We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good stay with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights as a convenient stopover as we visited the Cotswolds. From check in and throughout the staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. The room was nice and suitable for our needs, with a clean spacious bathroom. Private parking is handy too.

We got this on a deal which was great value, although it is maybe suitable more for older people.

I forgot my jacket in my room, and called the hotel 3 days later. The staff were excellent in finding and packaging the jacket and posting it to me, calling me to give me 3 quotes before posting it. We were very impressed with the hotel overall and this gesture of going the extra mile was much appreciated!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Similar to another recent review, this was an Amazon deal and was brilliant value. The greeting we received and service throughout our stay was friendly and professional (although breakfast was rather rushed). The 3 course meal on Saturday night was delicious as was the cream tea on Monday afternoon! We visited Blenheim Palace which was very close and also went for a lovely walk along the canal. A lovely stay to celebrate our anniversary.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KsAm13042012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in !! Lovely room wonderful food and professional service.
went on an Amazon deal for 2 nights and couldn't fault it, try and get a room on the ground floor if you have mobility problems as there is no lift,we were on the ground floor ,so no problem for us.
The staff were polite and helpful,and the restaurant first class.
Will definitely go again !!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 127DaveR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed two nights here for a recent business trip. The hotel is quite centrally located, and is a pleasant stroll to main shopping area in Banbury (though on a steep hill). Parking facilities are good. Staff are very welcoming, friendly, and amenable. The breakfast service was good, with a fair range of hot and cold breakfasts. I had a twin room for the night at the back of the hotel, which meant that this was quiet as there was no traffic noise. However, my mattress wasn't very comfy; TV screen had pink lines on it, and the bathroom was a little tired. Business lunch was fair, but samey for each day - standard buffet style. Fundamentally, the hotel needs a revamp to make it less 1990's looking. It also requires double glazing (too much traffic noise), better temperature control (it's too hot or too cold), and requires lifts/disability access, as there are steps everywhere. Overall, an average hotel for an average price.

Room Tip: Rooms at front tend to be noisier, due to road traffic.Go for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liz_white4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed as part of a KGB deal which included evening meal and cream tea. The whole weekend was most enjoyable, the food was excellent and the accommodation clean and comfortable. The hotel is ideally placed for the Cotswolds and also the Bicester Shopping Outlet Village and the city of Oxford.
The staff were friendly and polite and the breakfasts were extensive and covered a wide variety of options i.e. Continental, full English, fruit, cereals juices and endless tea or coffee.

Room Tip: Room 2 overlooks the car park and has about 5 or 6 steps to the corridor which also accesses the di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John2837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed one night at this hotel and enjoyed it very much. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean with a lovely comfy bed. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Dinner was enjoyable, slightly small portions though and the breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. The hotel is a few minutes walk from the town and a great base for exploring the area. Whilst not a problem for us, there is no lift which could be a down side for some.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kargo1340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We recently stayed in this hotel during our short break in which we did some touring in the Cotswolds. We had a very comfortable stay in a nice spacious room. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent with enough choice. You can use the carpark and the wifi-netwerk of the hotel for free. We do find this a real plus. The hotel is just outside the centre of town, but you can reach the center within a few minutes walk.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 135 which is very spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klipje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#8 of 10 in Banbury
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#9 of 10 in Banbury
565 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
3.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Banbury House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Banbury House Hotel

Address: Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range: £64 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Banbury House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Banbury House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Banbury Hotel
Banbury Best Western
Best Western Banbury House Hotel Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing