We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“English Country Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Clough Head, a traditional Peak District farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Clough Head, a traditional Peak District farmhouse
The cottage at Clough Head Relax in the comfortable sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Welcome to Clough Head, a traditional Peak District farmhouse
The cottage at Clough Head
Relax in the comfortable sitting room
Relax after a day in the Peak District and enjoy games, books, satellite TV, music...
Enjoy a good night's rest
Relax in comfort at Clough Head Cottage
Relax and make yourself at home for a week or a weekend in the Peak District
A room with a view of White Peak hills
Cottage style comfort at Clough Head
The fully equipped kitchen at Clough Head Cottage
Everything you need to create a delicious meal
Relax and enjoy
Relax in the bath after a day in the Peak District
Towels warming in the cosy bathroom at Clough Head Cottage
Clough Head - a tranquil retreat
Your own self-contained cottage
Soak up the sun in the cottage patio garden
The view from the cottage garden
Lovely local walks from the door
Wander in our wild-flower meadow
Half our meadow - given a harvest trim
Looking down over Hollinsclough early in the morning - Parkhouse Hill appears out of the mist
We have had amazing sunsets this summer
Nearby Bakewell, a fascinating town to explore - and sample the famous pudding!
Clough Head in January Snow
January Snow
Looking down from Hollinsclough Moor in January
Our neighbouring Portland sheep in January
Chrome Hill, seen from Clough Head in January
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SCocks18
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“English Country Cottage”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My Daughter and I stayed her for 2 nights in early June. The cottage was off a country road but was easy to find. Quaint country cottage with everything you need for a pleasant stay. Beautifully furnished and very well equipped. The 2 bedrooms were very comfortable. The bathroom was downstairs, very clean and equipped to a high standard. The views were exceptional and in prime walking area. There was a plethora of books, maps and leaflets outlining what is on offer to do and see in the area. The hosts were very welcoming without being intrusive. A real escape to the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy B
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great little cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Clough Head Cottage was everything we had hoped for as our first holiday with a 5 month old baby. The accommodation is nicely done up and with all mod cons. The view across the valley from the garden is fantastic, and the location is perfect for exploring the southern peak district.

Alick & Helen are lovely and very welcoming.

Also loved the wood pellet fuelled boiler!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_ent...
High Wycombe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a relaxed bank holiday weekend”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Very comfortable, clean, peaceful, well equipped with loads of books, games and DVDs. Lovely welcome with fresh cakes. Ideal for the two of us for our two night stay for a friend's birthday party nearby. Thanks for the hospitality.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alice8920...
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The cottage was very clean with everything we needed there for us. Fantastic views from the house and good walking straight from the door which was great. Alick and Helen were really helpful in planning routes and the cottage had plenty for us to do with books, a TV and board games.
I would definitely return!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kaya S
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Absolutely perfect - cosy, warm, welcoming, high quality furnishings and stunning location”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had an absolutely fantastic time at Clough Head Cottage. Helen and Alick were the perfect hosts and greeted us with a really warm welcome when we arrived. The cottage is beautifully, immaculately presented and clearly loved by them, so every detail is thought of. We really liked that the house is run by biomass and solar energy, and the stove heater is run using recycled wood pellets. The cleaning products were Method or Ecover brands, which are non-toxic and not animal tested, something we strongly support. We had a 5 month old baby with us who settled in instantly, playing on her play mat nestled in the fluffy rugs around the cottage. The bookcase is stuffed full of novels, wildlife guides, maps, books about the Peak District and leaflets of things to do in the area. There's an extensive 'what to do/where to go' guide made by the cottage owners so whatever the weather you're in for a treat. We were blessed with beautifully clear, cold days so had blue skies and a sprinkling of snow which made the place totally magical. The cottage is on the edge of a valley that has breathtaking views - the backdrop of Chrome Hill is awe inspiring. We walked a 5K route from the cottage through the meadowy valley and then over Chrome Hill, with stunning views. The next day we drove to Macclesfield Forest which is a draw to cyclists and walkers. Here you can roam the forest and moorland and soak in the tranquility. We stayed at Clough Head Cottage for 3 nights and loved coming back to and waking up there each day. Good, fast WiFi meant we were able to watch Netflix in the evenings and play games from their boardgame selection too. The furnishings are gorgeous and it really felt like home. Having a 5 month old baby was a breeze - the cottage is very accessible and has a great hot water & heating system that kept us warm throughout. We'll definitely be back :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the standard of the cottage furnishings, the cruelty free products, the green energy system and the owners!
Liked least: We would have liked to stay longer!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauke T
2 reviews
“Fantastic get away!”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had the most wonderful half term break at Clough head cottage. The cottage was very warm and cosy. Alick and Helen have thought of everything to help make the stay comfortable with lots of great personal touches. Our 2 young children ( aged 6 and 10) totally loved it. They especially loved pottering around the cottage, chatting to Helen and helping to feed the local donkeys and goats belonging to the neighbour ( who was also very friendly). The views from the cottage were stunning and we visited some fabulous places including Buxton, Bakewell, Chatsworth, Speedwell caverns and Castleton. The Monsal cycle trail was incredibly beautiful which we were able to enjoy as a whole family. All in all we didn't really want to leave as there were still more walks we wanted to do and places to visit.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;