We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stop over hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good stop over hotel”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here one night whilst visiting friends. Received warm welcome on arrival during the evening. Room was quite stuffy but clean and spacious enough. Walls a bit thin as we could hear the TV and voices in the room next to ours. Breakfast was of a reasonable standard although at £15 expensive, if not on a Bed and Breakfast rate. We would probably stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    220
    89
    28
    20
See reviews for
76
204
25
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel for the second time in twelve months and was given a room on the ground floor. (last time the room was a 3 day camel ride from reception)
This was like staying in a different hotel as the rooms were far more modern and much easier to get to, especially if you have heavy luggage.
I needed wi-fi and the connection was good and reliable.
Buffet breakfast was OK.
Only complaint was that the window would not stay open and it was stuffy during the night.
I will stay again if I can get the same room!

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor room or travel light and carry lots of water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickerleg6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed at the Banbury House Hotel for a family Birthday - 6 adults and 3 children. The hotel is a bit like a rabbit warren - lots of stairs - up and down and long corridors - no lifts. Rooms were clean, decor a bit jaded. It was quite hot during the weekend, there is no air-conditioning, but there was a small noisy fan available in the room. Staff were excellent throughout, food was good and reasonably priced as well as the drinks. Breakfast was first class. We would go back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 142/143 and 222, all were fine and reasonably quiet. Banbury is a lovely little t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taffytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Found the room unbearably hot, could only open the window 6 inches, found a rickety old fan in the cupboard that made more noise then improve the air flow. We had a family room as we had our children with us, we did not get a very good night sleep due to it being to hot and had very irritable tired children the next day. I would of expected a family room to be have air conditioning installed. I voiced my concerns about the poor nights sleep due to the temperature of the room to the receptionist only to be told 'yes those rooms do get hot' no apology or cause for concern, I found her very dismissive towards our poor nights sleep. I made a recommendation of fitting air conditioning in the room only to be told that was not possible, I find that very hard to believe. I booked the room in May on where full payment was made, I feel they took my money and did not care, maybe I should of not prepaid and refused to pay on check out, maybe they would have shown a bit more concern

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have just come back from a great weekend in Banbury.
The hotel was lovely,room was very clean,a little on the small side,but as this was just a base for us it did the trick.
The room was uncomfortably hot,but there was a fan provided so they did do there best.
Breakfast was excellent and the young men who served us were very attentive and gave excellent service.
We were lucky enough to be there when there was a 1940's carnival on,brilliant!!!.
We found plenty of real ale pubs all offering excellent ales and food,check out the Raindeer it was great.
All in all good weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor as it may be cooler, and the noise from the garden will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Booked two nights, Friday and Saturday, room only as we were up early to get to f1 at silverstone. I enquired how much breakfast was, £15 each !!! Wetherspoons round the corner £3.95, needless to say I wasn't paying £90 for breakfast for three of us for two nights, think it's disgusting!!
Lovely hotel, very clean, room was good size but really hot. Just on outskirts of Banbury but within walking distance of town centre. Will be back in august for moto gp.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenWigan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here a few weeks ago for 2 nights, the room was spotless and had everything we needed. The food in the restaurant and at breakfast was really good on both days. Our only gripe was a couple of members of the younger staff appeared as if they really didn't want to serve us and we were asked to vacate the bar at 11pm to sit in reception with our drinks, not what you want on a weekend away. But on the whole a very good value for money hotel at a good standard.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#9 of 10 in Banbury
229 reviews
5.2 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
Address: Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Banbury Hotel
Banbury Best Western
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing