We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel. Friendly Staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Excellent stay. Helpful staff. Good value. Close to all I needed. Little noise from main road, but nothing intrusive in my view. All-in-all a five star stay.

Early booking saves money. Thirty minutes free Wi-Fi as well. Should be totally free, but it's a start.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely comments which I have passed on to my team members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2012

I frequently use Premier Inns while working away from home and have pleasantly surprised by the high standard of service. However, this Inn must be off the quality assurance list. Stuck on a roundabout in one of Britain's grimmest towns, with a restaurant that resembles a Hogarth painting. Most of the clientèle seemed to have Tourette's Syndrome and anyone over the age of seven looked ready to kill. After plying open the beer stuck pages of the menu, I ordered a medium rare steak, it might have been my accent, but this was served RAW. I pointed this out to the waitress who took it away, only to return with the raw steak removed, not replaced and the chips refried. Sending it back again, the waitress asked 'are you with us tomorrow', on replying 'no', she said 'I bet you're glad'...I was and won't be returning. I complained via the Hotels website, after returning the managers call, I've given up.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vasgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you for your review.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. Thank you also for your comments regarding the adjoining restaurant. This is not a Whitbread run establishment, but we will ensure that your feedback is passed to the company responsible for this establishment.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Stayed here for a family event in the area and was very impressed with the hotel. As with most Premier Inn's you know what you're going to get. The room was very clean, beds huge and bathroom very well appointed. The staff that we met were very efficient and polite and were very helpful with any requests made dealt with promptly.

If you're planning a short stay in the area then I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Premier Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jedinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We did a one night stopover, visiting relatives. Arrived about 12.30pm, and although early the receptionist checked if the room was ready. We saw the chambermaid who welcomed us and asked if there was anything further that we wanted or anything she could do for us. the room was clean with efficient heating and hot and cold water in the bathroom. There was a TV and tea and coffee were supplied in the room. Although on a busy road, the triple glazing made the room quiet. All we could want in a budget hotel. Breakfast was available, but we did not partake.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobBrighton_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon1, Cluster General Manager at Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The basic necessity of life, cold fresh water, is absent from the rooms. There's only a scalding hot water tap. So, you get ready for bed and discover you can't clean your teeth unless you use hot water or.get dressed and go to the lobby and BUY some bottles of water from the vending machine! Staff don't warn you and there are no signs warning you of this. Don't think you can use cold water from the shower as that too doesn't have have cold water. So, again, you can't adjust the heat! The only cold running water is in the toilet pan which just about sums up this hotel....which is where this hotel belongs!
Oh yes, and alsomit took 25 minutes to check me in. AVOID

Room Tip: AVOIDat all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnCharles1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed at the premier inn as our daughter had made arrangements for her Fathers 60th birthday at Westcliffe Casino. The room was rather small but it had a kingside bed and one single bed settee in it both of which were comfortable although the bed was better. It wasn't as clean as Premier Inn's usually are and there was dust around the edge of the carpet, the bathroom was clean and the beds comfy. The breakfast was over priced as we only wanted the cooked breakfast, maybe they should give you that option rather than charging for the whole shebang. The eggs were over cooked and the bacon was like a razor blade lol but it was ok and as I had got a special deal price for the room it wasn't such a bad deal. We like premier inns they are usually very comfortable beds as advertised, which is very important, and as its normally just a one night stay thats all you really need. Not bothered about tv's or wii so they can get rid of those if they like :) Was handy for the venue and the noise of the traffic was minimal although we did have a car park side room which is the better option. Car parking good and the pub next door is really nice. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karl4thewhites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon1, Cluster General Manager at Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you for your comments, which I have passed on to our team. We hope that the Birthday Boy had an amazing 60th Birthday Party, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed at The Premier Inn for one night, just returned.

We had a twin room which compromises of one double and a standard single bed. The room was reasonable, of good appearance but lacks any attension to detail. the batteries in the TV remote were flat, the shower gel dispenser in the shower would have been great (as I forgot to take some) but empty, but the main offender was a fair amount of dried blood spots across the back of the bathroom door and skirting....like something from the Godfather! I highly suspect it has been there a while and probably still is there now. Really not a fan of the breakfast, possibly as I begrudged the extortionate rip off price of £8.25 I think it was. A Wetherspoons breakfast at half the price is twice better in my opinion.

The good points however, friendly receptionist, no problems with us coming back late after our night out and TBH, a twin room on a saturday night for £30 each really cant be sniffed at. I saw something advertised in the room about kids eating breakfast free (I think it was), which is excellent- just a shame that cost is clearly covered by over charging adults for theirs.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woueza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon1, Cluster General Manager at Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that you experienced a few problems during our stay. At Premier Inn, we strive to do our very best for all of our guests, and Ii will pass on your feedback to our housekeeping team members. We hope to welcome you back to our Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basildon
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Basildon
Holiday Inn Basildon
#5 of 7 in Basildon
521 reviews
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Basildon
Travelodge Basildon
#6 of 7 in Basildon
207 reviews
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Basildon Wickford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Chichester Hotel
The Chichester Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wickford
298 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Oysterfleet Hotel
The Oysterfleet Hotel
#1 of 2 in Canvey Island
193 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel

Address: Arterial Road | Arterial Road, Basildon SS6 7SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Price Range: £47 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City sights or seaside charm? Get the best of both with Premier Inn Hotel Basildon Rayleigh, right between buzzing Basildon and Southend-on-Sea. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like the Lawn conference centre, too. Escape the office and stroll along Southend seafront. Get sporty - play a round at Hanover golf club or go for gold at Basildon Sporting Village. Catch a show, a film or a game of laser tag at Rayleigh Megazone. After a busy day, unwind in our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Directions: From the M25 exit at Junction 29 onto the A127 towards Southend. After approximately 13 Miles exit at the Rayleigh Weir junction from the A129 to Rayleigh. Go straight over two sets of traffic lights and take the first left turn. For Tom-Tom Sat Nav appliances please enter post code SS6 7XJ. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: SS6 7XJ Hotel Parking: Free on-site parking is available at this hotel. Transport and local information: Thamesway Bus Service 3 Miles Basildon Train Station 9.1 Miles, Pitsea Train Station 5.6 Miles, Wickford Train Station 5.6 Miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel Basildon
Holiday Inn Basildon
Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing