We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jenny B

Country house

Review of Uplands House
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 May 2019via mobile
Uplands House is in a lovely spot and looks lovely from the outside, with its gorgeous garden. The house is crammed with lovely bits and bobs and sporting memorabilia, the hosts were great fencers when young. Poppy and Graham share all the entertaining and cooking. The food was good family fare. Our room had lovely views and the bathroom was huge, it could however have done with a power shower.
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£96
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £96
  • Hotels.com
    £96
  • Agoda.com
    £96
6.3 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£77
  • Expedia.com
    £81
  • Agoda.com
    £63
  • Hotels.com
    £81
3.7 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£105
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £105
  • Agoda.com
    £88
  • Priceline
    £105
5.9 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£81
  • Expedia.com
    £81
  • Hotels.com
    £81
  • Agoda.com
    £81
9.0 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£117
  • Expedia.com
    £80
  • Agoda.com
    £68
  • Hotels.com
    £80
10.6 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£67
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £67
  • Vio.com
    £58
  • Hotels.com
    £62
6.0 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
room 10
Booking.com
£85
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £81
  • Agoda.com
    £71
  • Lol.travel
6.2 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£72
  • Expedia.com
    £72
  • Hotels.com
    £72
  • Agoda.com
    £72
5.9 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
PremierInn.com
£41
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
6.5 miles from Uplands House
Free parking
Restaurant
Expedia.com
£80
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £70
  • Agoda.com
    £67
  • Priceline
11.4 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Banbury
Reviews (589)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveller rating
555
26
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
555
26
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose garden drawing room other guests tulip room four poster english countryside tea and homemade cake dinner party pavlova home made cakes wonderful hosts preserves delicious home a wonderful stay course meal old friends lovely house
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 590 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2019 via mobile

Excellent friendly service, quiet well appointed room, house and location. Breakfast fresh cooked to order. Well furnished interesting house is part of an old manor. Bath good showering facility limited. Excellent dinners can also be provided.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank ReigateFrodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 May 2019 via mobile

After only calling Uplands House just before leaving with our plane to organize our first night, we were welcomed by Poppy and we felt ourselves immediately at home. We enjoyed her breakfast, especially the yogurt with fresh fruits and the freshly squeezed orange juice. Poppy gave us ideas of all the lovey sites to visit, so we stayed 4 nights including a wonderful dinner.
We highly recommend a stay at Poppy and Graham’s lovely home with their lovely garden.

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank Grauert
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2019 via mobile

We spent three nights at Uplands House and we had an enjoyable time. The house is full of antiques and objects D’art. Our bedroom was the smallest, Tulip Room, but the bed was very comfortable, everywhere was clean and everything was thought through to the last detail. There was nothing that Poppy would not do to make sure you have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We enjoyed her company and that of the other guests and had a delicious meal one evening all together. If a comfortable home from home is where you would like to stay whilst touring the beautiful Cotswolds, you would do well to visit Uplands House.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lesalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2019

This was our second visit to Uplands House and we were not disappointed! Poppy and Graham are wonderful hosts. The food is fabulous, the gardens (just beginning to bloom) are phenomenal, the rooms are spectacular and the company is friendly, sincere and so welcoming to all their guests. Poppy welcomed us with tea and cakes and helped us plan our visit to the Cotswolds so as not to miss the highlights. We highly recommend that visitors plan for at least 1 four course dinner with Poppy and Graham. They are fabulous hosts and truly enjoy sharing stories and spending time with their guests. It's like visiting with a long lost relative that you will be friends with forever. Poppy is an excellent cook and will tailor your meals to all your favorite dishes. This visit we traveled with our 7 year old son and our 25 year old son. We were provided wonderful rooms on the second floor, each with our own bathrooms. It was a perfect set up for our family. We can't wait to go back!

Date of stay: March 2019
1  Thank lf921
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2019

Sets a very high bar, even by Wolsey Lodges generally excellent standards.

It's a beautiful house very tastefully furnished with period pieces. Poppy's supper and breakfast were delicious.

Our room was delightful with a stunning view over the parkland.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John_Glasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews