We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2009

We'd booked a 2 night for £234 Dinner Bed and Breakfast which we thought would be a good rate and a pre Christmas treat for us.
Arrival was uncomplicated and the booking was readily found then we were taken to our room that I suspect will be marketed as a Heritage room, it was a triple with a double bed and a day bed as an occasional sofa. The ceiling sloped and the view was of the Atrium - but we didn't expect any frills not for £117 a night DBB.
Dinner was booked for 8 and preceeded by an rather expensive couple of glasses of wine with peanuts and olives. We selected from a compact menu and were led to our table by a charming South African. The food was excellently cooked and nicely presented a suprise, we were expecting the worst with the 'old' style room. Puddings followed and then coffee and a fudge in some comfy seats rounded the eving off nicely.
A pleasant night follwed in a dark room, disapointed at the position of tge TV at one end of the room away from the Bed and hidden behind some screen doors.
Breakfast was ok just cooked sausage and bacon with plenty of coffee and toast prepared us for a drive round the South Cotswolds and into Bicester.
Dinner the following evening was equally as good although we were in a sort of dining room annex well cooked and nicely presented food with attentive but not overpowering staff. We drank coffee and wine as we played Trivial Persuit and they set breakfast arround us - with no fuss or chivying out of the way.
Breakfast the next morning was much better a nice brown sauage and nearly crisp bacon, my partner had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs after a quick negociation with the chef. A nice touch was a Sunday paper of the Observer when we'd only ordered the Guardian on Saturday, someones thinking and we like that.
All in all a very pleasant stay, the room was a little tired and could do with updating and re-positioning, meals especially dinner were excellent as was the service throughout and location wise very good from the M40 and a short drive the other way to get into the Cotswolds. We even had time for a walk round the village and what a picturesque one it is as well with a number of thatched buildings and another 2 pubs all within walking distance of the Wroxton. 9 out of 10.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkie-EarlsdonRFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

879 - 885 of 933 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2009

Having stayed in the summer with friends, I returned with my mum for our xmas shopping weekend. Absolutely amazing attentive service, a beautiful room and fabulous and tasty food. My mum couldn't fault anything! We did a park n ride to Oxford and will be back again next year to check out Stratford. I thought that only 'old' people go back again and again to the same hotel, so either i'm getting old and i know what i like or this hotel has the best service and food for money!! i will be back again ...many times next year and the year after with various family birthdays....unless prices incease massively!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaycpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

We were recently married at Wroxton House and can heartily recommend it to anyone who is thinking of holding their wedding or celebration there. Service was personal and considerate from all the people we dealt with (without being intrusive), the menu was excellent and the portions were plentiful for all of our guests, the standard was easily the equivalent of a top-notch Mess Dinner (trust me, I've eaten some EXCELLENT food and this was right up there) and the value for money was VERY welcome in these economically strained times. Their suggestions for making a special day even more special were all inspired, and we want say thanks again Wroxton House, you're great!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBIRD1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

We have just returned from a very relaxing and pleasant weekend at Wroxton. The check-in was welcoming, efficient and friendly. We were shown to our room which was along meandering corridors, through several doors and up and down a few steps. The room was small and simply furnished but newly decorated and the smell of the new carpet was evident. The bathroom was spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable resulting in a good night's sleep. We ate in the dining room on the first evening. Lovely food. Very good value. The staff were attentive and efficient. Breakfast was the usual buffet. We had to wait for a table for quite a time due to a large party eating at the same time. We think they were a wedding party from the previous day. They were a little loud which imposed on our expectation of a relaxing start to the day but that was not the hotel's fault. The influx of diners at the same time resulted in us having to wait for the buffet to be replenished. We ate in the bar the next evening as we had eaten out at lunchtime so only wanted one course. The bar menu was good and the service efficient and friendly. Breakfast the next day was relaxing and there were no problems. Check out was efficient and friendly. The receptionist seemed genuinely pleased that we had enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coops06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We held our family reunion (13 of us) at this wonderful hotel. The service and friendliness of all the staff was second to none. Fabulous setting, the rooms were wonderful, immaculate and spotlessly clean. The food was absolutely beautiful and perfectly cooked. Our special thanks to Shaun who organised everything so well and made us all feel so special. Attention to detail makes such a difference. If you want to hold a celebration or just enjoy a lovely weekend away in a fabulous setting this is the place, you will not be disappointed. We all agreed this was a first class venue and we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suestapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights and found the experience to be truely memorable. The recently refursbished rooms were of a very high standard and the food the equal of any top restaurant in London.
The owners, Mr & Mrs Smith were the perfect hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and they tended to your every need (including sending on some very personal items I had left behind on departure)
I would recommend this hotel very highly

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Stayed here for two nights in mid Sept 09 on a driving holiday around Engalnd. A delightful thatched roof with a beautiful and welcoming interior.

Booked online and paid 88 pounds per night for a 'superior' room including breakfast. Great value compared to other hotels/locations on our trip.

Info supplied indicates that the hotel is in the process on an ongoing room by room upgrade thoughout 2009. The room we had was large and recently redecorated. Very clean and comfortable. Bathroom also recently renovated and very good. Staff friendly and helpfull.

The only minor critisim was that a large water heater behind a false wall adjacent to the closet tended to make our room a couple of degrees warmer than we'd prefer (even with the heating switched off). This will become a feature rather than a critisism as winter approaches.

Restaurant - service and food both exceptional.

Quiet location and ample off-street parking.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramble9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
2.4 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
544 reviews
2.6 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#8 of 10 in Banbury
243 reviews
5.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel

Address: 4 Silver Street | Wroxton, Banbury OX15 6QB, England (Formerly Best Western Plus Wroxton House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range: £76 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Banbury
Best Western Wroxton Hotel
Banbury Best Western
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing