We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant place for a family gathering and lunch!”
Review of The Inn at Farnborough - CLOSED

The Inn at Farnborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$38
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fiercely Independent Country Pub and Restaurant serving outstanding produce that we do not mess around with, Simple and delicious. Our service is great, friendly and laid back. But first a warning to you fine people, please think very hard before coming to Le Inn.......We would love to see you but we have a few rules you need to consider first. You see Le Inn is not for everyone and that is just fine by us, only the very select few are aloud to become members of The Inn Crowd, it is a privilege and we do not give away membership lightly or on a whim, you as a guest have to play your part and earn your stripes. When you come to Le Inn remember you are coming to join our little club and we do things how we do them because that is how we like it, its our place and that's just how we like it, we ain't coming to your house Hombre! Lay back, relax, smile and enjoy the ride. So Mou Cha Cha,if you moan and whinge and have a face that looks like it has been slapped by last weeks Haddock, please take your money somewhere else, we don't want it....ciao!
Level Contributor
108 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A brilliant place for a family gathering and lunch!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We arranged for the family to meet here on a Sunday, each traveling about 2hrs to reach the pub from different parts of the UK. There were 11 of us and ranged in age fro 10 weeks to 85! This was our second visit to this pub, we all met up here 2 years ago.

The gardens are lovely and the setting great. Inside is set out with lots of nooks and offers lots of privacy.


The staff were amazing right from point of booking and we felt very cared for. The food was fab. We most chose from the Sunday lunch menu. The menus had plenty of choices and there were a good range of priced meals. I has the squid, followed by the rare roast beef and then sticky toffee pudding. All tasty, beautifully cooked and well presented.


I would highly recommend this as a ace that can cater for families and large groups comfortably and certainly go the extra mile to help.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RMGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    96
    31
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
banbury
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Simply the best and outstanding”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I booked to go with friends on Saturday evening and last minute we were lucky to get in
the waiters were brilliant smiling attentive courteous and plight
we all chose something different the menu is written up very well something for everyone
with an extensive wine list..The owners certainly know what they are doing and have everything covered I cant wait to try there out side catering INDULGENCE if I was going to have a party at home certainly something to look forward to .cant wait to return even the winter evenings sat in front of the fire is a must the inn has such a good feeling

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BanburyOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I recently reached a notable birthday and had made known that the occasion should pass without celebration. I should have known better! My wife and daughter arranged a surprise lunch party at The Inn where we were joined by 22 friends. We have used The Inn on many occasions and always find the food and service to be of the highest order. This occasion was even better than usual. Many of our guests were visiting The Inn for the first time and without exception all were much impressed. We started with drinks in the bar and then to a private room for the lunch. The food was as ways excellent and the standard of service perfect. A big thank you to all at The Inn who made my surprise lunch such a happy and memorable occasion.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanOxfOrdshire_uk44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Quality Country Gastropub”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Set in an unspoiled quiet North Oxfordshire village this pub ticks all the boxes for a quality unpretentious gastropub. 8 of us had a business lunch together. The food was excellent - interesting, tasty and well presented. The service was efficient and unobtrusive. The decor is tasteful and reserved, and it has a large well kept garden. Everything that makes for an attractive pub. Recommended. I will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo R, Owner at The Inn at Farnborough, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review about the Inn. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Inn, your review reflected everything we work hard to achieve.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Jo Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Sunday roast for many a year!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We did not intend to go to this restaurant yesterday but we passed it at just after one o'clock and thought we would have lunch. We were shown to a table in double quick time and had a bottle of wine served in minutes. We both chose their their special Sunday beef roast which also arrived in excellent time. The staff were very polite but not in your face all the time. The meal, well, the beef was delicious but the summer roast vegetables were fantastic and such a great variety of them too. There was also mange tout, fine beans and garden peas! I have never eaten so many vegetables in one sitting and enjoyed them so much. The piece de resistance however was the roast potatoes, beautifully cooked and crispy on the outside - my one small criticism was that my wife only had one on her plate and I only had two but boy, were they good!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 488NeilC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo R, Owner at The Inn at Farnborough, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a great review about the Inn at Farnborough, we are delighted you found us and enjoyed our Sunday roast!

Next time - please just ask for more scrummy roasties and we would be pleased to oblige!

Kind Regards,

Jo Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Inn at Farnborough also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing