, (sorry it appears the reviewer/s had only toast and coffee in mousetrap potions) ,
Never mind , all we can say is we cant recall any `Happy Campers` in our back garden,(especially at that time of the year Dec06?!)
Perhaps someone was `Sqautting`in our Garage?! or Garden shed ? Who knows?
PS, There is running water in there and a few old Dog Biscuits !
PPS We know Braemar has `Ghosts` but next time could you please manifest yourself/s in a happier and more pleasant form. Thankyou,
Kind Regards R&M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

My wife and I stayed here for one night late May 2009. Although it was midweek the first B&B I contacted was not prepared to do a one nighter. However, Roger was quite happy to take us, we paid there top price but that's not unreasonable. I would not have expected to get a one night booking at a weekend. We had a friendly welcome a very nice room good advice on where to eat and a really good breakfast. Our only grumble would be that there was a bowl of fresh fruit but no grapefruit. Thanks for being flexible enough to take people for one night.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garfield42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,938 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.1 mi away
Netherdale Guest House
Netherdale Guest House
#11 of 39 in Buxton
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#9 of 39 in Buxton
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braemar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braemar Guest House

Address: 10 Compton Road, Buxton SK17 9DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Braemar Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Braemar is a long established, central, attractive, and quietly situated Detatched Victorian residence. Cosy, and comfortably furnished offering all facilities. Our location is also very convieniently close to all this historic towns many interesting and varied sights and amenities. Braemar is also ideally placed to offer a great touring base from which to explore the stunning scenery and take in the many delights of the Peak District National Park. Relaxed Atmosphere and traditional food to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Braemar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemar Guest House Buxton, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing