We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    221
    89
    28
    20
See reviews for
77
204
25
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We didn't choose this hotel ourselves, but the travel agency did. Will never visit again!
Service is not that good, especially in the restaurant. It takes ages to get some food on your table.
Staff is not really focused on the guests, not in the hotel, not at the reception desk.
Restaurant tries to be top notch...but is definitely not the case.

Decor of the rooms is tired and outdated. No airconditioning. Showers work in a really weird way. They have really nice complimentary shower gel though... The lay out of the hotel is awkward. We stayed in a room on the ground floor and didn't have a lot of luggage, but I can imagine that if you have to go up and down all the stairs etc. it's no fun at all.
Bonus: close to Banbury centre (about 10 minutes on foot) and close to other nice restaurants, because you don't want to eat in the hotel I promis you.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the ground floor at the back of the hotel (so you don't hear the noise outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B_Eindhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Room ok if a little on the expensive side
Staff very helpful on reception but breakfast was painfully slow. 10 minutes to be asked what I wanted to drink. Food ok but not exceptional

Car park very tight so turn up early if you want to park easily

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Located close to Banbury centre in a very convenient location. Accommodation very comfortable apart from limited channels on TV. Did not use for dinner but breakfast choice was very good served promptly and hot. Staff were v. helpful. If you have disability problems advise staff with booking since the hotel is in an old building.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa del Sol, Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights in order to attend a wedding in July. There is no lift as is common in these older buildings but our cases were carried to our room on arrival and to our car on departure by the staff who were without exception friendly and helpful. There is ample parking at the rear of the premises and our rooms were clean and very comfortable. The food was good and the breakfasts excellent. Couldn't fault this excellent hotel!

Room Tip: There is no air con and we were there on two of the hottest nights of the year. There was a small fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#9 of 10 in Banbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
5.2 mi away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
Address: Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Banbury Hotel
Banbury Best Western
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing