We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint well appointed rural hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Spent three nights at the hotel on business. Wifi was available and quick enough to be able to work from my room. Room was spacious clean with a good sized bathroom. Plenty of parking available. Staff in the restaurant and bar were very pleasant food both bar snack and at the restaurant where very good one improvement could possibly be a cask ale or two but overall a nice stay trouble free stay.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank sjpw1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 939 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Having stayed at Wroxton House last year for my sister-in-law's birthday "bash" my wife and I decided to spend a few days in the Cotswolds. The hotel is absolutely superb and everything was good from check in to check out. The food is of a very high standard and well presented. The room was spotlessly clean and all the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. We certainly hope to pay another visit at some time in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing are quieter as they are well away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

We do make every effort to ensure a perfect stay for each of our guests and to have guests return time and time again and recommend us to their friends is a huge compliment. Don't forget to keep an eye on our website for special autumn offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We decided to stay the Wroxton House Hotel as an overnight last minute booking.
(there weren't too many other options as everywhere was booked up)
We weren't expecting anything special - I'm pleased to say we were nicely surprised!!!

The hotel is lovely and welcoming to come into after a long drive - airy and subtle in decor with a lovely sun drenched patio terrace.
We were upgraded for free to a gorgeous quirky attic room with a large bathroom stand alone classic bathtub and powerful shower cubicle. I was soo happy with the room!!!!

However, two aspects of the Hotel deserve particular comment. Firstly, the staff : friendly, charismatic welcoming and altogether charming! Secondly, the dinner was absolutely delicious. Top notch - and breakfast was a tasty buffet fry up and lots of other fresh options.
I cannot understand how this is only a three-star hotel!!! A great find.

Room Tip: The attic room with the stand alone bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debi Zo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your enthusiastic review and pleased that we exceeded all expectations. Next time you are looking for somewhere to stay always ring us direct on 01295 730777 and we'll make sure you get the best price....and room available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is a very lovely hotel. The staff are extremely helpful and always keen to please. The service here is by far the best that I have received from a number of hotels. The food in the restaurant is excellent. I can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Delighted to hear we made your stay a memorable one and thanks for sharing it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My experience this time was excellent. It was very comfortable and despite the fact that there was a wedding going on almost next door, it stopped, as promised, at midnight and we had been warned in advance.We did not eat - just slept.
However, my colleague and his wife have used this hotel before. Unfortunately (and NOTHING TO DO WITH THE HOTEL) they were both unwell. Having booked breakfast before they were unwell they were nonetheless expected to pay for breakfast even although they were unable to take it. This is not a customer friendly policy and we hope that it will be changed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your review and delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Wroxton House. I do hope your friends are both fully recovered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

In July 2009 we held our wedding reception here, and to this day I would not have changed a thing. The most amazing thing about this beautiful venue is the staff and their attention to detail. We also held our little boy's Naming Day here in 2011, again, amazing. Our most recent experience here though has been our little girl's Naming Ceremony and Reception this year. From start to finish the staff were polite, professional, courteous and so attentive. We used the Broughton Room and its enclosed garden, which was perfect for children, safe too. The service from the bar staff was great, and the reception food was delicious, plentiful and catered for all tastes. I really cannot recommend the Wroxton Hotel enough, any celebration here will be perfect.

Room Tip: There are both modern rooms here, and also olde worlde rooms with great character in the original th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MellAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

It has been an absolute pleasure to host all of your celebrations in recent years and we love welcoming you back regularly to enjoy watching the children grow up. Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I was fortunate to get the last room available as a last-minute booking at the Wroxton House when we wanted an overnight stop on our journey North. We weren't expecting anything special - how wrong we were! - it was completely charming! The décor is clean and cool, our little attic room in the semi-detached cottage was really comfortable, and the surroundings were magical. However, two aspects of the Hotel deserve particular comment. Firstly, the staff were marvellous: friendly, welcoming and altogether charming without being in any way obsequious. Secondly, the dinner was a total delight - I rather quailed when I looked at the price, but it was worth every penny - I don't think I've ever had so delicious a piece of pork - all-in-all, it was an outstandingly good meal. Breakfast too was good, and we left to carry on our journey much recovered. I cannot understand how this is only a three-star hotel - and while it's pricey, it's still very good value for what you get.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southendbootboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill S, Owner at Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your 5* review and delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay. I'll ensure the Chef passes on your comments to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banbury
2.4 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
456 reviews
22.5 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
744 reviews
7.1 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel

Address: 4 Silver Street | Wroxton, Banbury OX15 6QB, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Wroxton House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range: £71 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Banbury
Best Western Wroxton Hotel
Banbury Best Western
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing