We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely lovely!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Auctioneer

The Old Auctioneer
Reserve with OpenTable
The Old Auctioneer is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 191 Restaurants in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We visited the pub yesterday for lunch, with our 1 year old daughter, the staff were very helpful and fetched a clean highchair and toys! Our food came quickly and was absolutely delicious! A lovely man in a white tshirt (between 40&50 years) dark hair and glasses, asked if our daughter would like an ice cream. When going to pay the bill, we realised the ice cream was on the house! Wonderful, memorable service! Highly reccomended x

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emmaroy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old A, Manager at The Old Auctioneer, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi emmaroy91,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write The Old Auctioneer such a lovely review. We are delighted that your daughter enjoyed the toys and complimentary ice cream. It is also lovely to hear how you appreciated our staffs efforts to make your visit enjoyable. Thank you once again and we hope to see you and your family soon.

Kind regards
The OA Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    119
    45
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Decent 2-4-1 lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Dropped in with my brother as he was in the area 2-4-1 half price ! Stilton burger very tasty, good size not dubbed down to meet the price. Cheery friendly staff for beer garden table service. Very enjoyable thanks.

Helpful?
Thank lookinglost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Decent steak, good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Went here about a week ago with some co workers. We should have made a reservation on a Thursday night, as it was packed. Got a table inside and we all had steak. Starters were good, the nachos are big enough to share. Drinks are decent and the service was really good. We later went outside for some drinks for a few hours and I think they all waited for us to leave, very nice. Do try this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank whip383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Don't bother eating here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Terrible service and left before even eating my meal, leaving it un touched. Very unhappy and will never eat here again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank max636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehill
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow what a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Went to Banbury just because, was walking around town and was hungry, spotted this place as had outdoor facility that looked nice. They did a 2 for 1 on pizzas & burgers. We eventually went inside as it was getting windy, what a lovely place, very friendly service, open planish but separated into little clusters. |I had a pizza which was lovely wife had a burger which was huge.
2 meals 3 soft drinks 1 Irish coffee under £25....Will always go back when in the area

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steev10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Auctioneer also viewed

 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Old Auctioneer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing