We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved our stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Indoor Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Indoor Pool
Stunning Property Spacious Grounds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
11 reviews
Indoor Pool
Stunning Property
Spacious Grounds
Peak District At It's Best
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
funkyfeet...
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice but needs a few fixes”
Reviewed 15 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I can see why the reviews are mixed for this place. On the plus side, it's a lovely picturesque location. We were greeted warmly on arrival. The rooms are largely clean and well presented, with ensuite in two of the bedrooms. Our bed was comfy and there is reasonable space for clothes. Upstairs is a large and airy living area with two large sofas, a large table and a DVD player. The house warms up very efficiently. There is a pool and games rooms which would be great for a family and you can book the pool for private use. 

On the negative side, the fridge was a bit dirty when we arrived - rest of kitchen was clean so perhaps they forgot to clean it. The kitchen has a dishwasher which is a nice luxury and generally the kitchen was good but it is missing some basic equipment - no toaster, no tin opener, no oven dish. Although there were three showers you could only use one at a time if you wanted hot water. The shower in double bedroom could have done with resealing as it was slightly black and mouldy looking in places. The pool was large enough to swim in and warm. But it was sandy at the bottom and could do with a bit of clean. Also no hot water in the pool showers - not much fun running home wet in a towel in October even if it is only a few meters away. The Wi-Fi doesn't really work - I gave up on it in the end. The windows - you could only open some of them. No issue for us but not so great in summer I imagine. There is an open metal spiral staircase - looks stylish but I imagine it's pretty scary if you are worried about heights! Wouldn't recommend for families with small children or for people with mobility issues.

Overall - had a nice stay. Just a few fixes needed to give it a 4 or 5 star rating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zed741
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ok but overpriced ”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed as a family of 5 youngest child aged 6. I wouldn't stay with toddlers as the stairs are unsuitable. The upside down style may annoy some as the floors are very noisy.
Pros. Great location for cycle trails and walks. Nice to have the pool to yourselves. Good games room. Cottage was clean and worked ok. Nice views.
Cons Pool was freezing. Not high enough spec to justify the price. No outside play area or games field. 15 minutes to nearest shop. No on site owner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valbramha...
Bramham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beware - failure to refund bond!”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

I will start this review by saying that it's the first negative review I've ever written on Tripadvisor. I stayed at this property in August for a hen weekend. Our group of mature ''hens' had rented all three cottages. The cottages themselves were OK although know where near as luxurious as I had expected given the price charged for a 2 night stay. The pool in particular was very disappointing with a very strong smell of diesel and was then closed due to a problem with the filter. We were also disappointed that (unlike the publicity shot) most of the external planters were empty. I could have understood this if we had gone in winter but not in the middle of August. However, our main issue has been since our return. Despite 3 of our party going round with the housekeeper before they left and being assured that everything was in order, we have now been told that the place was left in an unacceptable state and that the whole of our £300 bond has been with-held. All attempts to contact the agents to discuss this have been met with a blank.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Unfortunately this customer has left a fictitious review based on the fact that their security deposit was taken as they snuck in 2 extra guests that they did not pay for or inform us of and they also left all the properties in a mess along with various broken items. The comments in the review have no truth other than we retained the security deposit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buxton hotels

hwinr0w
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Loved our stay!”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have recently returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at Badgers Cottage and can't wait to book again. The cottage is clean & spacious and set in the most beautiful grounds with views that are quite breathtaking. The swimming pool and games room were fantastic for occupying our daughter and her cousins. On arrival we were given a very warm welcome from Jon & Brenda who were fantastic hosts throughout our stay, always on hand to give advise as to where to shop/ eat out etc. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Thank you so much! You were a pleasure to have on site. We hope to see you again in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie A
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage but not 4* and certainly not luxury. Disappointed”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed in the Badgers Wood cottage over Easter, with my mum, two young children (age 3 and 18 months) and small dog. We paid nearly £600 for a 4 night break. We we're expecting 4* luxury as per the website, however this is not what we found. The furniture in the whole place was mis-match. Modern oak chests of drawers with 'shabby chic' style bedside tables in the bedrooms. The lounge was a complete hash of pine, painted wood, shabby chic and leather sofas. The website says the cottage boasts "carefully co-ordinated fabrics and furnishings". Yet again, this was not the case. Mis-match cushions and curtains in both lounge and kitchen. NOT 4*.
Before booking I asked if the cottage was suitable for young children and was told that they had never had any issues with toddlers in the past. I consequently went ahead with the booking.
When we arrived, the first thing that met us in the hall way was a cast iron spiral stair case. I was concerned about this immediately. The website did indicate a spiral stair case but there was not image of them. I would not have booked if I'd have seen it. The stairs were a complete death trap. Myself and my 62 year old mother had to carry the children downstairs every time as it was completely unsafe for them to go on their own. We even struggled without proper shoes on as the cast iron pattern continues on each step. It was a nightmare. The lady I booked with clearly has no experience with toddlers.
We asked to move initially but couldn't as all cottages were booked. The caretakers were really helpful and couldn't do enough. They installed a stair gate and were on hand for all requests.
Other gripes include no DVD player, missing knives from set and all very blunt, no kitchen scissors, no fish slice/turner, no baking trays, just a round pizza tray, no kitchen roll, foil or cling film. I would expect all of these when paying 4* prices. No recycling bags provided but recycling was requested. We had to keep taking it to recycling bins in several trips. Also, wood floor needs replacing throughout.
Very disappointed. The worst bit about it is that I contacted them to complain and am still waiting for a reply, 3 months on. Disgusting treatment when we paid £575 for a 4 night break. Would not recommend, especially not to elderly, very young or not very mobile.
disappointed, Moor Grange, this is not good enough.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan M
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A fabulous family get away”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We spent a week in the cottage over Easter and had a really lovely stay. The cottage is clean, well presented and well equipped and the location is perfect for anyone seeking a calm getaway.

The swimming pool and games room were perfect for entertaining the kids, and the dog loved running free in the fields.

Jon and Brenda really made the stay complete - they were on hand if we needed them and really went out of their way to make us feel welcome - everything from lending us a bag of sugar which we forgot to bring, right through to really making an effort with the kids, keeping them entertained and really going above and beyond expectations to ensure that everything was just perfect.

I highly recommend this place - due it's location and the friendliness of Jon and Brenda!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Helpfulness of the onsite team
Liked least: Bedding was a bit cheap and cheerful - would benefit from better quality sheets and duvets.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareySchn...
Bedar, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Booked the whole site ”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I booked the whole venue for my family who all came over from Spain to spend my mothers birthday together.

The cleaner was unfriendly and rude but I was told by the owner she was being replaced as of August. Aside from that I cannot recommend it enough. What an incredible view from the terraces and the bedrooms and bathrooms were all brilliant sizes.

The main kitchen in the Manor House was ideal for our large family

We have already booked it for Easter

Can't wait! Thanks again and great indoor pool!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing