We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
NottinghamWombat2
Nottingham

Felt at home in splendour - food is wonderful

Review of Uplands House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Feb 2019
A wonderful welcome from the host Poppy (LadyCooksey) for us both and our small dog. Cake straight from the oven and cracking cups of tea soon after arrival in the drawing room. We were made to feel very much at home in a lovely period house with an open fire and clean comfortable bedrooms. Poppy was so willing to please. An accomplished, amenable sports person the displays of medals were humbling. The dinner served was top notch, all home cooked with much of the ingredients sourced locally or from the house garden served in the dining room with candles and flowers on the table. The wine too was top notch and excellent value; as was the local beer (Hook Norton). Poppy was a most informative, formidable and interesting person with incredible energy to utilise for her guests. The breakfasts (you choose!) were equally good. Given it is winter Poppy was kind enough to provide electric blankets (without us asking) for when the heating is off overnight. The stairlift is great for the less able to make their stay enjoyable.

Quirky house yes perhaps - full of period items - but comfortable,relaxed and well managed.

We felt very much at home as if we were part of her family.
Date of stay: February 2019
Room Tip: All appear very good - just ask Poppy
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£140
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £126
  • Agoda.com
    £118
  • Priceline
5.9 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
£102
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £102
  • Hotels.com
    £102
  • Priceline
6.3 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
£68
  • Expedia.com
    £68
  • Hotels.com
    £68
  • Tripadvisor
    £68
5.9 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
£98
  • Expedia.com
    £88
  • Hotels.com
    £84
  • Priceline
6.0 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
room 10
£99
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    £83
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
6.2 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
£130
  • Expedia.com
    £130
  • Hotels.com
    £130
  • Agoda.com
    £130
9.0 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
£178
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    £178
  • Vio.com
9.1 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front view hotel
£50
Fully refundable
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    £48
  • Vio.com
6.3 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
£299
  • Expedia.com
    £284
  • Agoda.com
    £232
  • Hotels.com
    £269
3.7 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Duke at Clifton
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    £65
  • eDreams
11.4 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Banbury
Reviews (593)
Filter reviews
593 results
Traveller rating
558
26
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
558
26
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose garden drawing room other guests tulip room four poster english countryside tea and homemade cake dinner party pavlova home made cakes wonderful hosts preserves delicious home a wonderful stay course meal old friends lovely house
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 593 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2019

This was our 4th or 5th stay in the beautiful Chinese bedroom and our first Winter visit. We were welcomed with afternoon tea, taken beside a roaring log fire. Although the weather was cold and frosty, the house was always warm and welcoming. Poppy was her usual affable and cheery self and her 'Winter' dinners were eagerly anticipated and truly delicious.
The house is ideally situated for exploring the delightful local countryside and magnificent NT properties.

Room tip: All rooms have beautiful views over the countryside and due to the location of the house, all are quiet.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johncJ8178UP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2018

What a great say we had. Poppy is a wonderful hostess and a true inspiration, a real powerhouse and a pleasure to be around. Thank you for a wonderful stay... nothing was too much trouble, your cooking was first class, your stories so engaging, your house so welcoming. We will return one day for sure. Thank you.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2018

Loved the stay at Uplands and the company was great. The venue is just superb and I must say that Poppy is a great cook. After a long day out in the Cotswolds, it is really refreshing to get back to an environment that is both friendly and feels like home. I can definitely recommend Uplands House

Room tip: This is a great place to stay
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2018

We were able to experience the tranquil and inviting charm of the Uplands House near Banbury. Its inviting gardens fills one with a sense of peace and joy. The best part of our stay was being able to meet the very talented Poppy. A remarkable Lady who enjoys life to the fullest.
I have come to realize that there are only very few treasures in this world that will have any value. One of which is the memories we create for ourselves. Memories that have the ability to uplift our spirit, bring us joy and when reflected upon, give us a sense of wellbeing and peace.
Our stay at The Uplands House near Banbury has granted us those special memories. The warm greeting and the attention we were provided along with the wonderful conversations, spacious accommodations, delicious breakfast, dinners, deserts and exquisite wine, made this a total win all the way around.
We will definitely tell our friends about Poppy and The Uplands House Banbury and hope to return soon.
Giorgio & Susan

Room tip: The Four Poster Room was Great!
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MasterArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Just spent an excellent week-end at Uplands House with great hosts, Graham and Poppy who treated us like lords of the manor.

The food was excellent and cocktails in the living room before dinner and coffee afterwards made the evenings all the pleasanter. Breakfast was in keeping with the best English tradition and Poppy's home-made jam and marmalade would be an outstanding success if commercialised. Note: try the Rhubarb and ginger jam, a unique flavour and lovely!

There's much to do in the vicinity and I especially enjoyed Upton House, a nearby Stately Home built in 1695 for Sir Rushout Cullen. It was remodelled in 1927-9 for Walter Samuel, the 2nd Viscount Bearsted, the Jewish philanthropist, whose family founded the Shell Oil Company.

A repeat visit is planned.

Room tip: stair lift provides wheel-chair access
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julius N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews