We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room nice, yobs put next to a family of four with 2 young kids!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Room nice, yobs put next to a family of four with 2 young kids!”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We were quite happy with our stay up until the twelve o'clock mark, 4 girls smashed their way into the room next to us( we were staying in a family room a few door into the corridor from reception) and from then on until 2.30 am playing what sounded like a boom blaster playing really loud music while slamming the doors in and out several times. They did not pack up until 2.30 luckily my kids were so tired they slept through it but the stress of that kept me and my partner awake till 5am. Then after they packed up, what sounded like an elephant belly flopping either onto the floor or bed this was in the room above and this went on till again the 5am mark over and over again, clearly drunk out their heads. These people should not have been placed near to a family, families should have their own seperate section or corridor so to avoid this yobs late at night/morning. We did not get an ounce of sleep and will not be staying here again, my partner mentioned this to the reception and she took our number, we have not since received a call, considering relatives paid quite a bit to stop us over their that night we feel that they should be compensated as we did not have a peaceful not AT ALL.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not sandwiched between drunk yobs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kat_flapterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Online Customer Services at Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    115
    46
    16
    20
See reviews for
100
111
16
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Premier Inn, Festival Park, Basuildon, is o.k. for a one night, found it quite hard to find, even though we had sat nav, could do with more signs. On arriving at the Premier, it looked very drab from the outside, could do with updating. Staff on reception were excellent, though the receptionists area, could also look as though it could do with an uplift. Surprised that where was no lift, minor to us, but not to people who are disabled. We had requested a twin room, to which when we went in room No4, did not find the room inviting at all, requested a change to a double, which was no trouble to the staff, ended up in room 58 on top floor, this was far better, it seems that the ground floor rooms are used for disabled people, but again the rooms could do with an uplift, I personally found them quite depressing.
The bathroom in room 58, I thought was very, very small, compared to other premiers that we have stayed in. Do feel, that this was not the best premier inn, that we have stayed in, and now they do not supply biscuits with the tea/coffe facilities, another cut back. In fact I will go as far to say, that next time I will look at the Best Westerns and at the Marriott chain, as some one has suggested.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuneatondolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon1, Cluster General Manager at Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all of our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. We have four disabled bedrooms on the ground floor which have two single beds in each room, but also have many family rooms with one double bed and one sofa bed which can also be used for guests who request a twin room. Please be assured your comments have been noted, we really appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
114 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park)
Had a 2 night stay on the 11th & 12th of november. First impressions were very poor. Hotel looks like an after thought on a bit of waste land by the leisure park. The hotel has a large car park which is good, but the physical surroundings of the hotel are an eyesore. Very poor indeed. The hotel looks like a prison from the outside to be honest, and no effort has been put into the visual amenity. Absolutely awful. I have stayed in the premier inn about 20-25 times this year throughout the UK, and this is the worst by a long long way. 

Receptionists were friendly, polite and very efficient. Premier Inn do seem to have a high standard in this department. They were happy to help with taxis etc. 

Room was pleasant enough, though bathroom was small and needed a facelift. There was lots of noise from the nearby road, which did interrupt sleep, but i am a light sleeper, so perhaps hear it more than others might  do. There is no lift in the hotel, which may be an issue if you have mobility problems as the rooms are spread over three floors. Overall it could be better but it serves the purpose, and is close to major transport routes if that's important to you. There is also a pub at the entrance to the car park, which is handy for the nightcap. 

The nearby leisure park has a good range of places to eat, as well as a cinema complex and what appeared at distance to be a bowling alley. And it is very close to Basildon centre, which gives you more options for your entertainment. 

I think Premier Inn need to think about where they are pitching themselves in the market, as I do at times feel sold short by the chain. They pitch themselves as budget hotels, but they're not. At £70 plus for a room in some places, plus extra for breakfast, extra for Wi-Fi, etc you're at £90 - £100 per night. You can get a top end B&B with full English and Wi-Fi thrown in for £60-70, and the owners will go out of their way in the hospitality stakes, or alternatively just book a Marriott for an extra tenner and go first class. It seems they're delivering budget standards but without the accompanying price in a lot of instances. 

After this stay, I do feel cheated and will have to think hard before booking with them again. 

Should have asked for a refund really.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon1, Cluster General Manager at Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
I am sorry that you were disappointed by your stay at Basildon Festival Park Premier Inn. We strive to maintain very high standards in all of our Premier Inns and I am sorry that we did not manage to meet your expectations on this occasion. On a brighter note, I will pass on your compliments to the team - I am glad that you found them to be friendly and helpful. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Arrived at this hotel at about 10.00pm to find we were on the 2nd floor with no lift. We hadn't mentioned a mobility issue because we hadn't really considered this would be a problem. Leona on reception was really lovely and did all she could to sort the problem. She booked us in to the East Mayne PI which had a ground floor room.

We didn't actually stay here but if all the staff are like Leona they would be a credit to Premier Inn.

Wish we had stayed here as didn't really like East Mayne.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campfaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon1, Cluster General Manager at Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you very much for your comments regarding Leona. I am really glad that she was able to help you more to a hotel with ground level access so late in the evening. I have passed on your comments to Leona and she is thrilled to be mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel - please request a ground floor room and we will be happy to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I really enjoyed my stay here, room was clean, the staff were great, and the breakfast was yummy.
My one niggle was how hard it is to find the place! there are no signs and the sat-nav just takes you to the general area, it is tucked away at the back and really they do need to get a sign up, the receptionist said she knows and it is a common complaint from guests! if thats the case do something about it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomascooked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon1, Cluster General Manager at Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our Premier Inn. We have been trying for over 2 years to get permission to put up another directional sign to our hotel as we are tucked away at the bottom of the leisure park. We have so far been unsuccessful but can assure you we are still working on it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morzine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We used to stay in the Camponile in Basildon but it was pretty grotty last time so we splashed out a little extra to stay in the Premier Inn and were glad of our decision. Overall it was very good, especially worthy of mention the very spacious bedroom & bathroom, comfy bed, cleanliness and above all the customer service which really was first-class, very smiley & helpful staff.

Just a couple of gripes cost it the extra star

The Wi-fi charges are a complete rip-off and unacceptable in this day & age. We run our own business and need daily access to e-mails but it cost £5/hour for Internet access. Reception said it was £2/hour if you paid by credit card by we have a bank statement to prove otherwise, and the staff at the Breakfast place next door (where supposedly wi-fi is free) had no idea of the access codes !!

The bedroom was VERY warm, even in early October with no heating on, and with the very toasty duvet did make for an uncomfortably hot night.

Don't let these -ve's detract you though, we would choose to stay there again.

Room Tip: The car park was quite noisy in the middle of the night, ask for a bedroom overlooking the lake at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morzine365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon1, General Manager at Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you for your kind comments - we take great pride in delivering our Guest Promise to every guest. I have some great news for you ... from 1st January we will be providing Wi-Fi FREE OF CHARGE for the first 30 minutes in every Premier Inn, and thereafter there will be a charge of £3 for 24 hours. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I stayed here on a Saturday night and for some reason the manager of the Pub connected to the hotel thought it was a good idea to have a DJ in a marque till 1am!

The hotel was good though and we received a full refund in the morning. Staff we very helpful, room was a typical Premier Inn room, very clean, comfy and spacious.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon1, General Manager at Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were disturbed during your visit with us - I am glad to see that our team lived up to their promise and refunded your money. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests' experiences with us and your feedback was very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basildon
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Basildon
Holiday Inn Basildon
#5 of 7 in Basildon
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Basildon
Travelodge Basildon
#6 of 7 in Basildon
193 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Bell Inn Hotel
The Bell Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Horndon-on-the-Hill
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Basildon Wickford Hotel
8.0 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel
Address: Festival Leisure Park | Festival Leisure Park, Basildon SS14 3WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the good times roll with a stopover at our Basildon hotel, featuring our new generation bedrooms with an impressive 40" flat screen TV, freshly-updated bathroom with a large shower head, and brand new, slumber-inducing, king-size Hypnos bed. You'll be smack bang in the middle of an oasis of entertainment, yet right on hand for all the business and leisure highlights of Essex and the east of London, too. You could be hunting down the big brand bargains one minute and riding the big waves on the wakeboarding course the next. Or watch the A-listers on the big-screen at Empire Cinema, then star in your own VIP night out. And when you're ready to drop, our traditional restaurant and super comfy new rooms will be waiting for you. Situated 9 miles from the M25(J29). Follow the A127 towards Basildon. Then take A176, the hotel is just off the A1235. Next to the David Lloyd Leisure Club behind Fitness First. Next to the Quays. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: SS14 3WB Hotel Parking: Limited free parking is available at this hotel. Transport and local information: Basildon Train Station 2 miles ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel Basildon
Premier Inn Basildon (Festival Park) Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing