We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Warmington Weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lavender Cottage

Lavender cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lavender cottage
open country side views from the studio Warmington Village
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Lavender cottage
open country side views from the studio
Warmington Village
courtyard
Bathroom
Outside patio area
special occasions
courtyard
eating area
Bathroom
village pond
studio Gardens
boutique studio four poster
Traditional Village pub with wood Fire
Visit famous Stratford Upon Avon - Shakespeare's home
Glorious Chipping Campden
Nearby stunning Warwick Castle
open countryside
Field
private outside to Lavender
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Banbury, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
G W
St. Anton am Arlberg, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awkward. We felt quite uncomfortable. Owner refunded partial bond only.”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the cottage for the first few days of our trip around the UK. When we arrived it became apparent that the pricing we had expected was incorrect due to the unclear listing on the site - we checked the email history and their was no indication of any different pricing so it was a bit ambiguous. After an awkward coversation about this with Barry the owner we decided to just deal with it and pay double what we had expected. We were tired from travelling and it wasn't worth the stress.

The cottage was listed as having a washing machine and we needed to do a load, but the laundry was not in the cottage but rather part of the owners area, and even though we had permission to use it we felt uncomfortable as when we spoke to Barry about it he gave us 'a look'. We felt as if we were putting him out or that we had done something wrong.

When making our booking online, Barry required a deposit paid as a bond. We paid this up front via paypal as he requested, and we paid him in Pounds Stirling, so we sent and he received the full 100 pounds via Paypal. When it came time to get the bond back, we waited by the car as he went in and inspected the property while we waited, and then he came out and handed us 90 pounds in cash, apparently due to a difference in exchange rate...even though we had paid the full amount in pounds! We couldn't believe he short changed. By this time we had had more than enough and just cut our losses and left, but it has still been the most awkward and uncomfortable stay we have ever had in guest accommodation, and the low point of our entire 4 month trip around the UK.

Really disappointing as the accommodation was small but nice and the area is lovely. The reviews were positive in general also. Barry obviously takes pride in his property but needs to work on his hospitality skills - at least that was our experience. We certainly wouldnt stay again, and would recommend people request a firm price in writing, and ensure they get their whole bond back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice and clean.
Liked least: The owner basically ripped us off by short changing us. Unclear pricing. Awkward exeperience.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2015
I am sorry you were not entirely satisfied with your stay, however, it appears that in the interim between your stay in April and posting this review in September that your recall of events has become clouded.
I have a PayPal statement showing that I received £95.00 from you as a bond. Normally this would have been refunded through PayPal but you requested I give you a cash refund. (The bond money remains in the PayPal account until refunded).
We discussed the exchange rates at the time. I have had a number of Australians and other overseas visitors this year and none has had any problems with this.
The washing machine is in a utility room adjoining the cottages. The "owner's area" is the house on the other side of the carpark.
The cottages have a high occupancy rate and have been fully booked this year and visitors make full use of the washing machine and dryer and it is expected that travellers need to use these facilities. I am at a loss as to why you felt "uncomfortable" because our communications always appeared amicable and you approached for a chat most days.
I have not experienced any other visitors misunderstand the tariff rates and I sympathise with your predicament. However, learning you were on a tight budget I did allow a discount.
As you acknowledge, my reviews are positive and I take a pride in my work.
Trip Advisor has just awarded me two certificates of excellence based on customer feedback.
I have over 30 years experience in the hospitality industry and enjoy making my guests feel welcome and enhancing their visit to this beautiful part of England. Several guests have made repeat bookings this year including a couple who will returning for a third time.
I regret that you feel otherwise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALA76
1 review
“Wonderful Warmington Weekend”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My partner and I have just come back from a lovely 2 nights weekend stay at Lavender Cottage. It's in peaceful and private surroundings. The bed was really comfy, the bath is full size and the shower was great. Barry, the owner is a lovely gently-spoken chap who is very accommodating and always on hand to offer advice or services within the complex. We'll definitely stay again at some point in the future and would recommend it to anyone :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
I was very touched by your review and thank you for taking the time to write it , and to know your stay was perfect in every way we hope to see you again soon we always welcome back guests some have become friends that return time after time .we look forward to welcoming you back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
1 review
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We spent a wonderful week in this cottage. Barry was so helpful and made sure we had fresh towels every couple of days. We felt very secure here as the property has code operated gates. The village of Warmington had a great Inn and Farm shop and butcher close by was handy. I will recommend this cottage to my friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2015
We enjoyed reading your review and that your stay in Lavender was perfect and you were comfortable please come and see us again thank you for taking time to write great feed back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamLondon...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful holiday cottage, immaculately presented”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Lavender Cottage for 10 nights. The cottage was just as pictured and absolutely immaculate. We were struck by our host Barry's eye for detail and how much thought was put into every furnishing, creating a really wonderful place to stay. The cottage is of an extremely high standard with everything one would ever need on a holiday. It is in a very peaceful location, silent at night but with great nearby road connections to Birmingham, Oxford and London. Barry was extremely hospitable, friendly and helpful and really made our holiday even more special. We would love to return in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2015
WOW thank you so much I am very passionate about my business and it means a lot when lovely guests like your self give great feed back and that means I am doing things write .I know you had a wonderful time in Lavender cottage ,and hope you get to come and see us again very soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward R
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cosy and comfortable studio cottage”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in bijou Lavender Cottage for 2 nights whilst having some work done on our house. We arrived as strangers but left having made a new friend in Barry Powell who is the perfect host. Barry made us feel at home immediately and we left feeling we had been visiting a relative than staying at a holiday cottage. Nothing was too much trouble and Barry was particularly helpful in steering us towards the local attractions of Oxfordshire. In particular, we enjoyed our visit to Meg's place at Lapstone (near Chipping Camden) and Daylesford Organic Farm (just off the A436 towards Stow-on-the-Wold). Lunch at Daylesford is a most enjoyable experience and not to be missed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Nearest shop was a few miles away but the local pub is great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2015
Such a pleasure to have met you both and we will stay in touch
I hope you managed to get the works completed on your return home
Thanks so much for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah w
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“You couldn't ask for anything more... we loved it!”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Me and my best friend stayed here for the weekend in February. We wanted a quiet, relaxing get away where we could chill out and do nothing in a nice comfy environment...
This is exactly what Lavender Cottage delivered! Barry was the perfect host, extremely welcoming, helpful, knowledgeable about the area- an overall lovely and genuine guy who made us feel very happy to be there.

The cottage/ studio was perfect- small and compact but had everything we needed. Well equipped and modern kitchen breakfast bar, very comfy sofa, good sized telly, modern and very clean bathroom with great shower. Underfloor heating made the place extremely cosy- it was hard to find a reason to leave the cottage (particularly as it was raining but we were quite happy inside!). We both had a fantastic nights sleep in the bed which was comfier than my own with extremely soft linen.

It would be great for friends wanting to escape for a relaxing weekend and would also be fab for a couple looking for a romantic get away. We've already recommended to friends and will be back ourselves for sure. Really couldn't rate this place more highly. If your thinking about it- do it!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2015
It was a pleasure to have you both to stay with us in Lavender cottage
and also being a special weekend for valentines
we do hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 14 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed in Lavender cottage for two weeks in January 2015 and loved it so much we went back in February too. A beautifully presented, immaculately clean and cosy room with every thing you need for a short break in the country. Barry is an excellent host and nothing was too much trouble if you needed any assistance or advice. A Great real ale pub "The Plough" which serves good food too in the village. Excellent accommodation , highly recommend . Thank you .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2015
Thank you for staying with us on two occasions we loved having you to stay with us we pride our self's on quality and we like to make people very welcome we hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing