We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Lovely clean and quiet hotel. Room spotless, nice location. Attached to a Beefeater so handy for dinner plans. We also booked breakfast and our son ate free. My husband didn't travel in the end and the hotel kindly refunded the cost of his pre booked breakfast. Service at breakfast wasn't the best on Sunday 14th July. Staff all bickering between themselves quite vocally and I had the wrong breakfast given to me twice. Bacon tasted charcoaled more suited to a topping on a burger and sausages weren't really what I would call breakfast sausages, more the type you would get with a mixed grill


  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances D, Manager at Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for your 4 star review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us. Please accept my apologies for the lack of service extended to you during breakfast experience. I will forward your feedback on to the restaurant manager but if you could email me on pitl.basildoneastmayne@whitbread.com with your reservation details, so I can arrange a refund for your breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

I use Whitbread - Premier Inns a lot. The staff here are some of the most friendly and cohesive bunch I've ever witnessed working together. The breakfast crew especially.

Well done - keep it up - pass it on

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyfieldhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances D, Manager at Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for your 4 star review. I am please to hear you had an enjoyable stay and found the staff here friendly.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

After almost a year I returned to this Premier Inn on 29th June to find a lady on reception welcoming me and claiming to remember me, whether she did or not, it was a nice touch making one feel special. Even though I was not booked in there was no problem and was quickly given a room.
The room was immaculate and everything as you would expect or want.
Excellent black out curtains, didn't even realize the sun was up and a super comfortable bed.
Breakfast... was welcomed at the door, had the full package and the waiter took the order in a very professional and pleasant manner making you feel very comfortable. "All you can eat" menu ensured you would not be leaving hungry.
Half way through breakfast the manager asked if everything was ok, another nice touch.
In conclusion, this hotel has upped the ante and delivered a top service at a reasonable price.
This hotel will see me again :)
Niggles; None of importance (Thin walls)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catsdotnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances D, Manager at Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for your great 5 star review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us recently and found the rooms immaculate and beds comfy.

I will pass on the lovely feedback about your breakfast service to the restaurant, who will be very happy to hear they helped make your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to East Mayne Premier Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Staff were very helpful and friendly you couldn't ask for anymore information to be given. We found the room to be very clean and comfortable an staying with 2 children was very easy, the breakfast was excellent!


  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed for a family wedding, checked in fine , nice spacious family room , staff friendly and bed comfortable!, went in for breakfast at 10:30 and stood at the plinth for 5 minutes being ignored, finally somebody seated us and told us the buffet was "over there" and that they would come and take our breakfast order shortly, went to the buffet, tea, coffee and water all empty. 1 yogurt left and hard stale bread. had a juice and some cereal after waiting 20 mins my girlfriend went to find the waitress who said she was coming back, she took our breakfast order eventually. a further 20 mins and we got our breakfast which was awful! deep fried sausages and mushrooms which i have never had in a premier inn before ! a sponge dipped in oil basically, and bacon done on a char grill, also cold beans? after we finished we sat for another 10 mins being ignored ! we walked over to the plinth to pay, got looked at and got ignored so left !

Room Tip: i would advise against using the restaurant! deep fried rubbish ! and bacon done on a char grill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by the Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I appreciate that others are raving about this hotel, and there isn't anything wrong with it, but like most Premier Inn's it is very ordinary.
The service at check in was good, and I was given a big old fashioned key to my room.
The room itself was miniscule, there was almost no space between the bed and the walls. To sit at the desk, my chair was right up against the bed. Other than this, the room was clean and tidy.
The shower had good water pressure, which is always a plus.

The attached restaurant was very reasonably priced, and the service was fast, if a little clinical and robotic.

In the morning the member of staff was very helpful at reception, it was raining and he offered to walk me to my car with an umbrella, which I was very impressed with. This member of staff's good service was really the only memorable thing about this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

On visiting our daughters prospective in-laws we chose the Premier Inn East Mayne for our stay. The hotel is located just off the main route to Southend, handy for many of the attractions in the area.
The staff are welcoming and friendly and the hotel itself is well maintained and clean.

The rooms are comfortable and well appointed in line with other hotels of similar standard.

We also enjoyed the Beefeater located next door for a delicious breakfast that gave excellent value for money.

We are due to return to the area this summer and will without doubt stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basildon
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Basildon
Holiday Inn Basildon
#5 of 7 in Basildon
531 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Basildon
Travelodge Basildon
#6 of 7 in Basildon
209 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Chichester Hotel
The Chichester Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wickford
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Margaretting
378 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Basildon Wickford Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Oysterfleet Hotel
The Oysterfleet Hotel
#1 of 2 in Canvey Island
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel

Address: Felmores | East Mayne, Basildon SS13 1BW, England (Formerly Watermill Travel Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Price Range: £45 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alongside a brook and just two minutes from the lake and woodland of Northlands Park, you'll find the Premier Inn Hotel Basildon (East Mayne) a peaceful oasis, whether you're here for work or a well-earned break. In just 20 minutes you could be sandcastle building at the great British seaside at Southend, or living it up at Basildon Sporting Village and Festival Leisure Park. And for links into London, the M25 and stations on the Fenchurch Street line are close by. Then when it's time to recharge the batteries, our tasty restaurant and big, comfy rooms will be ready and waiting. Directions: M25(J29) on to A127 to Southend. Then take A132 to Basildon, heading south to 3rd roundabout, the hotel is on left. Next to the Watermill Beefeater. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: SS13 1BW Hotel Parking: Free on-site parking is available at this hotel. Transport and local information: Basildon Train Station 2 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing