We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campanile Hotel Basildon East London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Campanile Hotel Basildon East London
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“one night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

stayed at the campanile on route to a wedding we arrived late after 10-30pm. I was pleasantly surprised with the room it was very clean, with extra pillows (as I like 3 pillows for myself) the bed was really comfortable. I liked the mini hall effect in the room which meant you didn't open the door straight into the room as the hotel is a chalet type & we were on the ground floor I felt safe & secure. Yes there was a bit of noise from people coming back from a night out but you get that at any hotel & it subsided quickly. We were close to the main road A127 but did not hear the traffic. There was good tea & coffee making facilities, the shower was hot and the tv was good. It also has free WiFi. Good parking. All in all a very good experience.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room if you don't want the noise of people walking to their rooms late at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    62
    73
    60
    75
See reviews for
43
86
35
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I am a frequent business traveller although I haven't been to Basildon before. Decided to be a bit different and book a week at the Campanile, read the reviews on here and became a bit worried.

Firstly the positives - the staff are very good and do deserve some thanks. I received a heartfelt apology for the noise (which the staff did try and stop) and I found everyone to be friendly, welcoming and - although not totally professional - they made me feel welcome and at home.

The rooms are relatively basic and a bit tired but I found my room to be clean and it had everything I needed and the bed was surprisingly comfortable - I don't normally sleep well when away from home.

Unfortunately this hotel is not always used by people who really need a decent nights sleep for work the next day - I had one night of loud and drunken chatter and shouting until around about 2:30am. The night porter did try to shut them up but it was a bit of a lost cause.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

This was the first time i have stayed at a hotel with my dog and i was a little nervous about possible rules etc but i was pleasantly surprised because for £5 per night my dog was able to stay with us in a comfortable, motel style room (direct access to the grounds and secure car park). I was happy that the room was clean, basic and away from the reception area. It didn't feel at all restrictive as i had imagined. Day and night staff were helpful and friendly, the continental breakfast was plentiful and i would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Easy to find, friendly welcome and clean and comfortable room. Basic but everything worked, television in a good position and the breakfast in the morning was good. The rate was excellent compared with the other budget hotels in the locality and the American style accommodation felt safe and secure. Only issue was no hair dryer in room but available from reception

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Civelek59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

This is the first time I have stayed at this hotel, I normally stay in the hotels in Festival Park, but no more. Although this hotel is basic, I was really impressed with the check in and welcome that I got. The hotel is similar to a motel with two floors. The rooms are basic but clean, the decoration is in need of a little upgrade. There is tea and coffee facilities and a goos size TV, there is a shortage of plug sockets in the room. The bathroom was a good size with bath and over the bath shower, and they have soap dispensers. On the bed was a little welcome card with a free drink voucher in which was a really nice touch, they also left 3 small sweets on the bed, which none of the other hotels did. As I am a smoker it was really good to be able to open my bedroom door and have a smoke just outside, instead of having to walk down several flights of stairs in the other hotels. Overall I had a very pleasant stay and will be using this hotel each time I come down to our office and I would also recommend this to other business people I know who are looking for affordable and comfortable accommodation

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage I would ask for ground floor as there did not seem to have a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EJ13121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Booked a two night stay at beginning of April this year. Had to leave after one awful night. The dingy room was freezing cold, even with an extra blanket on the bed and the tiny wall heater on all night. Other rooms seemed to be occupied by people working on the nearby road repairs. A lot of noise in the evening and arguements taking place at 4.30 in the morning. The noise from the busy A127 that runs past the back on the hotel meant sleep was impossible during busy times. Altogether a horrible experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horticulture98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Basildon hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

we booked this hotel this weekend to stay at because we were at a family party in the area. It cost us £51 for a twin room, and on arriving int to the car park(eventually after sat nav couldnt find it) we felt as if we had arrived in one of those movies where the fugitive has either gone on the run and finds a motel to saty out or has just come out of prison and cant find anything else he can afford. It is a typical 2 storey wooden built Motel, a bit like Butlins chalets were 40 years ago.
it is run down, and could do with a complete overhaul or pulling down, whichever worked out the cheapest i suppose. I was glad I bought flat shoes with me, because I certainly would not have walked around barefoot on those carpets. I was terrified to pull back the bedclothes for what I might find, but I have to say the bedding was spotless. The bathroom was old, tired but the bath towel (1) was clean too. The curtains didnt fit across the window, the bathroom door didnt shut and we were in room 52 which is literally next to the A127, so not a lot of sleep. But the beds were so soft you felt as if you were going to bounce right out of them but not in a good way, they too were old, and well past their sell by date, the springs could easily be felt, and my husbands actually went for a walk across the room when he got in it, think it slipped on the oily carpet. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast although (8.25 extra ) was very well cooked and was piping hot with again very pleasant service. would I book here again, no I would not, but then maybe I am a bit of a snob, I dont think it was worth 51 pound.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinajb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basildon
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Basildon
Holiday Inn Basildon
#5 of 7 in Basildon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Chichester Hotel
The Chichester Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wickford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Hotel Basildon East London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hotel Basildon East London

Property: Campanile Hotel Basildon East London
Address: Burches | Pipps Hill, Basildon SS14 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Campanile Hotel Basildon East London 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Louvre hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Campanile Hotel Basildon East London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Hotel Basildon East London Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing