We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Totally memorable Christmas celebration 23-30 Dec”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
45 reviews
Twin/Double bedroom
Single bedroom
Mezzanine/attic bedroom
Upstairs bathroom
Outdoor seating/bbq area
Main driveway
The view from the barn across the Moorlands.
Beautiful views from Gib Torr farm.
Beautiful Three Shires Heads - just one of the breathtaking walks on offer nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mmb131
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally memorable Christmas celebration 23-30 Dec”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Needing to spend Christmas near enough Manchester to attend a family wedding, we sought a property which would allow us to bring together 4 generations of our family for an informal, rural celebration. We chose exceptionaly well in Gib Tor. This was not solely for the characteristics of the house, which allowed the generations to each find their own space, with the playroom, several warm and comfortable seating areas (much appreciated by our two elderly members) and a spacious and sociable kitchen, but especially due to the care that Lynsey had taken in preparing the house for us (no less than two Christmas trees!), immaculate everywhere and warm throughout, with a surprise seasonal welcome hamper. Our hosts could not have been more helpful and supportive, we found the furnishings totally suited to a family group, enough space for additional guests to join for Christmas lunch, the local walks genuinely spectacular. My only complaint would be that we did not book for longer!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Calm, space, character
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful Quirky Place”
Reviewed 16 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The approach to Gib Torr was easy to find and the location superb on a bright if cold day. Bought pikeletts (Derbyshire oatcakes) on the way through Leek. A very friendly greeting from the new owner. We all enjoyed our stay and despite the heavy rain had an enjoyable outing in superb Buxton. The bedrooms where clean and cosy with beautiful views. The children just adored the trapeze hanging off the beams in the lounge , which was very warm and comfortable. We all wish the new owners the best of luck,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space.
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma F
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place to celebrate a birthday”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay, the barn had a friendly feel which My Dad - the 80th Birthday Boy really enjoyed. The owners were very helpful & welcoming. Great central place for us all to meet up as we live so far apart.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosannaKF
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded all my expectations”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I went to this property to celebrate my 30th birthday with 20 friends and I couldn't be happier with my choice. I thought from the photos online that it would be nice but it completely blew me away – it was beautiful! Everyone has been telling me what an amazing time they had there. Thank you so much Lynsey – I can't wait to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nattybard...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing place, kids couldn't believe the indoor swing, amazing fires, beautiful surroundings, perfect relaxing weekend with the family.

Loved it, thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the barn
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriele...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“great place to stay”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

we stayed with a group of 17 adults incl a couple of teenagers and had a great time, we loved the nights at the fireplace and the late breakfasts/brunches at the big kitchen table... a real rustic and coly place to have a great time with friends and family , no WIFI signal for a change, pub in walking distance with WIFI :-), towns Buxton and Leek 15 min drive away, which provide all sorts of shops and are beautiful, you can explores the area, there are walking tracks as well.. we just loved it.
thanks a lot Kate!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the outside fireplace
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M
Chester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A perfect place to get 'away' from it all”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This barn is a gem. Very rustic, very quirky but very functional. If you want to truly get away and spend time with family and friends this this an ideal place. No phone signal, no internet, no TV - so you'll need to talk to each other. This can be done around the massive kitchen table, the couches around the log burner, in the games room or around the bbq in the circular pit!
And don't get me started on the range of fantastic walks from the property. I recommend the roaches.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing