We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

We stayed here valentine's night and one night in March and it was blissful. We just wanted to get out of the house for a night and this seemed like the perfect location. We had dinner at the beefeater both nights which had lovely food and equally good staff. We could hear people infrequently outside the room until about 10pm when it went really quite which was strange as we were located so close to the door. The room was spotless with freeview tv, tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer, all of which we used and were good. We were provided with plenty of towels, pillows that were so soft and a VERY comfy massive bed! I always wake up during the night and I appreciated this habit whilst staying here as I could just snuggle back into the pillow. If you get a bit peckish during the night and the restaurant is closed there is a kebab van over the road with such lovely food which is both a good price and high quality!! I have never woken up at 7am in the morning for breakfast so happy as I had such a good night sleep we both bounced to breakfast which we enjoyed greatly and although embarrassed to ask for so much food they were happy to bring it all to us and were so polite! Overall we have stayed there twice already and are currently planning our next stay which we hope to be a two night stay making the most of the £29 per night offer but even the average £54 is a price we are willing to pay! Another positive is that they sell overnight packs for both men and women, we bought a men's one as my other half wanted hair gel the male pack contained hair gel, a comb, toothbrush, two adorably small but perfect size toothpastes, shaver, shaving gel, a sewing kit and a condom all of which came in a plastic box that cost just £4. Hope you considering staying here and enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 090906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2010
We delighted that your stay with us met your expectations and you continue to experience the high level of service we endeavour to give our guests. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay, your feedback is so important to us in our continued efforts to delivery the best service. We do look forward to welcoming your back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    106
    47
    11
    8
See reviews for
106
102
15
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2009

Being a regular customer of Premier Inn's I am used to a variance in the quality of the hotels/rooms, however this one was the worst I had stayed at and prompted me to make cancellations elsewhere. The location is bad, even for Premier Inn standards, you are used to them being within earshot of main roads but this is too close, and close to a major roundabout on a major road. In addition the adjoining pub had local clients that liked to use the wall on the outside of my room as a urinal - male & female!! The sound insulation and fitting of most Premier Inn windows is not the best but again this was poor and I had a dreadful night's sleep. It was no point in complaining as this would be classified as 'out of their control'.Finally, the room size was much to small for a business user or even a leisure user. A desk and chair are provided but there was no room to fit the chair between the bed and the desk.
Having said all those negative comments, the service provided by the staff at reception and at the neighbouring pub was warm and friendly and I thank them for that. Their friendly attitude was another reason I didn't complain.
My advice is if you are staying in the area, don't dismiss Premier Inn - there is a lovely one a couple of miles away at Basildon South -- just avoid this one.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorsetboy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2009
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise that the our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our Basildon hotel. Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2008

Stayed at the Watermill Premier Inn for 2 weekends in March, and whilst i will admit that the rooms are smaller than others in Basildon, I thought the staff and surroundings more than made up for it.
Hotel room was clean, comfortable and reasonably priced.
Food from the Beefeater was superb and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. I wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting Basildon.

  • Liked — Staff were superb!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tom05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2008

The hotel looks inviting when you arrive; well manicured lawns ramped to provide some soundproofing.

My room was a bit small but more importantly grotty. The hotel receptionist assured me they had overhauled the hotel when the Beefeater had been refurbished but I stayed here a couple of years ago and stayed in the same room which does not look to have been refurbished at all.

The beefeater next door was very good for a clone pub and I enjoyed the meal but I will not stay at this hotel a third time. There are better Premier Travel Inns in Basildon.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank IT_Contractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basildon
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Basildon
Holiday Inn Basildon
#5 of 7 in Basildon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Chichester Hotel
The Chichester Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wickford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Oysterfleet Hotel
The Oysterfleet Hotel
#1 of 2 in Canvey Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel
Address: Felmores | East Mayne, Basildon SS13 1BW, England (Formerly Watermill Travel Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alongside a brook and just two minutes from the lake and woodland of Northlands Park, you'll find the Premier Inn Hotel Basildon (East Mayne) a peaceful oasis, whether you're here for work or a well-earned break. In just 20 minutes you could be sandcastle building at the great British seaside at Southend, or living it up at Basildon Sporting Village and Festival Leisure Park. And for links into London, the M25 and stations on the Fenchurch Street line are close by. Then when it's time to recharge the batteries, our tasty restaurant and big, comfy rooms will be ready and waiting. Directions: M25(J29) on to A127 to Southend. Then take A132 to Basildon, heading south to 3rd roundabout, the hotel is on left. Next to the Watermill Beefeater. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: SS13 1BW Hotel Parking: Free on-site parking is available at this hotel. Transport and local information: Basildon Train Station 2 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing