We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and company” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Uplands House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Uplands House
Ranked #2 of 39 Banbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great food and company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile



Poppy welcomed us to Uplands House with tea, homemade cake and lots of suggestions for making the most of our visit to the area.

We chose to eat in - highly recommended- and effectively became guests at Poppy and Graham's dinner party. Aperitifs and dips were served in front of a roaring fire where we met the other guests and then dinner was served at the large table in the dining room. We had a delicious meal (Poppy is happy to share the recipes) and enjoyed excellent company.

Our bed was extremely comfortable with beautiful linen and dressing gowns were soft and fluffy. Tea, coffee, sherry, homemade biscuits and plenty of books and magazines were all supplied in the room. Breakfast was very good with fresh local ingredients and home made bread and jams. Altogether a very comfortable and relaxing weekend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    17
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
80
255
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We spent a wonderful weekend at Uplands House. Poppy and Graham made us feel very at home and we enjoyed our supper so much on arrival on Friday evening, that we simply had to book-in again for another great meal on the Saturday night. Hospitality and conversation over these and at breakfast were very special and the home-cooked food absolutely delicious.
The Chinese Room was fabulous and provided a wonderful view over the beautiful garden.
We hope to be back again soon.
John and Franz

Room Tip: The Chinese Room is really unusual and provides a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Facinating house; delightful quiet location; Lovely rooms and views; beautiful garden to relax or pre-dinner stroll. The dinner Poppy prepared was scrumptious and really good value for money - with super company. Breakfast top notch - full English cooked to perfection with Poppy's home made jams and bread and lashings of coffee or tea.
Situation is unbeatable - Upton House a short walk away - do take the early taster tour. Explore nearby villages - Poppy will advise - or Banbury just up the road.so many place to explore nearby.

Gill and Chris Williams

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scragga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

A wonderful example of English hospitality in a beautiful setting, surrounded by breathtaking countryside and delightful unspoilt villages. Do book an evening meal prepared by Poppy, you will not be disappointed. We would love to return when the garden is in full bloom.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitges
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Poppy greeted us on arrival with such a welcome and after being shown to our room we were asked if we would like to join her in the garden for tea and homemade lemon drissle cake. It was a beautiful late afternoon in July and we chatted with her and fellow guests in the garden before then taking a tour of the delightful gardens.
We decided to dine at Uplands and enjoyed a very well cooked 3 course meal with the added pleasure of a large cheeseboard and good selection of wines, all throughout Poppy regaled us of her own varied life and also the history of the house and area, a lovely evening. The next day we enjoyed an equally as good breakfast and unfortunately had to leave.

We will however be returning this summer as we enjoyed our stay so much. Thank you Poppy and Graham.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryWhite40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

The wonderful warm reception from Poppy made us feel so welcome and at home! The tour of the garden, pre-dinner drinks (and being allowed to tend the log fire!) and lovely meal were the icing on the cake! Fabulous! John and Celia

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

A wonderful weekend with some old girlfriends. At Uplands House, you will feel you have been invited to a country weekend away rather than staying at a B&B. Poppy is a wonderful cook; an accomplished hostess; in all, a complete delight. Be brave; join the rest of her guests for supper and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banbury
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
6.0 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hanwell House
Hanwell House
#1 of 39 in Banbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ashlea Guest House
Ashlea Guest House
#3 of 39 in Banbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uplands House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uplands House

Property: Uplands House
Address: Upton, Banbury OX15 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Uplands House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an enthusiastic welcome, beautifully furnished comfortable rooms, tasty organic produce from our garden, great cooking, lovely wines, log fires, delightful views over the park, and every comfort in relaxing and peaceful surroundings.Visit Stratford-on Avon, Warwick Castle, Blenheim Palace, and other delights of the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uplands House Hotel Banbury
Uplands House Banbury, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing