We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Liz S
Chesterfield, United Kingdom

Wonderful break

Review of Uplands House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Oct 2019
Absolutely loved our two nights here. Poppy and Graham make you feel completely at home. The Chinese room was very comfortable and had an amazing view. Breakfast was delicious as was dinner and we loved having pre dinner drinks in the sitting room in front of the fire. There is also loads of stuff to do in the area. We had a beautiful walk round Wroxton recommended by Poppy and spent a day at Upton house. Would love to come back again.
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£102
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
6.3 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Welcome to Banbury Cross B&B
Tripadvisor
£102
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.9 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
PremierInn.com
£41
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Trip.com
6.5 miles from Uplands House
Free parking
Restaurant
The Duke at Clifton
Tripadvisor
£75
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £75
11.4 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
PremierInn.com
£41
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
6.5 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £80
  • Hotels.com
3.7 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £105
  • Algotels
5.9 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £63
  • Hotels.com
6.0 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £95
  • Booking.com
9.0 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £89
  • Hotels.com
10.6 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Banbury
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveller rating
555
26
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
555
26
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose garden drawing room other guests tulip room four poster english countryside tea and homemade cake dinner party pavlova home made cakes wonderful hosts preserves delicious home a wonderful stay course meal old friends lovely house
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 590 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2019

My wife and I and my daughter and her family stayed with Poppy for 3 nights as part of our trip to England. This was the first trip for many years of my daughter who while born in England went to the States at a very young age in 1982. I wanted her first stop in England to be special, and it was. The house and gardens are beautiful as many people have suggested, but the special difference is Poppy herself, who amused with her stories, as well as provided everything needed to make us feel at home. Breakfast and dinner were supurb too!

Room tip: The furniture and paintings in this home are super so take note
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kenneth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 August 2019

We stayed (two couples) for the Silverstone weekend in 2019 - great location for that if you're doing the M40 Park and Ride - only about 25 mins away. The house is lovely - old fashioned, which adds to the charm, but not short on comforts. Poppy caters breakfast (even early ones :)), and really lovely dinners on request, which are taken with the host (who is a great host), and other guests. Only suggestion would be for Poppy to get some more help on making up rooms etc especially during busy periods. We hope to stay again.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nickallen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 July 2019

Poppy was an excellent host. I was greeted with freshly baked cake and tea and felt like a treasured guest. I only stayed for one night and unfortunately didn't have dinner. The room was very comfortable and I enjoyed an excellent breakfast of freshly squeezed orange juice, yogurt and fresh berries, toast and a full English breakfast. And excellent coffee.

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank pattycatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2019

We enjoyed perfect comfort in our elegant private suite, with views of the beautiful garden and surrounding countryside (peaceful cows just beyond the shaded gazebo.) Poppy and Graham were charming and delightful as they shared fascinating stories and anecdotes as three-time Olympic champions--such a treat! The house was a perfect blending of historic and modern design, but the real joy of the visit was meeting such dear people.

Room tip: This is NOT a hotel.
Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 July 2019 via mobile

Wonderful stay in a haven of peace and tranquility in the countryside. Very graceful hospitality from Poppy & Graham, in their beautiful home, which was full of charm and stories. The garden was delightful with an abundance of roses, flowers and wildlife. We saw a woodpecker, rabbits, cows and sheep from our bedroom window and a delightful field of very apt Poppies alongside the driveway.
The family room was excellent with a very comfy bed and linens.
Breakfast was delicious with a large variety of home made jams.
Altogether a first class stay.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Hartyparty6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews