We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Thunderbird13
Brighton, Sussex

A friendly and comfortable stay in the Cotswolds. Ideal location for sightseeing.

Review of Uplands House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Apr 2024
We had a most enjoyable stay at Uplands House with Poppy and Graham. A warm welcome with tea and cake and a walk around the garden. Poppy is a wonderful host and is ready to deal with any request. Poppy's home cooking is delicious and our evening dinner parties were a great way to end the day. The bedrooms were well equipped and the beds very comfortable.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£96
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
6.3 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£81
  • Expedia.com
    £81
  • Hotels.com
    £81
  • Tripadvisor
    £81
9.0 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£117
  • Expedia.com
    £80
  • Agoda.com
    £68
  • Hotels.com
    £80
10.6 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
PremierInn.com
£41
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
6.5 miles from Uplands House
Free parking
Restaurant
PremierInn.com
£41
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
6.5 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £85
  • Hotels.com
5.8 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £80
  • Hotels.com
3.7 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £105
  • Algotels
5.9 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £64
  • Hotels.com
6.0 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £77
  • eDreams
11.4 miles from Uplands House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Banbury
Reviews (589)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveller rating
555
26
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
555
26
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose garden drawing room other guests tulip room four poster english countryside tea and homemade cake dinner party pavlova home made cakes wonderful hosts preserves delicious home a wonderful stay course meal old friends lovely house
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 590 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2024

What a treat! We stay in Wolsey Lodges whenever we can find one in the area we wish to explore. In this instance, Poppy's Pad was located close enough to Cheltenham (for our Gold Cup extravaganza), but far enough away for our two-night stay to be a sensible price - not the rip-off rates charged by closer establishments for the duration of the Festival. Although, having now met the delightful Poppy (and her husband Graham of course!) we're certain that she's not the sort of person to be so crass as to raise her rates just to cash in on the overcharging nightmare that is Cheltenham Races.
We had a typical Wolsey Lodge sort of experience of course - but very strongly Poppy-flavoured! Certainly our most interesting and intriguing Lodge visit to date. The house and its decor have an old-world charm about them; an eclectic collection of furniture and materials, and a fine selection of artwork. The house has a great 'lived-in' feel to it, which envelops you as you enter.
But it's the residents who make the place, of course - and what an amazing pair they are! They don't brag about their backgrounds, but some judicious conversation will quietly reveal that this household has TWO multiple Olympic Gold Medal fencing champions!! Quite extraordinary. If you wish to know more, you'll have to book a room!
Whilst discussing the considerable artwork on display, it also turns out that Poppy is not only a fencing expert, but also an accomplished artist and picture restorer. As I said; an interesting and intriguing visit!
And to cap it all, the lady is no slouch in the kitchen. The evening meal we enjoyed with her was delicious - and the morning's full English was second to none!
You cannot fail to enjoy your stay at Uplands House. Forgo a visit, and you miss out on a memorable experience; the property, the possessions, and especially the people.
Thank you Poppy and Graham; you're a class act!

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2024

Stayed here for one night as we were attending a wedding in the nearby village. Poppy was very flexible in allowing us to check in early to be able to get ready for the wedding. We stayed in the Chinese room which was tastefully decorated and had lovely views of the garden and neighboring fields. The beds were extremely comfortable and a good night's sleep was had after a long day. Poppy had taken our breakfast order the day before and in the morning we were greeted with freshly squeezed orange juice, yoghurt and fruit before a generously portioned full English (make sure you try one of the many jams on offer made by Poppy herself - I can personally recommend the crabapple). Poppy was a wonderful host and was kind enough to give us a lift to pick up our car when we checked out. Would thoroughly recommend anyone to stay here.

Room tip: The nearest taxi company has to come quite far to pick you up so be aware the fares could be quite high even for a short journey
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jim I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2024

I had a really lovely stay with Poppy at Uplands House. She is such a warm and friendly hostess, very interesting, with a gorgeous home.
Uplands House is a short drive away from Banbury, really easy to get into town.
I would recommend a stay here, and definitely try some of her lovely homemade jam!

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2024

A wonderful two night stay (we were attending a family party nearby) and Poppy, Lady Cooksey, looked after us so well.
A beautiful and interesting home which was generously shared with us.
We had a delicious breakfast which we could choose the night before - including freshly squeezed orange juice, fantastic local sausages, home-made jams and good coffee. We had one supper which was perfectly chosen and delicious. Poppy is a very welcoming and interesting host and very good company. Honestly, we can't fault Uplands House or its owner and don't want to!. We hope to return. Thank you Poppy.

Room tip: Spend some extra time in the area ; there are lots of interesting places to visit that we did not have time to do.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sallymK4852VI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 November 2023

Uplands House is the soul of hospitality - with a warm welcome, good food and drink and engaging conversation.
The house itself is a fascinating blend of old world charm and eccentric quirkiness - affording wakeful in interest and untroubled sleep.
Altogether a first class destination.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Davmci1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews