We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Just read the recent mixed reviews which I find surprising. We stayed Weds and Thurs this week on a two day deal which included a cream tea and three course meal on the first night. We found the place easily enough, parking is very good and we were dealt with promptly and efficiently at reception in a polite manner. Immediately after depositing our luggage we returned to reception and ordered our cream tea which then arrived in no time at all, very nice. Later we had a drink in the bar and then our three course meal in the restaurant and that was also very good as were the breakfasts. The place is spotless and the bedrooms well appointed with good showers. If you want to be ultra critical the communal rooms are a bit corporate or impersonal, particularly as there were few people moving about, and there was only one other couple in the restaurant when we ate so it did lack atmosphere. This is a large old lengthy building so if you have any mobility issues speak to reception before booking because many rooms are a long walk up and down numerous stairs. Our initial room was on the first floor fronting the road which we found noisy so they moved us the next day to a rear room which also had a king bed which was good. Also as the room was not quite ready when we returned from town late morning we were served complimentary tea and biscuits while we waited which was a nice touch. Throughout our stay all the staff were fine. On our second night we ate at a small restaurant in town, the Veritas Wine Bar and Bistro which we would also rate highly. Overall, if you ignore the weather, a very pleasant two day break.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anniemalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

A one night stay in this hotel was very welcome and extremely pleasant. The staff are all charming and the facilities are as you would expect of a small hotel. However the unexpectedly excellent aspect that is worth praise was the food. The dining room was reasonably full and we had a party of 18 or so, but the food was creative, tasty and hot. I shouldn't be surprised but too many similar hotels cannot match this sort of service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aitchpeeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Booked the hotel for a romantic meal. Went to the bar and had to ask for someone to take my order, they seemed really miffed. The lights were full on in the restaurant, not romantic, the candle was irrelevant. No one in the restaurant and under constant scrutiny by the bored staff The starter should have been veg soup with croutons, no croutons, no bread and soup `weird` and not edible. The salmon was over cooked and the veg under cooked, the beef was a poor cut. Very poor experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 9774moore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This was an KGB weekend deal to visit Oxford which was an easy 30 mins drive away. The hotel lived up to it's website, easy parking, immaculately clean, warm atmosphere and all amenities were functional. I read reviews prior to arriving and contrary to some, we found staff helpful and always on hand, not necessarily pro-active as we had to ask about breakfast venue, times, communal facilities etc., which would normally form part of the booking in process. Dinner & breakfast was high quality and well presented. The in-room toiletries could be better quality and Freeview channels were very limited but for a 3* experience, even at full price, is value for money and alot of pride is obviously taken in maintaining such a lovely building. We would love to go back and will recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: We stayed during a very quiet period but this is a popular venue for Weddings/Events so request a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBP894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The staff really need to keep their mouths quiet about the customers that they are dealing with. On several occasions in the short time that we were at the hotel, certain members of staff behind the bar were often heard being rude about their customers......not acceptable! At least go and view your opinions away from clientele.
Disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had an ok stay here - but nothing special. The hotel itself is very nice- spotlessly clean and charachterful. The reception staff are very helpful - really lovely and will go out of their way to assist. They were fantastic. Breakfast was the worst I've ever had in a hotel. My 'veggie' breakfast was child sized- I said I didn't like veggie sausage or mushroom so had fried bread, beans, tomato and scrambled egg...expectng these few items to make up an adult sized breakfast - instead a quarter of a piece of fried bread, a teaspoon of beans, a bit of very poor scrambled bread and a tomato. I had to eat cakes at breakfast so I didn't starve! One memmber of staff seemed to want to be as awkward as possible! At times you felt very much like an inconvenience and staff at breakfast (apart from the young lad on the Sunday) were very unfriendly- you certainly weren't greeted with smiles as at other Best Westerns! Cream tea was tasty.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 342s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Arrived with my husband and son to spend a family weekend with our daughter and her partner.Rooms were uncluttered and clean with a good sized bathroom.Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and the cream tea was delicious.Staff were friendly and very helpful spending time to inform us about the surrounding area and pretty villages.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank San_D545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#8 of 10 in Banbury
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#9 of 10 in Banbury
565 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
3.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Banbury House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Banbury House Hotel

Address: Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range: £64 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Banbury House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Banbury House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Banbury Hotel
Banbury Best Western
Best Western Banbury House Hotel Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing