We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another good stay”
Review of Easington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Easington House
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another good stay”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We had another great stay a very friendly welcome & a very nice room. This time we had a evening meal in there restrant. The food was homemade & very nice with value for money. the service good & very friendly we both enjoyed the experince so will do it all again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    70
    32
    19
    17
See reviews for
27
113
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I needed for a room in Banbury at late notice and found this lovely little hotel on Laterooms.
the price was a bargain (under £60 inc breakfast) so I booked it. Bearing in mind I had booked it at 10pm and rang to get directions at 10-30, Debs, the owner was very accommodating even after telling me she shouldn't accept bookings after 9-30pm. This is an issue with Laterooms that she should take up.
However, Debs took the card payment over the phone and within a few minutes I was on my way.
The car park is off the road with plenty of space. The reception wasn't manned when I arrived but my key was waiting for me. The double room I had booked was small but very clean, nicely decorated and just what I required.
bathroom was small but clean, and warm.
Free wifi was a boon for emailing and faster than relying on my phone connection.
The bed was perfectly comfortable and the breakfast in the morning could not be faulted.
delicious locally sourced food and far better than mass catered for generic premier inn breakfast that I am used to.
If I need to stay within 30miles of this location again I would not hesitate to stay here again.
My thanks to Debs for allowing the booking at such late notice, and my compliments on a lovely little hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easingtonhouse, Manager at Easington House, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your positive review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here for one night. Its just not that nice. The room was small and dark. As was the bathroom. There was no actual shower. So in order to have one I had to crouch in the bath. But that wasn't all. The hot water continuously went on and off. Not great.

Breakfast and checkout is early for the weekend. 08.30 - 09.30 checkout at 10.30.

The lady that runs the place is nice, but verging on passive aggressive. And bizarrely calls you "my love" at the end of every sentence.

All of the above said, it was very clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankieFun2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easingtonhouse, Manager at Easington House, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
I am sorry to hear that you consider me " passive aggressive " and i am slightly at a loss as to understand why you think this?

Also not sure which room you had but all our rooms have quality bathrooms & shower rooms hence our 4 star rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Easington House is an old property which has been tastefully converted over the years to make very comfortable b&b accommodation. The service was friendly and efficient and this was appreciated during our stay in Banbury. Easington House has a car park which was an asset. The establishment is within walking distance of the town centre for the more abled body. The staff were conversant about local places of interest and also directions in the area.

We had a very enjoyable short break and we would recommend Easington House to fellow travellers to Oxfordshire and beyond.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChasNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We would like to say what a beautiful, charming little hotel/guest house Easington House is..the room we stayed in had a four poster bed, a dressing area and a beautiful bathroom with a roll top bath.The Dining Room and Lounge were very cosy and charming and the furnishings were lovely and very in keeping with the date and character of the house. Such a refreshing change from the soul less American chain hotels which seem to be springing up all over the UK. The staff were very friendly and helpful...food excellent made mostly with local fresh ingredients....when we have to visit Banbury again we know where we will be staying. Please dont change anything..we love the creaky floorboards, wonky stairs etc...Thanks again Easington House.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I chose this hotel because I wanted accommodation close to the M40 but with more charm than the soulless and homogenous travelodge type offerings. I appreciated its quirky stairways and the room I occupied was clean, characterful and comfortably furnished with wooden beams across the ceiling. They organised my late check-in and even took a breakfast order so that I wouldn't miss a cooked breakfast before leaving (as I wanted to leave early). Great stop off, accommodating service and I wish I had a liitle more time to appreciate it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britain in Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I would just like to send my absolute gratitude to everyone @ the Easington House Hotel.
I, myself & 3 friends had been competing in a local eventing competition.
We all had experienced a very successful & enjoyable day however one of my friends had unfortunately had a fall in the Cross Country & was in some discomfort.
We decided to find some local accommodation.
This is where the 'Easington House' answered our prayers.
After trying a couple of hotels & B&B's we contacted Easington House enquiring of any vacancies.
I knew the location was ideal to get to from the event venue where the horses could stable overnight & also easily accessible for the horsebox.
From the initial contact, the helpfulness & indeed kindness from the member of staff & indeed all the staff was unbelievable & exceptional.
The quality of the accommodation for both comfort & total relaxation was second to none.
We were quite concerned on arrival at the filthy state of a couple of us, however we were welcomed by everybody, infact I think it caused quite alot of laughter!
Due to my friends fall we were offered a selection of rooms, very accommodating!
Well, the food!!! For pure convenience (& we had also heard excellent reviews) we decided to dine at the Easington.
Both the selection & the quality were again outstanding, we all had probably one of the nicest social, friendly evenings together that we've had for a very long time.
The ambience was exquisite , infact the whole atmosphere in the hotel was so tranquil & relaxing.
We all experienced an excellent night sleep following a very eventful day & superb evening.
I would just like to thank everybody @ the Easington House for both coming to our rescue & what turned out to be a very very pleasent & enjoyable experience.
THANKYOU!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudreyHepburn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
5.1 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Easington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easington House

Property: Easington House
Address: 50 Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Easington House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Guest House with a licensed restaurant on the edge of town with a private carpark The property is centuries old with open fires, stone floors, timber beams and panelling We serve afternoon tea and have pretty gardens. Conveniently placed for Cotswolds, Oxford , Woodstock, Bicester Village shopping outlet, Silverstone , Broughton Castle Close to the M40 junction We are 4 Star guest house rated and offer charming and comfortable accommodation together with a great breakfast being either full English or Continental striving to use as much local and British Produce as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Easington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Easington House Banbury, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing