We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay over Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Basildon
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent stay over Christmas”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed from 24/12/13 for 3 nights as we had holiday inn points to use so only ending up paying for 1 night.

Hotel is lovely and such a nice setting with the lake nearby. Originally booked standard room with points and the room we had to pay for we treated ourselves to a executive room however the kind lady at reception managed to upgrade us for our first 2 nights complimentary so thank you very much for that :).

Had breakfast 1 morning which was delicious. Overall can't fault this hotel and can't wait to come back!

Thank you holiday inn basildon for making our Christmas extra special.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_P1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear AndrewUK84

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some great feedback in relation to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Basildon. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us during the Christmas season and we very much look forward to having you back here at the hotel soon.

Thank you again

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    200
    130
    54
    28
See reviews for
70
113
23
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

What can we say ! we stayed at the Holiday Inn on Saturday 7th December 2013 with our two children and we had interconnecting family rooms - perfect. The staff on reception were friendly, helpful and most welcoming. We saw a pantomime at the nearby Towngate Theatre which was one of the best ever that we had seen. We had a perfect nights sleep - so much so we took advantage of the later served breakfast, which was open to 11.00am. Breakfast was exceptional with such variety. The children loved the animals that were made out of towels on their beds - such a thoughtful touch Will definitely be back next year and will be recommending to friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Julie P

Thank you very much for your great review of our hotel - I am so pleased that you had a great weekend in Basildon and enjoyed the facilities here at the Holiday Inn. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

A great hotel, with very friendly staff in a fantastic location.
We were nicely surprised by this hotel which is obviously managed by somebody who really knows their business. Staff at reception and throughout the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful . Breakfast was exceptional with the chef ensuring you were satisfied. There is a pleather of decent restuarants within walking distance.
Really can't fault the place, well done to all that work there.

Room Tip: Executive twin was very nice with some nice little treats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12rocklily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear 12rocklily

Thank you for your great review of our hotel - it is great to receive such positive feedback on the hotel and team. Your comments will be shared throughout and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon

Thanks again

Regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

If you are planning a quiet weekend away do not stay at this hotel. We were provided an executive room and unfortunately, they face the parking lot where the restaurants, cinema and clubs are located. The room was hot and stuffy, we tried leaving the window open for fresh air but the noise outside was loud, tyres screeching and people yelling. By 02:30 we still hadn't slept and our very nice clubbing neighbours returned to their room and starting slamming the door and making loud noises. The rooms are not soundproof at all. We ended up moving to another room at 05:00 in the morning!! The security & reception staff were extra polite and apologetic but our night was ruined with no sleep. We were moved to a third room in the back of the hotel which is much more quiet. However, we could hear the elevator going up and down all night. The cleanliness of the first room was not great, I had to wipe the television as it was smeared, there was someone's long hairs on the bathroom floor. In the last room, one of the chairs was so stained and dirty we avoided sitting on it. This hotel needs lots of tender loving care, it is run down and executive rooms should be in the back of the hotel, they cost more and clients expect more quality. We did appreciate the staff.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front where the parking lot is located even if they are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bleecote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Bleecote

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Basildon. I am sorry to hear that you did not sleep well whilst at the hotel due to noise pollution from outside. We do work closely with our neighbours and local authorities to do all we can to minimise any noise from outside late at night.

You will be pleased to know that our Executive rooms are due for a full refurbishment in February 2014 - I hope that on your return you are able to try one of them for yourself.

I am pleased that you found the team to welcoming and friendly during your stay.

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

As a regular user of this hotel it's slowly improving. Reception always seems to be a huge issue as there never seems to be anyone there or a huge queue.

It's was only noisy one night out of my three but cars flying around in the adjacent still appears to be an issue which prevents a good sleep.

The new menu is far better than the old one and if you like decent pub style food, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick19831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Nick19831,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I apologize for the services that you have received which is not up to your par. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the guest services we offer to our guests. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed for three nights. Had concerns after reading some reviews. Need not have worried. Location was very good - many restaurants within easy walk. Plenty of on site parking. Rooms were clean and well serviced. Bed very comfortable. No problems with noise. The staff were truly exceptional - all polite, very helpful and professional. Breakfast was of a very high standard and again the staff and chef could not do enough. Congratulations to the GM and his team on making their guests feel welcome and looked after.

Room Tip: Rooms on lake side have great view and will be even quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Englishlaw

Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel - I am so pleased that you had a great stay wit us and found all of the team to be friendly and Polite. I will certainly pass your feedback on to the team.

We all look forward to seeing you back at the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed just one night and was impressed. Location was good. Room very clean and welcoming a nice touch was a note from the chamber maid. Had dinner was was good, only problem being height of the seats at the tables in the bar but that is a common problem. Had a really good nights sleep, yes it was a Sunday but I had the window open and was bothered by noise. I use many of the Holiday Inn brand and compared with others this was bar far the best.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roonie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Roonie4

Thank you for your great review of our hotel - I am so pleased that you had a great stay with us while visiting the area. Your feedback is very important to us and it always great to receive positive reviews to share with the team.

We hope to see you back at the hotel soon

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basildon
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Basildon
Travelodge Basildon
#6 of 7 in Basildon
193 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Chichester Hotel
The Chichester Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wickford
271 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Bell Inn Hotel
The Bell Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Horndon-on-the-Hill
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
624 reviews
7.9 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
363 reviews
5.7 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Basildon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Basildon

Property: Holiday Inn Basildon
Address: Waterfront Walk, Festival Leisure Park Cranes Farm Road, Basildon SS14 3TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Basildon 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Basildon is located on the Festival Leisure Park set in its own grounds overlooking a picturesque garden and fishing lake. The Holiday Inn Basildon is 0.5 miles from CNH tractor plant and 3 miles from Ford Motor Company research centre. We are only 40 minutes from Stansted Airport and 8 miles from the M25 Jct.29 with easy access to Lakeside and Bluewater shopping centres. The Holiday Inn Basildon bedrooms have high speed internet access and are air-conditioned. Family and accessible rooms are available. Meeting rooms and public areas have WIFI. We offer an extensive menu served daily in our lounge and 24 hour room service. The Holiday Inn Basildon is a popular venue for meetings in the Academy Conference centre. The Holiday Inn Basildon also caters for banqueting events including dinner dances and weddings in our suites which can cater for up to 220 guests and has ample free parking, including accessible parking. The Festival Leisure Park adjacent to the hotel boasts a wide choice of restaurants, nightclubs and leisure activities, including a 10 screen cinema and bowling alley. As one of our guests at the hotel you can take advantage of complimentary one day passes to the Fitness First gym that is a two minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers leisure packages:- shopping, family and honeymoon. Kids Stay and Eat Free* making Holiday Inn Basildon an ideal location for a family short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Basildon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Basildon Hotel Basildon
Basildon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Basildon Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing