We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Red Lion Hotel(Adderbury)
Book now, pay at stay
US$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Easington House(Banbury)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel(Banbury)(Great Value!)
US$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Banbury House Hotel(Banbury)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$77/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (968)
Filter reviews
968 results
Traveller rating
763
165
24
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
763
165
24
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelbar menuthree coursessmall hotelwedding venuepretty villagewithout exceptionwine listhigh standardsunday lunchlovely roomstratford upon avonstayed two nightsplenty of parkingtwo night staylittle gemcar park
Filter
Updating list...
583 - 588 of 968 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

First impressions - fab, couldn't fault. Beautiful thatched hotel with clean tastefully decorated rooms, very comfortable beds. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Excellent breakfasts setting you up for the day. I had porridge which wasn't on the menu but nothing was too much trouble. We only ate once in the restaurant in the evening (our final night) my husband had fish & chips which he said were excellent, unfortunately I couldn't say that of my meal. I had beef in red wine from the bar menu and it was lacking from any flavour at all which was disappointing. Another guest also commented on the lack of flavour,This was mentioned to a member of staff in the restaurant but I don't know if it was relayed to the kitchens. However it didn't spoil our stay and we would definitely come back again and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Mrs P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel delivers absolutely everything a good hotel should. Beautiful, idyllic setting; tastefully decorated, clean, comfortable beds, and absolutely excellent food. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, each offering a helpful greeting and a friendly smile. The hotel is an ideal base for travelling around the Cotswolds, Oxford, Warwickshire and even Worcestershire. I am very fussy and found it difficult to fault this hotel in anyway. My only niggle would be that I found the polyester duvet very hot...it would have been good to have a sheet under the duvet so the duvet could be taken off on warmer nights.

I am happy to have found this hotel. It's great to find a place for a short break where you know that everything will be of an high standard. My husband and I look forward to returning soon!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Teresa-Shepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and although you comment that you are rather fussy, I actually think we have every right to be exacting when we are paying for a hotel and it's not unreasonable to expect them to 'deliver what it says on the tin'.
Next time you stay let us know if you would like an extra sheet or would prefer sheets and a blanket, it really isn't a problem. Thank you again for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Arriving at this thatched hotel, with a more recent accommodation block attached, the first impression is how attractive, clean and well-kept the whole place is. Next comes the welcome which is genuinely friendly, and you are shown to bedroom where everything works, and the decorations are spot on.
Pre-dinner drinks are served in the Lounge with nuts and olives, and then the charming old Dining Room awaits you. The food is delicious and freshly cooked to order - at breakfast also. Not only is the service efficient and courteous, but you feel like a guest, not just a customer.
One nice point is that used crockery and glasses are noticed and cleared away. How many times have we all taken breakfast on some small table, fighting to eat toast beside a stack of empty bowls and plates? Not here.
This delightful hotel is family owned and run very professionally - and it shows. Do find out for yourself.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ComfortCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

What a super review, thank you. I do think that being a smaller hotel and privately owned gives us an advantage over the larger corporates but that's no excuse to sit back on our laurels. Hope to see you again later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Eight couples booked this hotel for two nights in April 2014, a group that have been meeting up on an occasional basis for some years.

The location is fairly central, with nobody more than just over two hours away.

Food was mostly pretty good, the staff very helpful, Chris in particular.

We were not only given a large stylish room of our own for both breakfasts and dinners, but also an area of the lounge.

Recommended

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent break with us. As a small country house we are a great option for small groups and always happy to provde a private dinning room where possible. Also lot's to do nearby as I'm sure you discovered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We live 3 miles from this hotel and have used it several times for Sunday Lunch. The food is excellent and very good value for money, and the wine list is very reasonably priced for a hotel of this standard. The staff are very friendly and the service is efficient without being over fussy. If you have visitors and don't know where to take them, I would definitely recommend here

Room Tip: Sorry, just dining!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments and I have to agree with you that Sunday lunch is great value and let's be honest, there aren't many who can get their Yorkshire puds to rise like Steve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews