We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a great place!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
50 reviews
Twin/Double bedroom
Single bedroom
Mezzanine/attic bedroom
Upstairs bathroom
Outdoor seating/bbq area
Main driveway
The view from the barn across the Moorlands.
Beautiful views from Gib Torr farm.
Beautiful Three Shires Heads - just one of the breathtaking walks on offer nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Daydream6...
2 reviews
“What a great place! ”
Reviewed 29 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We've just returned home from a brilliant family weekend at Gib Tor. The barn was great and perfect for our group, it has so much character and some really quirky features. Despite its size it has a really cosy feel and the fires kept us lovely and warm, even with snow outside! The owners were really helpful and there's great surroundings to explore too. Can't wait for our next visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ann S
Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Location good/accomdation very dissappointing”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Location good. Barn house quirky and clean. Needs attention/improvement and washing facilities not enough for 14 as stated. We stayed for a family birthday weekend and the heating was not working and spoilt our when'd. We could not cook or eat in kitchen without our coats on. We spoke to owner who's advice was too move thermostat still no good. Glad to leave Sunday morning no hot water and freezing in kitchen. I have complained to owner but her response was the heating had only just been put in and apologised . But if you look in previous guest reviews in visitor book other people were cold. And said same thing about kitchen. Without fire in lounge we would have been frozen and why should you be restricted to one room, we booked large place to eat and have fun together cooking. Very displeased with response from owner

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2017
Thank you for your feedback, please again accept our apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay.
We try not to encroach on our guests' privacy whilst staying in the Barnhouse and would have hoped you would have contacted us again over the weekend if the issues with the heating were ongoing.
We pride ourselves in doing everything we can to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay and do our utmost to fix any problems faced.
The new heating system has been installed in response to the feedback we received from guests last winter.

An additional shower is being installed during spring/summer 2017 to complement the existing bath and shower.

Thanks again for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderfully warm, welcoming place for our family to stay over the Christmas period.”
Reviewed 29 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We received a lovely warm welcome to Gibb Torr Barn on one of the worst nights weather - travelling and unloading during Storm Barbara was very interesting!
However, Lynsey had made the barn feel warm and welcoming with two Christmas trees a Christmas hamper and lots of tasteful festive decorations!
The barn was absolutely spotless, with plenty of lovely fresh bedding to snuggle up in.
We loved all the quirky fittings and finding out which light switch turned on which light! As the weather was very cold and windy we made full use of both the log fires which were wonderful. There was lost of space for eight adults and a dog - from the cosy living room, fabulous kitchen and games room.
Only room for improvements would be a large cooker and fridge - storing and cooking food for Christmas dinner was tricky.
The location is amazing - with lovely countryside walks surrounding the barn.
We visited Buxton, Bakewell and Leek which were all within a short driving distance.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
Hi Dawn, thank you for your review and feedback. We're very glad you had a great Christmas at Gib Torr.
We are in the process of upgrading the kitchen which, amongst other things, will include the installation of a further hob and double oven which will make cooking for large groups even easier.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Thanks again.
Lynsey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MagicOtte...
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic Cottage in a Great Location”
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Excellent peaceful cottage in the heart of the Peak District. A really great location for exploring, either on foot or by car - there are walks nearby, and it's easy to get to sights such as Chatsworth, Dove Dale and the Hope Valley. The cottage was spotless and perfectly decorated, as well as being cosy and warm. We arrived late, so Lynsey had kindly lit the burners.

Although there wasn't a TV or WIFI, the big stack of board games - as well as the games room with table tennis, pool table and darts - were plenty to keep our children (12, 10, and 6) occupied for three days. It's the perfect place for getting children away from technology. One last thing - thanks to the owners for some great pub recommendations. Brilliant local food at the Lazy Trout and Knights' Table nearby. We've already booked to go again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous familyaccommodation”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The barnhouse was fabulously equipped and had enough of everything for twelve of us. It was immaculately clean when we arrived.We were celebrating 3 family birthdays and had taken a lot of our own food so the large fridge freezer was great.There was a good supply of fuel for the open fires with matches and kindling provided. Lynsey lit the fires for us on arrival which was great.We all had a wonderful time and would not hesitate to recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfy beds
Liked least: Nothing I didnt like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing