We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little find - thanks to TripAdvisor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Horse

White Horse
Ranked #1 of 191 Restaurants in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A beautiful cotswold stone public house with restaurant in the heart of Kings Sutton village. Overlooking the green and Parish Church. We offer a relaxed and warm environment where you can pop in for a pint, have a snack at the bar or come for a meal in the restaurant. We would love you to come and visit. After a major refurbishment we re-opened the White Horse with brand new team, menu & atmosphere. Dogs, Children and Walkers all welcome!See you soon, Julie & Hendrik Our pub's opening hours are listed however our food service times vary. During the week we offer lunch from 12pm - 14.30pm Dinner is served from 18.00pm - 21.00pm Saturday - Kitchen open from 12pm all day until 21.00pm Sunday- Sunday Lunch is served 12pm - 4pm
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely little find - thanks to TripAdvisor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We found this place thanks to a search on TripAdvisor; we were stuck in traffic on the M40 and decided to take the nearest exit off to find somewhere to eat. The #1 (for the area) TripAdvisor listing for this place led us here; we were not disappointed. It's in a lovely setting, the people were friendly and the menu looked great. We opted for sandwiches on the home-made bread, with a side of chips. Sounds simple, but it's amazing how many places can get it wrong. The White Horse isn't one of those; the meal was delicious and made us wonder how good the main meals might be, but we weren't really that hungry else we would have gone for the main menu. Very reasonably priced for the high quality of food you get. Service was super, really friendly and welcoming which isn't always the case with little village pubs off the beaten track. Just loved this place and would go back again if we were in or around this area again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ska03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie g, Manager at White Horse, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review and it's great to know that you found us through trip advisor! I'm pleased you found The White Horse welcoming too as I know what you mean about some village pubs that are off the beaten track...

Hopefully you will be passing by some time in the near future and you can make a detour again!

Look forward to having you back!

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    73
    14
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

The pub is lovely next to the village green. The staff were all very welcoming and attentive. The food was really good. We were a party of four, two visiting from St. Albans, where there are many good restaurants to visit, so I was worried that the White Horse would not come up to scratch, but we all agreed it was the best meal we had eaten for a long time. The bubble and squeak with duck egg was to die for, as was the crispy pigs head. Plenty of varied menu choices, it was hard to choose. Reasonable prices for food and wine. Will certainly go back again, and have already recommended it to friends.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Babsban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie g, Manager at White Horse, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi there, thanks for your review "A little Gem"

Your comments are very pleasing as you mention all the things we want our lovely pub to be with great atmosphere, great staff and great food.

Coming from around your end of the country before we moved here I know there are a lot of nice places to go so I'm pleased we impressed!

If you are ever in the area again please stop by to say hello!

Thank you once again,

Julie & Hendrik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We have eaten several times at The White Horse and have never been disopointed. The food is always of a high standard and the staff always make you feel so welcome. Will definitely be going back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna10012003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie g, Manager at White Horse, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi Donna

So glad you have enjoyed yourself on all your visits. It's great that the staff have impressed as well as the food :)

I don't think you have visited on our jazz night yet? The next one is this Wednesday 21st May or failing that it's every third Weds of the month! I'm sure you'd love it!

Hope to see you soon,

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best pub food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Definitely one of the best meals I have had in a pub! The pub is beautiful, and the staff are very welcoming and attentive. The food was absolutely lovely, in a party of six not only did we not have any complaints, but an agreement that it was our best meal out in this area for a very long time! The vegetarian selection was really special, the unusual menu options feel like they really have tried to make an effort to offer something different instead of the standard vegetarian meals you get in most pubs. Highly recommend and will visit again as soon as I have the opportunity!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie g, Manager at White Horse, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
"Best pub food" What a great title. Hendrik is very pleased with that one!
We're both really pleased you enjoyed the visit and loved the food.
Thank you for your comments also on the vegetarian options as we do try to offer something different that you can't get every where else.
Thanks once again and be sure to visit again soon!
Julie & Hendrik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Setagaya, Japan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

My in laws have just moved to Kings Sutton so this is their local pub.

Food is excellent, ambience is great.

Loved the Crispy Pigs Head and the bubble and squeak with Fried Egg.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HK_Phoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie g, Manager at White Horse, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hello thank you for your review. It's great to see that we are offering a great product at reasonable prices as this was always our intention.
Be sure to come back in on your next visit to the in laws; or before you return home!
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Horse also viewed

 

Been to White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing