We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Recently stayed two nights with my two young children and husband for a family wedding at the venue. Little in the way of family-friendly facilities, one lift hidden away in the new part of the building, so no use whatsoever. Noise from functions (granted incl ours on the second night) was horrendous as we were placed in what is supposed to be a 'family' room directly above the party in the old part of the building. Needless to say, we didn't sleep much!

Room Tip: Try and stay in the new section of the hotel. The old part may be quaint but the overbearing heat in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhatleyHall, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback after your stay at the Mercure Whately Hall Hotel in Banbury. I am sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. I am sorry for noise disturbance due to wedding party. Please note that we do our best to allocate guests according their preferences, however at full occupancy periods this is not always possible due to specific room type bookings and requests. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused and I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Atilla Pek
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (921)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 921 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank richardrM4093JU
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was a fabulous Majestic tour much to be recommended. The Whately Hall Hotel is really good with beautiful grounds. The food was excellent. I would certainly go back BUT do hope by then they have changed their Reception Manager. It was the worst Reception welcome we've ever experienced. We arrived an hour before our rooms were ready - at two pm which is much later than most hotels. Instead of showing us the beautiful grounds which we could have sat in and offered us some iced drinks as it was a heat wave, we were sent off into the town in our coats carrying all our hand luggage from the coach. There was no help for the driver to unload all the cases and a general feeling that the Reception Manager didn't quite get it that we had all been travelling from all over the country. We were made to feel that we were being quite a nuisance when we returned an hour later and asked if our rooms were ready yet. On asking what time our evening meal was, the Reception said they had no idea. We were given very good information about the history of the hotel - on our way into the coach to go home! A shame that other than that everything else was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed in room number 38 at the front of the hotel. The room was big and nicely decorated with a nice bathroom suite and comfy bed. Stayed there for business for two weeks in May 2014. The downsides of my room was that the town hall clock chimed loudly at night waking me up occasionally and the room does get hot so it could do with having air-conditioning. Other than the issues with my room the hotel in general was nice, the building had a lot of character and the food was nice (breakfast and dinner).

Room Tip: Room 38 was really nice but can be noisy and warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank your lovely review following your stay with us. I am happy to read your positive comments about your accommodation and meals and I am very sorry that you were disturbed by the church bells and that the heat was uncomfortable but I do hope that this would not deter you from staying with us again the future.

Once again many thanks and kind regards

Michael Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed for the weekend with my husband, beautiful hotel and grounds. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was lovely, well decorated and clean. Breakfast was very tasty and my husband loved that it was buffet style as he could have more than one serving lol There was a Wedding at the hotel on the saturday and even though the hotel was busy there was no loud music that could be heard in our room. Overall a great weekend :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoxySimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your time spent with us and it's really great that you gave us a 5 out of 5 score. I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your accommodation and our breakfast - a real all you can buffet! and that you were not disturbed by the wedding.

Once again many thanks and I hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Michael Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

From the outside a lovely looking hotel. We thought the inside may be somewhat tired as is so often the case, but not this time. The communal areas are very much in keeping with the hotel's era, think oak panelled walls and higgledy piggledy corridors. We saw 2 rooms , the first a standard twin. A large spacious room and a equally luxurious bathroom. We were then upgraded to a suite when reception realised they has checked us in to a permanent twin room. Just through courtesy, not from a fuss made by us, they called within 5 minutes of us getting to the room so hardly a problem, but they insisted and we obliged! The suite was lovely, separate sleeping, lounge and dressing rooms. Both rooms decorated to a high standard, but not soulless modern, definitely in keeping with the look of the hotel. All the staff we extremely polite and friendly and the breakfast buffet was a great spread which was regularly replenished. Definitely would stay there again

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Serahbumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your great review following your stay here with us at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel, Banbury. I am so pleased to read your lovely comments and am very happy that the team were so attentive in switching your room. I will be certain to pass on your review to them all.

I do hope that we have the pleasure of being able to welcome you again to our hotel soon.

Once again many thanks,

Michael Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent a long weekend at this hotel, the grand building meets you as you arrive. The staff are extremely helpful nothing is too much trouble. Our one negative is that the rooms do need updating especially the bathrooms, ours was very old fashioned wlth signs of black mould and wear and tear. With the exception of updating and painting needed we had a wonderful stay. The location is perfect for days out shopping within walking distance with plenty of pubs and restaurants as easily accesible. We are staying again at this hotel and have paid to upgrade to a better room.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 57Tule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for reviewing your long weekend stay here with us, I am so happy to read that you had a wonderful stay. I understand your comments about the decoration of the hotel and hopefully when you stay with us again you will see some improvements as part of our ongoing decoration programme. I am especially pleased to read you kind words about the team we have here.

Once again many thanks and I look forward to being able to welcome you again.

Kind Regards

Michael Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Easington House
Easington House
#8 of 10 in Banbury
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#9 of 10 in Banbury
581 reviews
3.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Address: Banbury Cross 17-19 Horse Fair, Banbury OX16 0AN, England (Formerly Mercure Whately Hall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Banbury
Price Range: £58 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel offering 69 ensuite rooms in an idyllic 17th Century setting where Jonathan Swift wrote Gulliver's Travels in 1723. Ideal as a base for exploring the Cotswolds region, Stratford Upon Avon, Oxford, Woodstcock & Warwick. 10 minutes from Banbury railway and coach stations, 30 miles (50 km)from Birmingham Airport and easily accessible via Junction 11 of the M40. Features 7 meeting rooms accommodating up to 120 delegates, Swifts & Berkeley Restaurants and Hornton Bar. 24hrs room service and free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Whately Hall Hotel
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing