We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but small room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Not bad but small room”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Usual Premier Inn no frills standard and this place was just fine, nothing to write home about but no problems either.
The only thing that stuck in my mind was when I returned at about 8pm, the car park was nearly full. Apart from a couple of places where people had parked badly and wasted a space, there was only one other place where my small car would fit.
Other than that, pretty standard fayre

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteSturgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances_Dunn, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear PeteSturgess
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay. It was great to hear overall you were happy with the hotel and your experience with us. With reference to your feedback regarding the shared parking area, steps have been taken to indicate Premier Inn guests allocated parking. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused on this occasion. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    113
    23
    12
    9
See reviews for
108
116
33
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chorleywood
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The room was dirty with cobwebs. Bathroom brackets were broken. My daughters bed was a sette with a sheet on it. Dust was apparent in most high places. You cannot cotrol the room temp, so it was set at 24 degrees in summer (nice). Thilthy net curtains, all black at the bottom. inside locks have been taken off of all the doors by the hotel itself. Reall noisy with traffic, lorries vibrating the room as they drove past.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

These hotels are ok, but in my opinion quite expensive but they are clean and the staff are mostly helpful.

This was very convenient for where I was working.

The pub next door does not sell real ale, just keg stuff, not to my liking

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IRW1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances_Dunn, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear IRW1968
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay. It was great to hear you found your room clean and our team helpful. With reference to your feedback regarding the real ale offering, I have passed this information onto the Harvester manager. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Clean comfortable place to stay and staff friendly and helpful. A good choice of breakfast.

The only complaints, the room was too warm even with the window open, and tea and coffee making facilities - it would be helpful if more milk was supplied as coffee takes 2 sachets of milk/tea takes one, so a minium of 6 instead of 4 would be better. Although, having said this, it was no problem getting more from reception.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances_Dunn, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Linda W
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay. It was great to hear you found our rooms both clean and comfortable, and that you enjoyed your breakfast with us. I have passed your kind comments to the team and they are very happy you enjoyed your time with us. With reference to your feedback regarding the temperature within the room, please be assured that this is something that Premier Inn is looking into in great detail. In the mean time, I hope that the additional sheets and fan went some way to making you more comfortable during the night. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Have stayed here several times over the years, back from when it was a Hol In Express. Always clean and tidy both in rooms and communal areas and teh staff are always friendly and welcoming. Breakfast service is occasionally slow but the food - standard Premier Inn breakfast fayre - is good. Downsides - the car park is sometimes busy due to the adjacent Harvester. The only real negative is the wifi which is next to useless. Continual drop outs and slow.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the car park side if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuzzbox100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances_Dunn, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Fuzzbox100
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay. I have passed your kind comments to the team and they are very happy you enjoyed your time with us. With reference to your feedback regarding the wifi connection, I have passed this information to the system provider for further investigation. Thank you for making us aware of this matter. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Room was not a family room at all. The staff had a very good act of disappearing when asked to help, completely vanished like magic. The staff at breakfast were very rude and in total a man tried to take our plates 6 times when we hadn't finished. Bathroom wasnt cleaned, and I had to do it and no tea or coffee provided.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here april 2012 up the road from a family party.
It was quite new when we stayed there but it great nice clean comfy rooms nice pub next door where you get your breakfast really nice so all in all a good stay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ubjumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances_Dunn, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Ubjumbo
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay. It was great to hear you came back to stay with us again and that you found our rooms clean and comfortable. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basildon
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Basildon
Holiday Inn Basildon
#5 of 7 in Basildon
514 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Basildon
Travelodge Basildon
#6 of 7 in Basildon
201 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Basildon Wickford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Chichester Hotel
The Chichester Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wickford
280 reviews
7.5 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Chelmsford
370 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Oysterfleet Hotel
The Oysterfleet Hotel
#1 of 2 in Canvey Island
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel
Address: Arterial Road | Arterial Road, Basildon SS6 7SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City sights or seaside charm? Get the best of both with Premier Inn Hotel Basildon Rayleigh, right between buzzing Basildon and Southend-on-Sea. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like the Lawn conference centre, too. Escape the office and stroll along Southend seafront. Get sporty - play a round at Hanover golf club or go for gold at Basildon Sporting Village. Catch a show, a film or a game of laser tag at Rayleigh Megazone. After a busy day, unwind in our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Directions: From the M25 exit at Junction 29 onto the A127 towards Southend. After approximately 13 Miles exit at the Rayleigh Weir junction from the A129 to Rayleigh. Go straight over two sets of traffic lights and take the first left turn. For Tom-Tom Sat Nav appliances please enter post code SS6 7XJ. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: SS6 7XJ Hotel Parking: Free on-site parking is available at this hotel. Transport and local information: Thamesway Bus Service 3 Miles Basildon Train Station 9.1 Miles, Pitsea Train Station 5.6 Miles, Wickford Train Station 5.6 Miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel Basildon
Holiday Inn Basildon
Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing