We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant”
Review of Ashlea Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashlea Guest House
Ranked #3 of 37 Banbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“very pleasant”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

lovely place...clean spacious airy cosy room. The staff were very nice and accomodating to our needs. breakfast was good and space for car parking was a bonus! for the price, we would definately recommend this place :-)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinachop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie R, Owner at Ashlea Guest House, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Hello

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback which is much appreciated. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you to Ashlea again in the future.

Best regards
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    61
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
81
29
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Lots of car parking, close to town, good breakfast, friendly staff (owners?). However it was a small room (not much space to walk around the bed or to leave your suitcase open) and only one large and one small towel were provided for both of us which we didn't feel was sufficient for 2 adults who both wanted a shower in the morning. Hot water seemed in short supply. Room only for a couple was only £2 less than the bed and breakfast option - so having breakfast was pretty much a 'no brainer'.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thelittlecarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie R, Owner at Ashlea Guest House, responded to this review, 3 November 2012
Hello Sue,
Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast and found us friendly. I'm sorry that your room had been laid out with only one set of towels, which of course was not enough for two adults. It's a shame you didn't bring this to our attention at the time to enable us to provide you with another set. With regard to the hot water being in short supply, the showers are electric and have to be turned on before using them. Thanks once again for your feedback.

Best regards
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2012

a massive improvement on when i last stopped 3 years ago, updated tastefully but basic, room very noisy seemed to have a lot of idiots stopping making a lot of noise in the early hours, and no breakfasts being served at weekends no reason given, overall ok if your not picky avoid if you are

Room Tip: avoid room 7 or 8 as by the drive on the ground floor and very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie R, Owner at Ashlea Guest House, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Hello
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. As new owners we were pleased to read that you found there had been a big improvement since your last visit. It was unfortunate that you were disturbed by other noisy customers. We do ask all our customers to respect others and to keep the noise down, particularly after 10pm. With regard to breakfast not being served - there was a note on our website and you were advised again on checking in that maintenance was taking place. We're sorry you didn't get to try one of our breakfasts, for which we receive good feedback. Of course, we do serve breakfasts at weekends, and normal service has been resumed in this regard. We hope to be able to welcome you to Ashlea Guest House again in the future. Best regards, Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2012

i stayed here with my mother and my little girl for 2 night. we had a family room en-suit. the bathroom was very very small but did the job! we were disappointed by a few things.
on arriving my little girl needed a wash so i turned the shower on, the shower was on number 2 (cold) but as my little girl got in it was so hot she had to jump out, turned shower to 10 thinking it would cool down, stayed hot, turned it back to 2 and it cooled down, she got back in the shower and she had to jump out again. we gave up! after a lovely meal at a local bar, we went to bed, my mother was in the single bed, the pillows were fab, big n fluffy, when the duvet was pulled back there was a few stains on the sheet. my mothers bed was not the best and the mattress was a little dated. the double again was really comfy..When going for breakfast we were offered a full English breakfast so i ordered just that. when the breakfast came i was a little disappointed with having sausage, bacon, egg, beans n a tomato cut between 3. i thought full breakfast consist of all the trimmings. (i may be expecting to much) but a full English should be what it says on the tin. otherwise an ok stay

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HACKED A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerja, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed here a week ago for 4 nights..... we were lucky enough to have a family room though there were only 2 of us....it was light and airy and very clean......bathroom exremely small but again clean.....we were at the front of the building which was next to an extremely busy main road at the junction of 4 roads!!! needed to sleep with the window shut!! The breakfast was delicious,and served very promptly. Very handy for the town as we dont drive....ony took 10 -15 minutes to walk to the centre...where there is a great choice of restaurants and pubs. We were glad we were in our room as my brother stayed downstairs towards the back..and seemed their room seemed quite small and dark..but again very clean..would not have wanted to stay in that one for the 4 nights though!!!! All in all a very good stay

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sungoddess65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I booked four rooms for family as we all attended a funeral and none of us had a complant. The rooms are very clean and we had a good nights sleep, the ensuite is tiny but clean & fresh.
There is plenty of parking, we stayed in the annex at the rear of the house which has 4 self contained rooms good for a group/family and with no noise from the Oxford road. We were welcomed by Julie who happily helped us with directions. The breakfast was very good and service quick, so all in all for what you pay it's fine and I'd stay there again. These are new owners and these poor reviews refer to stays during the previous owners time

Room Tip: The annex rooms are newer and quieter- It's easily walkable to the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed in the Ashlea Guest House last night as we were in the area for a wedding. We received a really warm welcome from the lovely new owners, and we found the rooms not luxurious but very comfortable. In the morning we were treated a hearty full English breakfast, and overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone looking for comfortable stay in Banbury on a budget!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joecampbelluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#9 of 10 in Banbury
238 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#8 of 10 in Banbury
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashlea Guest House

Property: Ashlea Guest House
Address: 58 Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashlea Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Ashlea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashlea Guest House Banbury, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing