We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SHORT BREAK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    145
    21
    4
    6
See reviews for
124
397
28
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Lovely hotel, staff very friendly and plenty of sofas and room to relax in lounge and bar. Sunday lunch was a big disappointment as meat chewy, potatoes rock hard and veg so undercooked we left it. However the following evening we ate in the restaurant and the meal cooked for us was excellent. We had passed our disappointment on about lunch so maybe that resulted in a delicious meal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a fabulous meal on Monday evening. I do wish you had said something at the time, regarding Sunday lunch as we would have been more than happy to cook the vegetables longer and offer an alternative choice of meat if you weren't enjoying what you had ordered. We are always happy to cook to please our guests. I do hope we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Very helpful staff and good service on the whole , would of been a better review had the bar staff in reception not gone awol on numerous occasions towards 11pm , also the bar menu was a little limited and cooked to an average standard with presentation akin to a chain pub given the five star description on the menu and 6 star pricing !!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Jim3870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your review and I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and the service you received. I'm disappointed that our menu didn't suit you but we do offer a total of 25 dishes, on our lounge menu, which are all made to order from fresh ingredients as well as a restaurant menu which offers 15 daily changing dishes.
If we were to extend the menu further we would have to offer frozen meals reheated in the microwave or deep fried, which is how many establishments operate - and that's definitely an avenue we don't wish to pursue at Wroxton House.
The chef is always happy to cook you an alternative as long as he has the ingredients to hand or tailor make a dish to suit.
Thanks again for taking the time to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I found this hotel through LastMinute.com. Wroxton House did not disappoint. I dealt with a lady named Betty. She was an absolute star! She informed us of the Xmas parties and also let us know that the restaurant was unavailable. Nevertheless, Betty kindly recommended another restaurant nearby which was superb! Upon arrival I was not overly impressed with our room but I spoke to Betty and she moved us to the best room we could ask for! She was very considerate in placing us where we wouldn't hear the noise but that did not bother us too much. No faults whatsoever. Lovely staff and very accommodating. Would definitely come back again!
Hope to see you again soon! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laybombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Really pleased that you had a lovely birthday with us and enjoyed your stay. I understand that Betty upgraded you to one of our beautiful Superior Rooms which all have bags of character and those little added luxuries that make the stay all that more special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We chose Wroxton for our wedding venue on 9th November, and the whole day was perfect. The hotel is small and full of character, and the staff are really friendly and can't do enough for you.

We had family staying over the night before too, and everyone commented on how lovely the hotel was, though food and drinks at the bar and restaurant are quite pricy. Our room had the balcony at the front of the hotel, and the room was spotless.

The food was excellent, and everyone remarked on how much they had enjoyed it. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, especially Sean who was brilliant!

We had visited the restaurant a couple of times with friends in the run up to the wedding to test it out (!) and loved the food. We will be back again soon! As will some of my family are who are already planning their return trip from Lincolnshire!

Thank you!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rach H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
We were thrilled to host your Wedding and delighted to see all your family and friends having such a wonderful time. Thank you for taking the time the leave your review and I'll make sure the team all gets to read it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We chose this hotel for a Christmas break nearly 10 months ago and we were not disappointed. We had upgraded to an executive room which was delightful. The staff were so helpful and efficient and the food/service was outstanding. The location is also ideal with Stratford on Avon and Oxford both within easy reach. Wroxton village itself is very pretty and unspoilt and the Christmas morning treasure hunt walk around the village, organised by the hotel, was a lovely introduction. It was also a nice touch to be welcomed and seen on our way by the management team. Absoultely brilliant Christmas, many thanks.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing will be quieter, but noise was not an issue as secondary glazing limited what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lordduke50129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
I love both Christmas and New Year at Wroxton and we are always fortunate to have a wonderful group of guests who make it a fabulous 'house party' so it never feels like work. I'm not sure what you chose for Christmas Day lunch but I had a slice of Beef Wellington which melted in the mouth..........or perhaps two slices!!! Hopefully you'll join us again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadley
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed here with a party of 20 for a xmas party. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff were excellent throughout. They must have been under pressure as they were catering for at least 3 parties, I would guess at least 80 people, although I'am pretty useless with numbers. The meal was superb, no mistakes and staff always to hand. The rooms were very clean, beds comfortable and all you need in a room for a nights stay, breakfast was good, buffet style so plenty for everyone. Apparently we are all back again next year , looking forward to it. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piplie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thrilled to hear you are coming back again next year and that you had a superb party night. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, it does mean a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banbury
2.4 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
15.8 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Address: 4 Silver Street | Wroxton, Banbury OX15 6QB, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Wroxton House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Banbury
Best Western Wroxton Hotel
Banbury Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing