We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Basildon
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Adequate stay”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for one night. Wasn't as noisy as I expected being on a busy leisure site.
Check in was fairly quick, staff very over enthusiastic.
Rooms were basic but had a comfortable bed, good tv, tea and coffee facilities. Bathroom was tiny toilet was so close to the door it was uncomfortable.
Breakfast was just snacks at £4.50 so we walked over to the Toby carvery and got unlimited breakfast for £3.99.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CLaire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    46
    30
    28
    42
See reviews for
30
72
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

our booking at Travelodge was easy and straight forward. spacious, clean, comfortable room. very friendly staff, always available to assist in your requests. Very convenient positioning to surrounding facilities.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Uk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Hotel perfectly all right - what you would expect of a travelodge. Simple, basic, clean, adquate. Staff over-enthusiastic on dealing with perceived noise levels. Being spoken to like a naughty child by a young woman with a nasty officious prefect attitude rather spoiled things.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Lizh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We had various rooms booked all over the hotel. I was in a room with my girlfriend, we were staying for a night out for my birthday. Was very impressed. Warm, comfy and lovely bed. Felt like not getting up the next morning :(
I would happily stay again and it has made me look out for travelodge hotels whenever I might be staying somewhere.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

It is fine at the travelodge for convenience and facilities but be aware of the noisy fitness centre next door that booms out seriously loud music from around 7am. Request rooms at the front only. No breakfast facilities only snacks, you have to walk out to find breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Have stayed here several times before , is cheap accommodation ,(£37.00 a night ) but was always shabby and very run down , broken tiles , dirty paintwork etc. so was pleasantly surprised to find had had a face lift since my last visit . When there before , had always had a settee (2nd bed ) but this time no settee . Was staying with my son and found only a double bed , so asked to swap for twin bedded room , but told was against company policy , should have booked a family room . Next asked for extra bed linen as said was available in agreement as my son decided to sleep on floor . Also against company policy was the reply , on insistence , was told there was none available as all dirty ? As we were still not convinced , were then offered change of hotel , but when asking where and how would we get there , ( was almost midnight by now ) were told "Don't know where , and transport is up to you " VERY DISSATISFIED WITH STAFF ATTITUDE , and company policy needs some looking into !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Having read previous reviews on this site we were quite nervous of staying as we come from a quiet village and would normally stay at the Basildon Wickford location. However, we were very pleasantly surprised by the quietness, civility of the staff, the cleanliness and comfort of this establishment. With one of our party being disabled and wheelchair bound I would just like to offer the following suggestions although these aspects did not spoil our stay. In all corridors there is a raised strip across the doors which makes it awkward for wheelchairs and indeed possibly for luggage cases with wheels. We think it would be better if these were flush with the floor. Also, the bathroom facilities in the accessible rooms are not suitable for wheelchair bound people. The more obvious solution would be to have wet rooms in all disabled accommodation that way whether you needed to be in a bath chair or had difficulty walking you could still access them. For instance a wet room with handrails and a fold up wall mounted seat would accommodate all types of disabled people and their equipment. As I say, this did not detract from a great stay but it is certainly something that should be considered.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basildon
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Basildon
Holiday Inn Basildon
#5 of 7 in Basildon
504 reviews
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Basildon Wickford Hotel
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Brentwood East Horndon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Oysterfleet Hotel
The Oysterfleet Hotel
#1 of 2 in Canvey Island
180 reviews
9.9 mi away
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
Travelodge Chelmsford Hotel
#10 of 12 in Chelmsford
462 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Chichester Hotel
The Chichester Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wickford
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Basildon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Basildon

Property: Travelodge Basildon
Address: Festival Leisure Park | Festival Way, Basildon SS14 3WB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Basildon 2*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Basildon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Basildon Hotel Basildon
Basildon Travel Lodge
Travelodge Basildon Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing