We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting worse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Basildon
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Getting worse”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I stay here frequently and it gets worse everyone I have to stay here. Rooms are noisy, room service takes an hour every time and it didn't turn up at all this time - tried to call and the phone is broken, bed had hairs and the place is dated. Premier inn round the corner is far nicer and better value.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick19831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Nick19831

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Basildon. I am sorry to read that your experience with us was not a good one and that there were shortfalls in the service and product that was offered to you.

Guest feedback is vital to us - it enables us to fix anything that we are not delivering to standard and constantly helps us to look at ways of improving for the future. I will share your comments with the relevant Head of Departments and ensure that your comments are actioned upon today.

If you would like to discuss anything in more detail - please do feel free to contact me directly.

Thank you again for your valued feedback

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    200
    130
    54
    29
See reviews for
70
114
23
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I must point out I didn't personally stay the night here as I live nearby but many of our guests did quite happily. No the purpose of this review is to point out how friendly, helpful & professional the staff are here. Holiday Inn Basildon kindly provided connecting Guest suites ,FOC, to allow us to host a Fundraiser for the local St Luke's and The J,s hospice, We had 220 guests for a Black Tie dinner and the food was outstanding, lovely starters, succulent lamb and a chocolate brownie & ice cream to die for! Service was brilliant. It must have all gone down well because following an Auction hosted by Tony Cottee & Tony Gale and a 'fun casino' plus raffle etc we managed to raise a magnificent £16000 to share between the 2 charities.
Thank you every one at the Holiday Inn Basildon for helping to make the night such a success!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0bbie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such great feedback in relation to your recent event here at the hotel - we really do appreciate it.

I am pleased that you had a great night and that you enjoyed your evening here at the Holiday Inn Basildon.

Congratulations on your amazing fundraising total too - an outstanding achievement.

Thank you again for your feedback

Regards

Kevin Coombes

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stay at this hotel for sporting events at the nearby Sporting Village and it is really comfortable, clean with great staff. The beds are fantastic and setting things like temperature in the room is no trouble at all.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cosmetic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and were made to feel comfotable during your time at the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Holiday Inn Basildon soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed for 3 nights mid week on business. Nice touch to be offered a complimentary glass of wine on arrival at 9pm. Well signposted for drivers, plenty of parking and efficient check in. Room has no fridge and bathroom grouting and paintwork needs attention. Very annoying TV that required at least 8 button pushes on remote to navigate to plain BBC news every time you switched on. Ridiculous WIFI charges. Very poor soundproofing. On the plus side staff were knowledgeable, friendly and bar / food service was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metafaculty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your stay at the Holiday Inn Basildon. Please accept my apologies for the faulty remote control in your room, I hope that it did not spoil your overall stay with us.

Our Standard internet is currently offered free to oue Elite IHG Reward Club members with plans to extend this to all memebrs in June of this year.

I am pleased to read that you found our team to be helpful and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We decided to stay here overnight as we was attending a party and as we've stayed in Holiday Inn hotels all over the world we know the hotels have wonderful customer service and clean welcoming rooms.

I was wrong this is the worst, the cleanliness of the bathroom was poor to the point that we decided not to shower here and wait till we got home. The behing the tap there was mould and the tub had a patch of dirt. The room and bathroom had a smell of silicone it was as if they had just finished sealing the bathroom. I refused to walk on the floor without my shoes.

The male receptionist that checked us in failed to tell us what time breakfast was and where it would served. Is seemed he didn't want to be there.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ma_ma_ma_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest

I am sorry to read that your stay with us was not a good one at all. Quite clearly, feedback such as your own is vital to us so that we can try our very best to get it right the first time for all of our guests. I have reviewed your comments with my Head Housekeeper who would like to be associated with my apologioes. Equally I would be happy to speak with you personally if you would like to discuss the issues you experienced with us any further.

Thank you again for your feedback

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is average for a Holiday Inn - there is plenty of parking and its location on a leisure park, or Basvegas aa its known gives plenty of options for eating out.
The rooms are ok with the amenities you would expect. There is a lake next to the hotel that attracts geese which can make a fair bit of noise through the night - so try and get a room away from the lake or take ear plugs.
The girls on reception are good and efficient & other staff in the hotel seem friendly, however the two male members of staff on reception don't really want to be there - simply going through the motions and doing it slowly, there's barely a recognition of status for Priority Club members and when asking for a room away from the geese the member of staff went away to check if the location of the room was away from the noise. I was assured it was. It wasn't. No mention of the rate that had been booked - dinner? Breakfast? Each visit has resulted in me having to ask what is included.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank supershearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear supershearer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our property. We strive to provide the best possible experience and it is great to read from our guests on how we are doing.. It is unfortunate your stay was negatively impacted by the noise challenges you experienced. I am sorry for your dissatisfaction on some of our staff and services. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that we can better serve you next time.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, NC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I've been staying at the Holiday Inn Waterfront Walk for almost ten years. The rooms are small by American standards, but the hotel is always clean, the staff are always nice, and the rooms are relatively good prices when compared to the other area hotels. This is the best choice for Basildon by far.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rallyrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Basildon. I am pleased that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed the facilities and service we offer. We do have some Executive rooms that are somewhat larger than our Standard rooms - which you may like to try should you return to the hotel - even more so now that they have recently been refurbished.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basildon
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Basildon
Travelodge Basildon
#6 of 7 in Basildon
196 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Chichester Hotel
The Chichester Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wickford
276 reviews
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Basildon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Basildon

Property: Holiday Inn Basildon
Address: Waterfront Walk, Festival Leisure Park Cranes Farm Road, Basildon SS14 3TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Basildon 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Basildon is located on the Festival Leisure Park set in its own grounds overlooking a picturesque garden and fishing lake. The Holiday Inn Basildon is 0.5 miles from CNH tractor plant and 3 miles from Ford Motor Company research centre. We are only 40 minutes from Stansted Airport and 8 miles from the M25 Jct.29 with easy access to Lakeside and Bluewater shopping centres. The Holiday Inn Basildon bedrooms have high speed internet access and are air-conditioned. Family and accessible rooms are available. Meeting rooms and public areas have WIFI. We offer an extensive menu served daily in our lounge and 24 hour room service. The Holiday Inn Basildon is a popular venue for meetings in the Academy Conference centre. The Holiday Inn Basildon also caters for banqueting events including dinner dances and weddings in our suites which can cater for up to 220 guests and has ample free parking, including accessible parking. The Festival Leisure Park adjacent to the hotel boasts a wide choice of restaurants, nightclubs and leisure activities, including a 10 screen cinema and bowling alley. As one of our guests at the hotel you can take advantage of complimentary one day passes to the Fitness First gym that is a two minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers leisure packages:- shopping, family and honeymoon. Kids Stay and Eat Free* making Holiday Inn Basildon an ideal location for a family short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Basildon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Basildon Hotel Basildon
Basildon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Basildon Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing