We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“on behalf of one of my people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Basildon
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“on behalf of one of my people”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I sent one of my people to stay in this hotel and the hotel treated her with rude disdain and a very nasty attitude.
The reception refused to quiet noisy revellers running around corridors during the night.
The external area around the hotel was also extremely noisy.
Reception staff chastised my staff member for putting items on account and did not even apologise when she produced the receipt paid in cash.
The hotel attempted to charge her extra for checking out a day early!!!!!!
They even questioned her as to whether she was a resident when she re-entered the hotel after accessing her car!!!

Room Tip: Do n o t stay here if you want a good service and good sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Michael S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We would like to apologize for the experience your staff had during her stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us another chance to make the stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    196
    127
    52
    24
See reviews for
67
111
23
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed here on 15th February 2014 as I was attending a friend's 40th Birthday party in Billericay. Booking was easy and quick. Room lovely and clean. I had asked for a room at the back of the hotel as I had read previous reviews about noise at the front of the hotel. I had a great view of the lake which was great and the room was quiet.
I have to say that I had one of the best nights' sleep I have had in years - the bed was fantastic, the bedlinen superb (and I only use "The White Company" bedlinen at home so am very particular.
The only downside to my stay was that somebody had been ill in the corridor and housekeeping were cleaning this up at 8.45 am on Sunday morning. I had phoned reception to ask why they were cleaning at such an early hour and they advised me of the problem. Their hoover was loud but the offending area was quickly cleaned and reception phoned to let me know that all was sorted and they wouldn't be cleaning until later. As there was a 12pm checkout, I was quickly able to resume my lay in! Later I had a problem getting the shower working but that was more my fault but a very helpful lad from housekeeping helped me with this.
Some other reviews mentioned the temperature of the room. I must have been lucky as I turned the termostat down and the room was perfect for me.
My stay overall was good - but my sleep was best ever.

Room Tip: I had room 305 which was at the rear of the hotel - a nice view of the lake to the right hand side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yannaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Yannaben

Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Basildon. I am so pleased that you had a great nights sleep here at the hotel or as you have described it "Your best sleep ever ". You will be pleased to know that we are upgrading some of our rooms soon so that should you choose to return - your experience with us will be even better.

Thank you gain for your comments

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipswich
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

stay here for 1 night and it was very good and staff was good to the rooms was very clean and pleanty of tea and coffee. The only down side was the room was very hot at night even with the heating of and it was noisy if you have a room at the front

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear paulIpswich

I am pleased that your overall experience with us was good one and that you found the staff to be friendly and the rooms to cleaned to a good standard. Your comments help us make improvements for the future and are very welcome indeed.

Thank you so much for your time

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our 2 nights short break in that hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast really good we enjoyed making our own pancakes a lot! Pitty the restaurant is not used in the evening but considering location it is understandable. Would be better if showers were not old american style permanantly mounted to wall:). I am sure we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joasiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Joasiaw

Thank you for your recent comments regrading your stay at the Holiday Inn Basildon. I am pleased to read that your overall experience with us was good one and that you enjoyed your breakfast - the Pancakes are one of my favourites too. All of you feedback is vital to us and enables us to make the right choices for all of our guests in the future.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Covenient and comfortable stay with a good breakfast to start the day and friendly staff who were very helpful. We stayed here when visiting family close by but this could easily be used as a base for exploring the south Essex area. Good facilities close by with several eating places.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Traveller1035

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found the hotel to offer all that you expected. Your feedback is vital to us and enables us to make the right choices for all of our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Really don't know where to start with this place, I stayed here not too long ago for a work function, so here goes
1. room .... was okay, clean very, small the temperature regardless of what you set it at stayed the same basically damn hot!!! so the only option was to open the window and then all I heard was the noise from the festival leisure site, needless to say I did not get a good nights sleep.
The light on the table when switched on sounded like it was going to explode so that never got used also my colleague who was staying in another room nearby kept having to go to reception as her card kept locking her out and also the lights in her room weren't working properly either.
2. Food, oh dear oh dear oh dear!!! this was a work function which included a sit down meal , the food was beyond bad I have yet to come across such poorly presented bad tasting food in my life , it was over cooked the potatoes were by far the worst I have ever come across, the sprouts were pretty god damn nasty overall the food was just awful, i'm sure the kitchen must have been pretty shocked by the amount of waste that went back as a lot of people did not eat it.
Don't even get me started on the wine, cheap and nasty!! To be given two bottles of wine for a table of twelve is pretty bad but as the wine was so bad no one drank it anyway.
Staff were okay , that's all I can say bit grumpy at times and a few us got the impression that they didn't want to be there as did the DJ
sadly I would not go back and that is the impression from others that went there also that night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maisie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear maisie1969

It is very alarming to read your review of our hotel and how dissatisfied you were from start to finish. Please be assured that your comments have been taken very serious and have been discussed with the relevant Head of departments, including the Head Chef and Food and Beverage Manager.

Guest feedback is vital to us so that we can make the right choices for our guests and we value the comments made in your review as a consequence.

Once again - thank you for your time

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Basildon hotels

Essex, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Basildon last week while attending a function followed by an overnight stay. The rooms are great and we have used the hotel many times over the past few years.

However the bar staff give possibly the worst service I have ever experienced. Huffing and puffing as they clearly dont want to be there. The service was utterly terrible.

The rooms are great but I suggest you go out for food and drinks or be ready for a huff-fest!

Sadly we won't be coming back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfiemoon999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Alfiemoon999

Thank you for the review of our hotel in connection to your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Basildon.

We pride ourselves on great service at all times and as you can see from our previous reviews it is generally something we are recognised by our guests for doing well. It is therefore alarming to read your comments concerning our team members, comments rest assured, that will be shared with my Food and Beverage Manager to investigate.

I do hope that having used us many times before you will know that your experience with us on this occasion does not reflect the standard that you would usually expect from our team here at the hotel.

Once again - thank you for your review

Kevin Coombes

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basildon
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel
5.7 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
The Oysterfleet Hotel
The Oysterfleet Hotel
#1 of 2 in Canvey Island
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Basildon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Basildon

Property: Holiday Inn Basildon
Address: Waterfront Walk, Festival Leisure Park Cranes Farm Road, Basildon SS14 3TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Basildon 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Basildon is located on the Festival Leisure Park set in its own grounds overlooking a picturesque garden and fishing lake. The Holiday Inn Basildon is 0.5 miles from CNH tractor plant and 3 miles from Ford Motor Company research centre. We are only 40 minutes from Stansted Airport and 8 miles from the M25 Jct.29 with easy access to Lakeside and Bluewater shopping centres. The Holiday Inn Basildon bedrooms have high speed internet access and are air-conditioned. Family and accessible rooms are available. Meeting rooms and public areas have WIFI. We offer an extensive menu served daily in our lounge and 24 hour room service. The Holiday Inn Basildon is a popular venue for meetings in the Academy Conference centre. The Holiday Inn Basildon also caters for banqueting events including dinner dances and weddings in our suites which can cater for up to 220 guests and has ample free parking, including accessible parking. The Festival Leisure Park adjacent to the hotel boasts a wide choice of restaurants, nightclubs and leisure activities, including a 10 screen cinema and bowling alley. As one of our guests at the hotel you can take advantage of complimentary one day passes to the Fitness First gym that is a two minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers leisure packages:- shopping, family and honeymoon. Kids Stay and Eat Free* making Holiday Inn Basildon an ideal location for a family short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Basildon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Basildon Hotel Basildon
Basildon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Basildon Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing