We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Uplands House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Uplands House
Ranked #2 of 37 Banbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have just had a delightful stay at Uplands House.
From our tea and lemon cake over looking the lovely garden when we arrived to the delicious dinner ( Poppy gave me the recipe) to our very comfortable room and bed and finally breakfast we thoroughly enjoyed it all.
Poppy is a most generous host and we will certainly be staying again.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness centre which suited us fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 244helenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    19
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
83
263
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
chichester
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed with Poppy at Uplands House recently and would whole-heartedly recommend it. Poppy made myself and my family (including our 7 month old baby) feel immediately welcome, relaxed and at home, like visiting old friends rather than a place we'd never been before. We had a lovely drink in the pretty garden on arrival and a wonderful dinner prepared by Poppy using fresh ingredients from the garden. Our room was spacious with lovely views. Breakfast in the morning was equally as good including homemade bread and jams, lovely fresh berries and yoghurt and a scrummy cooked breakfast. Poppy went over and above to make sure we were comfortable and all our needs were met. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and so did our baby son, who slept through the night on his first night away from home so it must've been good!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennychichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here on Saturday night, in the Chinese room. The bed was massive and very comfortable, so peaceful at night and lovely to wake up and look out the window to the cows in the field. Poppy was very friendly and we had afternoon tea in the beautiful garden, with lovely homemade lemon cake straight from the oven!! This was our second visit and we hope to go again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woody4london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A chance booking made over the internet from Australia, but what a find! A lovely large house situated in unspoilt countryside, complete with a colourful and well tended garden where afternoon tea could be taken. On arrival, we were told that the bedroom we had chosen was unavailable (it was the smallest and cheapest) and were thus given an upgrade to the largest and more expensive room at no extra cost.
Fully furnished with all necessities, a very comfortable four poster bed and an adjacent huge bathroom with shower and separate bath and, views of the garden and surrounding countryside from both rooms.
To top all this off, our hostess, Poppy, was wonderfully warm and delightful, making sure that her guests wanted for nothing; add to that the fact that she was also a splendid cook who presented her offerings in attractive fashion in a most pleasant dining room. Wine could be bought if required and after dinner drinks could be taken in the drawing room to accompany the comprehensive cheese board if that was your fancy. A gold medal stay and we could not have chosen better!

Susan& Bernard Adcock

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I spent two memorable days at the beautiful home of Lady Poppy Cooksey in May of this year. We were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary and as we had spent that first year of our marriage in Oxford where my husband had a fellowship for postdoctoral research we chose to come back to the area that inspired so many wonderful memories. We ultimately chose five places to stay during our two week stay near Oxford and the Cotswolds and while each was quite nice and each was different from the last, at the end of our trip our stay with Poppy was the one that left the most lasting impression.
Poppy has led a most interesting life and in turn is interested in learning something of her guests background and interests . She is an excellent cook and offers a wonderful four
course dinner on the first night of your stay which is also a great way to get to know your fellow guests. Breakfasts were the best we had anywhere. At the time of our visit there was also a lively, diverse and interesting group of gardeners from Texas as guests and we were joined on our last day by a delightful man from New Zealand who had come to join Poppy's husband Graham on a hang gliding trip to Morocco who regaled us with entertaining stories of his escapades while hang gliding. He hopes to hang glide in Antarctica in the future! In fact when we were touring the gardens at Upton House which is nearby we saw two hang gliders circling above us who we speculated were Graham and his friend testing the gliders before transporting them to Morocco.
Uplands House is near many beautiful gardens, historic homes and art collections such as at Upton House, also nearby are Stratford on Avon and the Shakespeare theatre, the beautiful old colleges of Oxford , Tudor estates, castles and the many picturesque villages of the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TOWIE
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Uplands House is a delightful house run by the owner Poppy. Poppy makes you feel at home as soon as you arrive. The beds were so comfortable, the bed linen so fresh, lovely pillows, lots of little home comforts and an amazing view.
off the beaten track but worth it for the tranquillity.
Poppy has the most beautiful garden and makes you welcome and comfortable to explore it.
The breakfast is 10 out of 10 and made fresh to order. Organic honey, home made jams. Its a real treat to stay here at affordable prices. well worth a visit. Thank you Poppy for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TowieTips4Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband, baby and I stayed in beautiful uplands house for three days whilst we explored bath. We had a beautiful room with a magnificent enquire bathroom. The garden is magnificent. The host Poppy was very accommodating to our needs. We enjoyed her wonderful company and hearing all about her remarkable life over our four course dinner! It was a wonderful base to explore the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessrbarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banbury
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
6.0 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
6.2 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#9 of 10 in Banbury
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
512 reviews
6.7 mi away
Days Inn Warwick North M40
7.1 mi away
The Old Manor House
The Old Manor House
#1 of 2 in Halford
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uplands House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uplands House

Property: Uplands House
Address: Upton, Banbury OX15 6HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Uplands House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an enthusiastic welcome, beautifully furnished comfortable rooms, tasty organic produce from our garden, great cooking, lovely wines, log fires, delightful views over the park, and every comfort in relaxing and peaceful surroundings.Visit Stratford-on Avon, Warwick Castle, Blenheim Palace, and other delights of the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uplands House Hotel Banbury
Uplands House Banbury, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing