We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!”
Review of Easington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Easington House
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The room was the smallest we have ever stayed in though was very clean. We asked if we could move but were told the hotel was full. Very poor night's sleep due to noise from room above. Next morning we mentioned to the manager that rooms were available on the website that we had booked through and we were immediately moved to the four poster room (by 9am). Certainly no complaints about this room which was huge. The manager reiterated several times that the hotel had been fully booked the previous night and despite evidence to the contrary we have to accept this. Disappointed with our stay and have to agree with previous negative reviews on the attitude of the manager. We felt we were an inconvenience the first day but this changed completely when we mentioned having checked availability on the booking site - very disconcerting.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 15 & 16. Tiny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easingtonhouse, Manager at Easington House, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Four Poster, however the guest house WAS fully booked on the first night of your stay, I moved you the next day due to rooms being available, the move was early because the previous guest had left early due to business in the area. I made you welcome by showing you to your room, asked if you would both like to dine that evening in the restaurant, inviting you to use the lounge, etc. Please bear in mind the building was once a farm house and 600 years old and not purpose built like some multi hotel chains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    72
    36
    19
    17
See reviews for
28
116
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights. Hotel is a very old manor house and full of character. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast will not disappoint, very varied menu. Had room at front, by main road but we did not hear the traffic at all. Handy for town centre about 5/10 mins walk for pubs/ restaurants, although this hotel does cater for afternoon tea/evening meal. We were visiting family and did not get a chance to try their meals in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My parents held their diamond wedding lunch here. They were thrilled with the whole experience. Thank you so much for your care and understanding. Great people, great venue. Becky and Graham think you are the best. Thank you so much for a great day x

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easingtonhouse, Manager at Easington House, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, we aim to please, so pleased all was perfect for the special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed one night on business, warm welcome and shown to a clean pleasant room. Room at the front of the building but no problem with noise from the main road. Breakfast swiftly arrived and was very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snapper4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easingtonhouse, Manager at Easington House, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, hopefully see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just spent a few weeks in this B&B while visiting family and it was excellent. The staff are so nice and managed to make you feel at home straight away. We had 3 different rooms over the course of our stay and all of them were great. The building is a lovely old English cottage so each room was different to the next. The room with the four poster and seperate dressing rooms was a favourite. Unfortunately due to our schedule we missed breakfast most mornings, but what I had was good... the scrambled eggs with salmon are well recomended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 222ajj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easingtonhouse, Manager at Easington House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review, all of us ladies enjoyed having you stay with us, so pleased all met with your high standards, hopefully will see you both in the near future, takecare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Having looked forward to our weekend away we were left disappointed with many aspects of the guest house particularly given that many of the reviews here were so positive.

the problems we had:

- when we arrived we found that the owner of the house's belongings were left in the room and that it had not been restocked with any soap or enough towels. there was also only one cup with the kettle in a room meant to be for couples
- the room was dusty
- the room was the smallest either of us have ever stayed in anywhere. this room was meant to be for couples but there was barely enough space to walk around the edges of the bed and the bathroom was TINY
- breakfast was terrible, had we been in a restaurant we would not have paid for the food and service we received. the cooked breakfast featured cooked tomatoes that were raw and sausages that were only just cooked despite requests for them to very to be well done. the first morning we sent the plate back for the sausages to be cooked further and was told that everything had been switched off! the next morning we asked when ordering for the sausages and bacon to be well done and they arrived in exactly the same state as the day before. again we sent the plate back and the sausages came back 1 minute later with slight griddle marks on and no extra cooking. the service was slow and breakfast is only served for an hour between 8-9am which given that we were on a weekend break was frustrating.
- there was no housekeep during the stay, we returned from our day out on saturday to find that nothing had been done to the room at all.
- we left a coat in the room when we left and could have returned to collect it that day if we'd been informed when the room was cleaned - we didn't realise until the next day and had to call to check they had it.

we would not recommend staying here and would not return

Room Tip: dont stay here, but if you do make sure you dont get room 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_MummaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easingtonhouse, Manager at Easington House, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, however all of our rooms are cleaned daily, tea, coffee etc replaced at the same time of service. We receive great reviews about our breakfasts and offer a good choice of selection, something for everyone. We will however bear in mind your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My Husband and I stay here for a long weekend, we were made to feel very welcome from the minuet we walked in. Nothing was too much trouble for Carol or Debbie, would recommend this lovely guest house to anyone. Thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#8 of 10 in Banbury
552 reviews
2.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
433 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Easington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easington House

Property: Easington House
Address: 50 Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Easington House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Guest House with a licensed restaurant on the edge of town with a private carpark The property is centuries old with open fires, stone floors, timber beams and panelling We serve afternoon tea and have pretty gardens. Conveniently placed for Cotswolds, Oxford , Woodstock, Bicester Village shopping outlet, Silverstone , Broughton Castle Close to the M40 junction We are 4 Star guest house rated and offer charming and comfortable accommodation together with a great breakfast being either full English or Continental striving to use as much local and British Produce as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Easington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Easington House Banbury, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing